Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Sausage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Sausage Soup

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2014

      oh my, so delicious. I used cream instead of the evaporated milk, because I had some to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Made this for Christmas Eve, along with a quick French Bread, and we loved it!!! I doubled the recipe, and added rosemary and garlic. I did smash the potatoes, and also let it simmer for quite a while. Other than that, I followed the recipe as posted. Oh, and I did add a little corn starch to thicken. Didn't "need" it, just our preference.<br/><br/>Will DEF make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

    • on May 10, 2010

      We really enjoyed this soup. It had a delicious flavor to it. I actually didn't mash the potatoes as my DH likes a chunky soup, but other than that followed the recipe pretty close. Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I initially mashed the potato and was not pleased with the consistency of the soup, so I added more chicken broth (4 Cups) and peeled a 16 oz baked potato and chopped it to add some chunky potato. I agree with the reviewers who did not mash the potatoes completely. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. Instead of regular breakfast sausage, I used a hot and spicy sausage (Jimmy Dean) and used a white Vermont cheddar cheese. To perk it up, I added a tbsp of rosemary and garlic seasoning mix along with about a tsp of black pepper and 4 chopped green onions. We are serving it today in our restaurant (its cold and rainy) and should be a nice lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Oh this is really good! I upped the chicken broth to 6 cups. I also added in a few more potatoes and some carrot peels (using carrot peeler). I did not have the evaporated milk so I threw in 1/4 cup sour cream. Also did not add any garlic powder. It had lots of flavor already. Very, very good soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This is awesome!!! I used hot sausage that I drained and rinsed, 32 oz of chicken broth, not quite the whole 2 cups of cheese and mashed some of the potatoes but left it a little chunky. I have never heard of putting sausage in potato soup but I don't think I'll ever do it another way now! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Very tasty. Made last night to take into work today. I did use 32 oz of chicken broth. I was worried last night that I had used too much liquid, but after sitting all night, it was perfect. I cooked it on the stove, but kept it warm then next day in the crockpot, which let it get a little grainy.I did use red potatoes and left it semi-chunky. There were no leftovers. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I made this up ahead to have on hand for Monday. Of course I had to try to, it was yummy. I did add a litte garlic to this and I did leave the potatoes a little chunky. This recipe is a keeper and I I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Easy comfort food. Used red potatoes and turkey breakfast sausage and went easy on the cheese. Next time I may try it with hot sausage like someone else suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      A very quick to prepare and tasty recipe which I scaled down to 2 serves for today's lunch. I used pork sausages, my Vegetable Stock, low fat evaporated milk and regular cheese - just cannot abide low-fat cheeses. And I could not resist adding some minced garlic - instead of the garlic powder - to the onion. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      So yummy! I loved this and will make it whenever I can

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was wonderful! It is a very filling and warm soup. I'd never thought of using breakfast sausage before in a soup, but I'm going to have to rethink that. This was delicious, everyone at home loved it. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag. Thanks so much for posting this yummy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      A wonderful, warming and filling soup. We really enjoyed this paired with a salad for dinner. I used fat-free evaporated milk and a little less cheese (personal preference). Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      this was pretty good, along w/the garlic i added a healthy pinch of red pepper flakes (i think another review put this in my head) and some extra cheese cuz i thought the taste lacked a tad. i also mashed half the potatoes like several other people suggested. thanks for the yummy dinner!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I absolutely loved this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I can't give this any stars, as I really changed a lot of things. I will say, however, this is as close to my childhood memories of potato soup as I've gotten! I used the russets, broth, and onion, added some minced garlic. and topped that with half a roll of deer summer sausage, diced. Cooked that up, mashed the potatoes, then added regular skim milk, pepper, and 1 cup each cheddar and mozzarella. Yum! The summer sausage gives the soup a little more zip than regular sausage, but I'll bet that is good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Spring PAC 2008: I made this last night to bring in for lunch today at work - I am lucky it lasted that long. It is delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was really good! I decided not to add the cheese to the big pot because I wanted to be able to reheat the soup. I also added to my own bowl a small amount of cream cheese along with the shredded cheese - that was good as well. I wanted to thicken the soup so I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch. Overall, really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Everyone really enjoyed this. I added more broth than called for to stretch it a bit. My only complaint is that I had a hard time mashing the potatoes to the consistency I wanted so I used my emulsion blender but that chopped the sausage too much. Next time I will remove the cooked sausage b4 adding the potatoes and add it back in ad the end. Everything else is perfect. Very nice meal with a simple leafy salad. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Sausage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.1
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    26%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 773.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat breakfast sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites