Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2006

      I will never, never, never make another potato salad again! This is just too fantastic! I didn't have any bacon, but I can only imagine how great it will be with that addition. I used cilantro (a must, in my opinion) and two chipotles with seeds, which wasn't too spicy at all. I love the addition of the black beans, and I wasn't too sure how I felt about that beforehand but I'm glad now that I used them. I also used russets since I didn't have any reds, but again, it worked nicely. I finally have a potato salad recipe that not only rivals my MIL's, but is even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This was a great potato salad! My hubby LOVED it. I mixed the first 7 ingredients and placed in the fridge the night before. Also cooked up the eggs and potatoes the night before. This made for easy assembly the next day. The only thing I changed was cutting back on the eggs. I only used three. Thanks for this wonderful recipe that I will be using time and time again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      This was soooo good! I was assigned to take a potato salad to a family BBQ last week, and was dreading making the "same old recipe." I decided to do a recipe search and, luckily, came across this recipe. Everyone, including my picky father-in-law, gobbled it up and raved about it all day. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      awesome recipe! i have made this one several times and always get tons of compliments!! i like to find recipes that are spicy enough for my husband and his buddies - this one scored well with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      This was a great potato salad! I served it with Drunken Pinto Beans and a brisket I made! Everyone thought it was a different salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      I was looking for something different to serve at our pool/BBQ party next month and decided to give this recipe a test run today. I couldn't believe it when my husband, who is not a potato salad fan, ate a large portion and declared that he LOVED it. I made it as written...it's a winner! Thank you so much, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      As a spicy food fan, I'm in love with this potato salad exactly as presented with 4 chipotles in adobo. DH agrees & I'm waiting for an occasion when I can share it at a pot luck, picnic, etc. Really easy to put together too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I made this for a cookout/potluck yesterday, and it went over really well (especially with the men..you sure have it named right! LOL) It was such a nice change of pace from the usual potato salad! I used just two chipotles, and it was pretty hot. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe..I know we will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      I made this for the 4th of July and it was a huge hit. I used low-fat mayo, left out the sugar and added about 3 peppers (my husband likes it spicy, lol). Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Rita, I have to agre with all the others that this recipe makes a wonderful potato salad - a keeper for sure. You can't get red potatoes in Switzerland, so I used 1kg of potatoes which are labelled as suitable for potato salad. I added my potatoes to the dressing while still warm - we always do it that way here in Switzerland because that way they can better suck in some of the dressing. I did not have enough mayo, in fact only about a third of the stated amount. I used yogurt to make up for the missing amount and also added a little bit of single cream. One complaint, though: In my eyes it doesn't make any sense to add 1 tablespoon of cilantro or parsley to this amount of salad. In my opinion you either need to add a lot (like 5-6 tablespoons, preferably roughly chopped) or none. I find it nice to add herbs, so I did add (lots of) cilantro. But this salad would also work great without it. Thanks for a super recipe which I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Man salad is right! My MAN LOVED this! I ued turkey bacon to make it lighter, he would have LOVED regular bacon but tough patooties! I LOVE his heart beating normally a nd his arteries UNclogged! Thank you Rita for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This was excellent. I used about five chilies, seeds and all, because I LIKE heat. I also added all of the adobo sauce from the can. I will definitally bring this to the next cookout, but without the extra chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      FANTASTIC! I doubled everything but the eggs and black beans (I just didn't have enough) and I used three chilis, without the seeds. It was the perfect amount of "warmth" that hits just after you take a bite. It wasn't too much for the guests that didn't like spicy foods - and just enough for those who did. NOTE - the next day we heated it up in the micro and it was even better hot!! Thank you Rita for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Everyone loved it, I made as written, second time I didn't have red pepper and was still delicious. I can't decide if I like cilantro or parsley better. The heat doesn't hit you until you've a had couple of bites. I like things hot but don't think more would be better. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      This was fantastic! I made it exactly as described, but I added about a dozen green olives, sliced. I also used 50% less fat Hellmans's mayo, with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      You don't need my stars, but oh my, best potato salad I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This was SO delicious! Made the recipe as written, using 3 chipotle peppers with seeds, 2 ribs of celery (wonderful crunch) and freshly boiled black beans. We couldn't wait to dive into the left-overs the next day. This is a nice change from the "typical" potato salad! Thanks, Rita, for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This salad was absolutely delicious!! My husband and I like things spicy so I added 4 chipolte peppers and a lot of pepper. Will be making this again and again and again . . . Thanks for such a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      we loved this salad; I used 2 chipotles with seeds and it had a nice kick without being overpowering, didnt have any bacon on hand, which i am sure would have sent it into salad greatdom, but it was wonderful anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      What a salad!!!!Left out the black beans, personal perference, but that didn't alter the greatness of this salad. Definately this will be on the make and take for the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 419.3
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    38%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 152.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 361.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites