39 Reviews

I initially mashed the potato and was not pleased with the consistency of the soup, so I added more chicken broth (4 Cups) and peeled a 16 oz baked potato and chopped it to add some chunky potato. I agree with the reviewers who did not mash the potatoes completely. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. Instead of regular breakfast sausage, I used a hot and spicy sausage (Jimmy Dean) and used a white Vermont cheddar cheese. To perk it up, I added a tbsp of rosemary and garlic seasoning mix along with about a tsp of black pepper and 4 chopped green onions. We are serving it today in our restaurant (its cold and rainy) and should be a nice lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nick #2 January 21, 2010

I had evaporated milk and russet potatoes to use up and decided to try this soup. As others suggested, I did not completely mash the potatoes. It hit the spot on a cold winters day. Might try with a spicier sausage next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus February 12, 2016

oh my, so delicious. I used cream instead of the evaporated milk, because I had some to use up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 05, 2014

Made this for Christmas Eve, along with a quick French Bread, and we loved it!!! I doubled the recipe, and added rosemary and garlic. I did smash the potatoes, and also let it simmer for quite a while. Other than that, I followed the recipe as posted. Oh, and I did add a little corn starch to thicken. Didn't "need" it, just our preference.<br/><br/>Will DEF make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought December 24, 2013

We really enjoyed this soup. It had a delicious flavor to it. I actually didn't mash the potatoes as my DH likes a chunky soup, but other than that followed the recipe pretty close. Yum! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko May 10, 2010

Oh this is really good! I upped the chicken broth to 6 cups. I also added in a few more potatoes and some carrot peels (using carrot peeler). I did not have the evaporated milk so I threw in 1/4 cup sour cream. Also did not add any garlic powder. It had lots of flavor already. Very, very good soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake January 19, 2010

This is awesome!!! I used hot sausage that I drained and rinsed, 32 oz of chicken broth, not quite the whole 2 cups of cheese and mashed some of the potatoes but left it a little chunky. I have never heard of putting sausage in potato soup but I don't think I'll ever do it another way now! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdubb07 October 01, 2009

Very tasty. Made last night to take into work today. I did use 32 oz of chicken broth. I was worried last night that I had used too much liquid, but after sitting all night, it was perfect. I cooked it on the stove, but kept it warm then next day in the crockpot, which let it get a little grainy.I did use red potatoes and left it semi-chunky. There were no leftovers. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth February 09, 2009

I made this up ahead to have on hand for Monday. Of course I had to try to, it was yummy. I did add a litte garlic to this and I did leave the potatoes a little chunky. This recipe is a keeper and I I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom February 01, 2009
Potato Sausage Soup