102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A hose under the sink broke and started flooding the kitchen when I was in the middle of making this. :( That's my excuse for totally forgetting to add the black beans. Didn't seem to matter, though, since everybody agreed it was sensational. I used 3 chipotles, seeds and all, and the heat level was actually pretty mild. Thanks for a really top-notch recipe, Rita! Update: Six years and a whole lot of bowls of potato salad later, I don't think I've ever served this to anyone who didn't rave. So many people told me at a cookout last weekend that it was THE BEST they'd ever tasted that I just had to thank you again for sharing this wonderful dish.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton April 16, 2012

Made a 1/2 recipe - used fire-roasted jarred red peppers, a fresh sweet diced Vidalia onion, 3 stalks diced celery, 3/4 cup diced boneless smoked ham hock (look for it at Foodlion supermarkets by the ham - comes in 1-2 lb vacuum-sealed packages - it's GOOD!) & 3 deseeded chipotles in adobo sauce (that I blended in the mayo). I did leave out the sugar - never missed it. Man, this is a great recipe! It goes into the keeper file! Thanks Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend September 07, 2013

Looking for something different in place of the same old potato salad you won't be disappointed with recipe! Everyone loved it especially my granddaughter! Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeWach57 July 04, 2013

I can't believe I never rated this! I made this several years ago and thought it was delish! I did omit the black beans. But I need to make this again soon, and I will add them in this time. I love trying all different kinds of potato salads. This one is definitely unique! It is on the top of our favorite potato salads! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* February 19, 2012

ooooo! thanks for a new twist on tater salad! goes great with steaks and cant wait to try it with smoked meats too! eeeee!! omitted bell peppers, swapped 2T shallots for scallions, used 2 stalks celery, 1T dried cilantro, added a bit more mayo, 4 chipotle peppers with some of the sauce and onions in the can, omitted bacon, 1t celery salt, 1T regular mustard, and used russets instead of reds and kept every thing else the same. LOVED IT! thanks Rita! the boyfriend didn't even hafta add anything (with everything else he ALWAYS adds SOMETHING!) so i take that as a huge compliment! oh my mouth is watering!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes March 16, 2011

EXCELLENT. I made this with what I had on hand. Red onion, red pepper, lots of celery and fresh parsley chipotle peppers. Skipped the bacon, only had one egg and used idaho potatoes. Didn't have black beans. You probably are wondering how the heck the salad was? Just awesome. Thanks so much for this. Next time will try to make it more like the recipe calls for, but in a pinch you have to use what you have on hand. TRY THIS. IT ROCKS. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 July 15, 2010

I am giving this 4 stars based on DH rating. He is the only one who ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 16, 2014

I've had this recipe for a year without making it - one big mistake. I made it this past weekend for guests and everyone just loved it. All said was the best potato salad they've ever had. I did leave the black beans out and probably will when making again. However, please be aware of the "hot" warning above. Hot is a relative term and means different things to different people. I put 3 seeded chipotle peppers in it with all of the adobo sauce that was left in the can. To me and my guests it could have had more. So the moral to the story is, if you like spicy food use more if you don't use less. This is one great recipe. I recommend it to everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BayernPhil September 11, 2012

I followed this almost exactly. I used green chilis but twice as many because they are not as hot. It was only ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko September 24, 2011
Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)