Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    192 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 192

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2001

      Very easy to make. Be sure to stir continuously!! I added chopped onion and minced garlic. I left out the cheese and used it as a topping instead with crumbled bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      10 Stars! Made this for the first time on Super Bowl Sunday 2002 and YUM-YUM! Mashed about 1/3 and kept 2/3 of potatoes cubed - added diced carrots, used half "Half n Half" and half 2% milk ...... I would HIGHLY recommend this as it can be "customized" however you want! Anxious to make other variations......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Very good! I added chopped onion with the butter and cooked it a bit before adding the flour. I used non-fat milk and it still came out very nice and creamy. It thickened up nicely after adding the potatoes. I continued to cook a bit after adding the cheese and potatoes (as opposed to the recipe calling for turning the heat off). I stirred in about 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard and a little more salt to bring the flavor out. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I was looking for a potato soup recipe and this is the first I tried. It was very easy to make and make adaptations to. It is great with bacon and green onions. I made it with fat-free condensed milk and with low-fat cheese. It was still wonderful. I will definitely keep this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2001

      This soup tastes great. I omitted the chicken boullian and the cheese, because I wanted just a basic potato soup, like my Mema used to make. I had a pretty hard time getting the lumps out of the flour/butter mixture. I kinda had to smush the with my sppon as I was mixing. If anyone has a better was of doing this, please let me know. Also, this soup would be great topped with bacon bits. Jessica, Texas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      All I can say is, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!! So very good! I did boil a ham bone with 2 bay leaves for an hour first, and then used the "juice" of that to boil the potatoes in. I added the meat of the ham bone to the soup once everything was done. I also used sharp cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2001

      This is a great basic potato soup receipe! I used two cups of half & half in place of two cups of milk, and added 1/2 pound of cooked bacon plus two tbls. parsley. I took out the cheese to add the half & half!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Excellent! I sauteed onion, garlic, and celery in the butter before adding flour. Also added a bit of yellow mustard and rosemary garlic seasoning to the roux. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      VERY DELICIOUS! I didn't realize how easy it was to make potato soup until I used this recipe. Definitely will be keeping this recipe. The only thing I added was some minced garlic, and I probably used half the amount of cheese recommended (which is not normal for me because I LOVE cheese), but overall the taste is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Try adding cooked Italian Sausage and lightly sauted kale and you will have a soup very similar to the soup at olive garden. Also instant mashed potatoes make a great thickening substitute for the roux

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      This is a simple basic potato soup recipe but it is so good and just the way I want potato soup to be. Will be making it often. Made exactly as recipe said and wouldn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      This is an AWESOME soup, very easy and tasty!! I have never made any potato soup without using the potato water so.....only change made was, 3 cups potato water and 3 cups milk, and sauteed some onions with the butter! Everyone loved it and said this is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      I love this recipe! The only thing that I do differently is to add lots of sauteed onion. Very Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      This is a simple, delicious recipe. I had never made potato soup before, but I found, with this recipe, that it wasn't hard at all. My family loves it. I used some celerey salt in mine, and that was a hit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      This soup was fantastic! I have a suggestion for those who had trouble getting the lumps out of the flour mixture..i used a hand blender on the soup after adding the first half of milk and then after the 2nd half....i also doubled the salt and added 1/2 tspn of garlic powder and 1/2 tspn of onion powder....i used whole wheat flour, nonfat milk and half the amount of cheese to make it a bit healthier...also after boiling the potatoes i used a hand blender on them too to give them a creamy texture. when i blended them in to the soup the result was a hearty, creamy potato soup with no lumps- i served it with a loaf of warm homemade bread...it was delicious on a cool, overcast night- thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      This soup taste wonderful! I made if for my family and they absolutely loved it. I made a few changes. I didn't have any chicken bouillons so I used a can of chicken stock and added it to my flour and butter mixture (also added 1/2 onion). It was very easy and was mmmmm, mmmmm good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      This is a favorite of mine. Not only creamy and delicious but also hearty. I do like to add some cooked carrots, celery, and onion to it. It's also great with broccoli in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      "I was skeptical but gave it a try. It turned out wonderful. I added some chopped kale and mild sausage. This will be added to my favorites."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      If you're new to making your own soup, allow about an hour to an hour and a half to make this. It's a much heartier soup than I had first imagined or am used to for Potato Soup, which makes it even more amazing! I made it without any modifications minus adding some parsley for garnish on the top. I found (like most people) that adding something like bacon bits, a little extra cheese on top, or something else would help make it that much better! I would also suggest potentially adding some of the milk in before you mix in the flour with the butter. I had difficulty fully un-clumpifying the flour and butter mixture. Overall, a delicious soup that will be even better after I get some bacon bits!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      it was pretty good. i added corn, broccoli and bacon. it tasted like it was missing something though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (775 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 868.2
     
    Calories from Fat 397
    45%
    Total Fat 44.1 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 27.7 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 141.3 mg
    47%
    Sodium 953.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites