Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    192 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 192

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2010

      WOW... YUM! Really love the recipe. Thanks. Made it exactly as is except I halved it. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Very easy, simple potato soup. I added 2 cubes of chicken bouillon, but may use more next time to amp up the flavor a bit. I really liked that this didn't take long to make at all! My boyfriend really liked this and he is super picky.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This potato soup is AWESOME! I always get the potato soup at restaraunts and have never made it myself. I can now venture into new things at restaraunts, because I can now make potato soup that is just as good if not better. I made it just as the recipe called, however I think next time I'll add some green onions and maybe some bacon. Thank you for sharing this!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      The potato soup was very nice, but a little bland. It's a great base for adding in your own custom touches though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Sauted a half an onion and a ton of garlic in the butter with a little olive oil to boot. I also used ww pastry flour (all I had) and added 1/2 lb of bacon that I fried up while everything else was cooking. I used the new knorr chicken stock concentrate (2 of them) and then 1/2 water 1/2 heavy whipping cream. I also added probably about 3 cups of cheese. It was AH-MAZING. Thank you for an excellent base recipe that helped me bring this together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      We loved this recipe. It was so easy to make. I used skim milk. I also added 1/4 cup chopped onion to the butter as it was melting. We added the cheese as a topping and also bacon crumbles. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      YUM! I prefer potato soups with cream cheese, but didn't have any on hand, so I thought I'd try something new. I added diced chicken, onions, peas and carrots, and a dash of steak seasoning for added flavor. I topped with more shredded cheese and bacon crumbles. I served it with dinner rolls and it made a wonderful "comfort food" dinner for the new fall weather.<br/>**TIP** for those with lump problems - make the rue first by melting butter an stirring in the flour, it will be lumpy. Slowly add in milk, 2 cups at a time, stirring constantly. Don't add your next two cups of milk until it is hot, and on the verge of boiling. Then add the next two cups and repeat the process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Loved it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      I felt like there wasn't enough flavor to this recipe despite the fact that I boiled a garlic clove with my potatoes then added 2 pressed garlic cloves into the broth; sauteed a minced onion, shredded carrot, and 2 minced stalks of celery in a tbsp of margarine that I added to the potatoes once finished; threw in a parmesean cheese rind in the milk when bringing the milk to a boil; added a little extra pepper & 1/4 tsp paprika; and then threw in 1 1/2 tbsp fresh parsley just before serving. It's a good starter recipe but definitely needs lots of modifications if you want good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

    • on January 03, 2012

      This was awesome. Kids loved it, definitely adding this recipe to our regular menu. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Really good base recipe. I sauteed onions & garlic in it. I doubled the chicken bouillon instead of adding extra salt. After a lot of reviews talking about the flour clumping I added half a cup of milk to the butter before adding the flour. It made no taste difference & it was easier. I used the cheese as a topping instead of mixing it in like a lot of others. This is the perfect recipe for making half. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      We followed the recipe, but made a few variations (probably making it similiar to the baked potato soup). I sauteed onions prior and added those at the end. Added some chopped garlic. We used skim milk. We also added a good amount of sour cream at the end (probably between .25-.5 cup). Put bacon on top and enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Loved it! I used (defrosted) frozen hash brown potatoes to cut down on prep work. I used half the cheese in the soup and half as garnish. I also added bacon crumbles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Yummy soup. I added some diced onion and celery for a little more flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe this is going into the rotation for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Very good. It is a little thicker than my preference but my husband liked it as it was. After it was in the individual bowls I topped it with a little more cheddar, some ham (leftover from the Easter ham) and some chopped green onions. It looked very attractive and I believe the garnishes added to the flavour of the soup. Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Simple and very good. I added some sauteed onions and finely diced smoked sausage that was cooked with the onion.
      The soup along with some fresh bread from the "Our daily bread recipe"....yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Excellent!!! Very easy to make and yummy to eat! Added Bacon, Green Onion and Cheese to the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Wonderful soup. I made half a recipe and we still have some left. I did add kielbasa at the end to heat through. Served with pumpernickel bread. Yummy and warming for this cold weather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Very good. I made this yesterday for our lunch and DH could only say yummmmmm. I followed the directions and used sharp cheddar cheese. Thank you for a tasty and easy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (775 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 868.2
     
    Calories from Fat 397
    45%
    Total Fat 44.1 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 27.7 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 141.3 mg
    47%
    Sodium 953.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites