Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2012

      A hose under the sink broke and started flooding the kitchen when I was in the middle of making this. :( That's my excuse for totally forgetting to add the black beans. Didn't seem to matter, though, since everybody agreed it was sensational. I used 3 chipotles, seeds and all, and the heat level was actually pretty mild. Thanks for a really top-notch recipe, Rita! Update: Six years and a whole lot of bowls of potato salad later, I don't think I've ever served this to anyone who didn't rave. So many people told me at a cookout last weekend that it was THE BEST they'd ever tasted that I just had to thank you again for sharing this wonderful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      Made a 1/2 recipe - used fire-roasted jarred red peppers, a fresh sweet diced Vidalia onion, 3 stalks diced celery, 3/4 cup diced boneless smoked ham hock (look for it at Foodlion supermarkets by the ham - comes in 1-2 lb vacuum-sealed packages - it's GOOD!) & 3 deseeded chipotles in adobo sauce (that I blended in the mayo). I did leave out the sugar - never missed it. Man, this is a great recipe! It goes into the keeper file! Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Looking for something different in place of the same old potato salad you won't be disappointed with recipe! Everyone loved it especially my granddaughter! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I can't believe I never rated this! I made this several years ago and thought it was delish! I did omit the black beans. But I need to make this again soon, and I will add them in this time. I love trying all different kinds of potato salads. This one is definitely unique! It is on the top of our favorite potato salads! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      ooooo! thanks for a new twist on tater salad! goes great with steaks and cant wait to try it with smoked meats too! eeeee!! omitted bell peppers, swapped 2T shallots for scallions, used 2 stalks celery, 1T dried cilantro, added a bit more mayo, 4 chipotle peppers with some of the sauce and onions in the can, omitted bacon, 1t celery salt, 1T regular mustard, and used russets instead of reds and kept every thing else the same. LOVED IT! thanks Rita! the boyfriend didn't even hafta add anything (with everything else he ALWAYS adds SOMETHING!) so i take that as a huge compliment! oh my mouth is watering!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      EXCELLENT. I made this with what I had on hand. Red onion, red pepper, lots of celery and fresh parsley chipotle peppers. Skipped the bacon, only had one egg and used idaho potatoes. Didn't have black beans. You probably are wondering how the heck the salad was? Just awesome. Thanks so much for this. Next time will try to make it more like the recipe calls for, but in a pinch you have to use what you have on hand. TRY THIS. IT ROCKS. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I am giving this 4 stars based on DH rating. He is the only one who ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

    • on September 11, 2012

      I've had this recipe for a year without making it - one big mistake. I made it this past weekend for guests and everyone just loved it. All said was the best potato salad they've ever had. I did leave the black beans out and probably will when making again. However, please be aware of the "hot" warning above. Hot is a relative term and means different things to different people. I put 3 seeded chipotle peppers in it with all of the adobo sauce that was left in the can. To me and my guests it could have had more. So the moral to the story is, if you like spicy food use more if you don't use less. This is one great recipe. I recommend it to everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      I followed this almost exactly. I used green chilis but twice as many because they are not as hot. It was only ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Great potato salad! I had to make an emergency chipotle&adobo substitute using jalopenos, ketchup and a touch of liquid smoke, and this still turned out insanely good! Liked the fact that it wasn't swimming in mayo - it was just right. So yummy! Can't wait to make again! Thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Never thought I would do this, but reading the ingredients, I just KNOW this is fab! Love potato salad, and always thinking of ways to make it interesting. The chipotele peppers and black beans will do the trick, I just know it!
      No stars yet, that wouldn't be fair, but will return after I make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I can't believe that I forgot to review this salad. Excellant!! I have made this alot and so far everyone has LOVED it!!! It is different then the standard potato salad and I think that is why people love it!! Thank You !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I don't particularily care for potato salad, but this was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Instead of scallions I used red onion finely diced in my cuisinart food prep. I also made extra dressing and let this sit over night then added my crumbled bacon to garnish. Fabulous, the family loved it with BBQ chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This was soooo good. I cut back on the chipotles because I have little kids and I didn't want it to be too hot for them. The salad still tasted smokey and wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe. I might never go back to "regular" potato salad again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I took this to a picnic and it was a big hit! It's not your usual ho-hum potato salad. It's also very pretty. I'll be making this one a lot. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      My husband isn't really a fan of potato salad but he ate this and enjoyed it!! I used cilantro and extra chiles. Very tasty and easy to make - thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This is the best potato salad I have ever had! My husband said the same thing. Wonderful, unique flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I'm not a big fan of traditional potato salad and this dish was non-traditionally out-this-world delicious. I love the flavor of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce and use it often. I left out the black beans and bacon because I was serving with pinto beans with bacon (charro beans) and it was still very tasty. Next time I will follow the recipe as posted. Thanks Rita, this is my new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Salad With Chipotle Peppers(A Man's Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 419.3
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    38%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 152.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 361.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes