Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Slices Made Like Potato Skins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Slices Made Like Potato Skins

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2012

      These were good and easy to make. Next time I would season the potatoes before cooking. I would add some pepper and onion powder to the butter mixture next time. Ours took about 25 minutes to cook. We all enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Delicious! These were a huge success. The potatoes are nice and crisp (I cooked mine for 40 minutes) and the toppings are so yummy. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      My family ate these all up, with NOOOO complaints! Just oohs and ahs! Now, I did bake the potatoes whole the day before when I was baking some for the night before. Stored them in the fridge, sliced them, heated them in the micro for 2 minutes...then added the other stuff, but had to use less butter, which was my main goal. I used all low fat ingredients: 2 % cheddar, turkey bacon pieces, fat free sour cream, and of course, topped with sliced green onions. :) Thanks for the idea...much easier than trying to hollow out baked potatoes!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      These were excellent. I only used cheese and green onions, but they were great. Love the way the potato cooks in the oven! Thanks so much!! Made for Herb & Spice of the Month game (May,2010).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Awesome! I made these along with some other finger foods for New Year's Eve. These were a big hit with hubby and son. I used only one potato and sliced, buttered, and browned the slices earlier today. I just stuck them back in the oven for less than 5 minutes with the cheese, bacon, and green onions on them. So good...thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      I made this last night. My picky eater teenage son asked for more! It tastes better than restaurant potato skins and is less work (and no waste) than making potato skins myself. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will make it again and share the recipe with family members.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      What a great idea to use slices! Such an easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      What's not to love...what we really enjoyed was the taste of potato...you miss that with the normal potato skin recipes...so delicious and easy to prepare...I'm going to keep this close by for my appy nights...thanks for posting it! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Yummy! These were simple and so good. I did add a little garlic salt to mine and we enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing this keeper. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I love this recipe. Super easy. Makes a lot so it is great for entertaining. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      SO happy to find these; they really deliver on potato skin flavor, while whittling down the work! The taste was fab and they were very quickly devoured, while sharing with friends! Should have made more! YUM! And you can really top them however you chose, which is also a plus! Thanks so much for sharing, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Wow.... I made this with a wee bit of modifications. Brushed with bacon drippings instead of butter, omitted the green onions (per kiddos taste buds) and served it with an array of "condiments" .....kind of like a potato skins bar. The family had their choice of toppings from leftover chopped chicken breast, bbq sauce, ranch dressing, salsa, sour cream. I didn't even get ONE they ate them up so fast!!! (and i have 4 picky eaters) Thanks for sharing we will be enjoying this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Made these as a quick and easy appy when we had company and they were gone before I could even take a photo. The guys specially really seemed to love them. The only change I made was to put a dollop of salsa on them before adding the cheese and baking. Will be making again and will take a photo then. Think you could even add a jalapeno slice to the top for a little extra zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      These were stinking good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      These are great! I usually don't order potato skins (they are DH's fav) because the part of the potato left in the skin always seems dry. They are perfect because there is not a lot of potato and you can control the amount of crisp they have. Will be making these for get togethers! Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Very tasty! I used 2% Cheddar cheese, half the amount of bacon, and fat free sour cream. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Very nice recipe. I used cooking spray for the butter. Next time I will use half the butter and use cooking spray as needed. The butter would have helped them crisp up a bit, I think. They were tasty. The kids ate them. The Husband said he prefers potato skins, but that he likes these too. I like these better than potato skins because they aren't so "potato-ey." We will do these again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is kind of fattening but a recipe my Sons and Father really enjoyed. Next time I will make them with They look like Irish Nachos and I added leftovers on top instead of the recommended toppings. As a part of a week menu, the leftover chili (make sure it's thick chili or drain much of the chili's sauce,) topped with extra sharp cheddar cheese. I like heat so I added some hot sauce on top. They made the impossible pie I served look like a full meal. With a light fruit salad everyone was satisfied. This would probably be a good appetizer for a game day. Very simple, very nice, very male friendly, thank you Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I love potato skins and decide to make these as a side dish for dinner. They were fun and a great change of pace. They disappeared from the plate of DS 15 so fast, I began to wonder if I had even given him any! Instead of butter I used an oil mister to spray with olive oil. My potatoes were on the small side, so it was a bit of a challenge to get the toppings on nicely. Next time I will use larger potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      These were easy enough to make, looked real good and tasted okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Slices Made Like Potato Skins

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 571.9
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    59%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 101.0 mg
    33%
    Sodium 602.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes