Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2008

      This is very good. I went light with the chipotles but next time I will go a little more. DH loved this and has requested it for our annual family camping trip. Thank you for posting......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      YUMMY! The other potato salads we've had just pale compared to this one. Only thing I changed was to omit the sugar. I used tiny new red potatoes which helped add to the colourfulness - very pretty salad and tasty too! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Awesome tater salad!! Followed instructions to a tee and used about 2 of the chipotle chilies (I'll maybe go for 3 next time). Loved how all the flavors blended so well together and of course bacon makes everything taste better. I thought the addition of the black beans was a novel and very appropriate addition. Thanks Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      The BEST potato salad. I left out the raw veggies (to make it truly a "man's"--haha), subbed dried cilantro for fresh, and also left out the beans. What I was left with was totally yummy. The best bites were the ones with chipotles (I used the full amount) and bacon, so I may add a bit more of each next time. I had trouble stopping taking bites as I put this away...I didn't even eat my main course at dinner, just 2 heaping helpings of this!! :) Definitely worth the trips to 2 different groceries to find chipotles in adobo! YUMMY! Update the next morning: I had 2-3 heaping servings leftover and I'm ashamed to say I ate them all for breakfast this morning. Still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      What a great change from my regular potato salad. I am definitely keeping this one. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I'll have to stop eating this now to make sure there's some left for dinner tonight. It's addictive. I used what I had in the house: green bell pepper instead of red, no scallions, no celery, dried parsley, diced green chiles with some garlic powder and about a 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle powder added, no bacon; everything else as written. Wonderful spicy salad. A person could become famous for making a salad like this. Of course it might not be to the taste of some people, but they're sure missing out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Outstanding, I left out the black beans and followed exactly. This is a very nice change from your typical potato salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Hi, Rita, We tried this last weekend with BBQ spare ribs and it was great! Since we were sitting outside and it was hot, I used vinegar, oil and a little veggie broth instead of the mayonnaise and it was SOOO tasty and light. And with all the crunchy vegetables in there, you did not need another side dish (we had corn on the cob anyway). Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      It wasn't until I went to write this rave review that I realized I forgot to add the black beans. Next time I'll remember the beans, and I'll also punch up the peppers from two to three and add a little of the adobe sauce. What a treat Carl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I made this for a BBQ- I want to try to make this again because I love the recipe in theory- spicy potato salad with adobo peppers- AMAZING! It wasn't nearly spicy enough for me, I would definitely use more next time (taste before taking my suggestion though, I like it HOT, kept it moderate for guests). I'd also use more bacon in larger bits, I think. I omitted the hard boiled eggs but otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was good, though just not quite there yet. I will try again and post my review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I made this for a family cook out. It went over well, but wasn't gobbled up. I reduced it to 6 servings and added only one chile (I used one of the reviewers suggestions and added the chili to the mayo and whized it it in the food processor.) The red potatoes held up well and no mushiness, so that was a big plus for this. The mix of colors made for a pretty dish. I always enjoy trying something different, so thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      amazing! I will be making this for Easter Sunday and will post better comments after all the raves I receive on Sunday...promise! Finally am getting back to updating this. This is very yummy with a great chipotle kick. I used some smoky seasoned salt to bring out all the flavors and it really made the whole dish sing. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Very yummy salad. I added more celery this time and the crunch was really nice. Everyone loves this salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      I have made this twice now. The first time I took it to a potluck and by the time I went to try it, it was gone. This time I kept it home. :) I fixed it last night and this morning I finally got a taste, yummy! A very unique potatoe salad. Funny thing is I usually put tobasco on my potatoe salad, this time I won't need too. I did leave out the black beans and red pepper (I was thinking that this was a red bell pepper)due to personal preference. I will be fixing this again and again. Thank you very much for posting this flavorful recipe Rita. Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was good in a unique way. Awhile back the local deli had samples of Chipotle potato salad. It was pretty good but I did not want to spend $6/lb and I am not crazy about store bought salads. I was happy to find this recipe. I did make a few small changes: 1 small regular onion diced, no celery, grn pepper, whole can of chipotles which I blended with the mayo like another reviewer did, only 3 eggs mashed, 5 strips of bacon(only cause kids wanted some for breakfast)but will use more next time. I was scared of the black beans as I have never had them but they were really good. I wasn't sure if I was to peel the potatoes so I peeled some after boiling and left some with skins. Mexican hubby said it was fine but he never says anything is good. Will make again!! Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I will never make regular potato salad again. If you like spicy at all, you will love this recipe. I used an entire can of the peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This went over wonderful at a family cookout. I spread out the heat from the peppers by putting them in the blender with the mayo, and half of the celery and scallions. It also gave the mayo nice color. In addition, I splashed my personal helping with a little texas pete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This puts regular potato salad to shame! Dh and I are not potato salad eaters but he loves bacon and I love black beans & peppers, so thought I'd put it all together for Super bowl. I used all 4 peppers with seeds and did not find this to be very hot but I am also accustomed to drowning everything in habanero sauce so I am not very heat sensitive. I always substitute low fat where I can so used fat free mayo, it was still delicous, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This was a great dish. The kids didn't care for it but you know how kids can be. The adults couldn't get enough. Even my mother, who despises potato salad ate this. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 419.3
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    38%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 152.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 361.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes