Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Salad by Syd Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Salad by Syd

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2012

      Nice potato salad!!! I made this using 6 medium sized red potatoes (usually smaller than Idaho/russet potatoes). I made this as written except we didn't add the sweet relish as we aren't fans of that in our potato salad. This made more than enough dressing for the 6 potatoes, so next time I would increase the # of potatoes or scale back on the dressing. I enjoyed the green onion flavor verses a standard diced onion. DH ate it as is (I tasted it this way first) but I like my dressing to be tangy, so I added a couple more squirts of mustard to mine. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Great salad ! I stirred through a little bit of rocket and this made a lovely meal on a hot summer's night. DD especially loved the addition of mustard in the dressing. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      Very nice potato salad! The lemon pepper was a nice addition, good with the relish and mustard in the dressing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Lovely potato salad, loved the lemon pepper, and I followed this exactly, except used let sweet pickle relish, as my spoon was hitting the bottom of the jar. This is a perfect potato salad, especially for food gatherings, and it would terrific for a baby shower, tea-party, etc....its' light and not heavy. Enjoyed this so much, will make it again. Made for Holiday Tag Game 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This is a great version of a classic. The only change I made, was to cut the sweet relish in half. I was afraid it might be too sweet for our tastes. Turned out perfect. I loved the idea of adding lemon pepper, but may increase the amount next time. Thanks Syd for a delightful addition to our supper, which also included Parmesan Crumbed Chicken. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #38.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I really love this potato salad! It's way different from what I usually make, but every bit as good or better, and has a nice chunky texture and great blend of flavors. Made for Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      We loved the flavour of this potato salad. The mustard gives it a nice bit of colour. I boiled the potatoes rather than steaming and used chopped sweet sandwich pickles instead of relish. DH wants me to make this again so it's a winner in this household. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      As a first-timer making potato salad I wasn't sure if I'd like it, but this was really great! I wanted a potato recipe that I didn't have to heat up my entire kitchen to prepare; since I steamed the potatoes in my microwave, this was just the ticket. I added extra mustard, but otherwise left the recipe as written. The salad really does need to sit to allow the flavors to mingle - it was much better on the second day than the day that I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Very simple and very tasty. I have never had lemon pepper in a potato salad before and it is really good! I omitted the eggs to get the other members in my family to eat it and used dill pickle relish instead of sweet. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This is great..Just like I grew up with. Really tasty...Would recomend it.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This is similar to my recipe, but I use chopped dill pickles instead of sweet pickle relish and substitute lemon juice (to taste) instead of vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      made this for lunch today, really great, however i added 1 T. of sugar (personal preference and used dijon mustard instead) . I mixed the yolks to the mayo mixture and chunked the whites to blend with the potatoes. Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I have a confession. I have never been able to make good potato salad - until today. DH always goes to the Deli when he wants potato salad. He won't have to anymore! Thanks Syd for the personal tutorial on how to steam potatoes and for a fantastic recipe. The combination of sweet relish, mayo and a hint of vinegar blended to make a mouthwatering dressing. I don't know what was best, the flavor, texture or the fact this was so easy to make! Made today for "I Recommend Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I never made potato salad before so I followed the recipe exactly as written except I used pepper because I didn't have any lemon pepper. Everyone enjoyed this and was surprised that I had made it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Syd, you have a great tator salad here. I think I used more green onion than called for but that's all I did different. Thanx for sharing your recipe. I'll use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I loved this recipe, DH really liked it. It is really close to the way my Mother always made it with just a few changes. This is a bit on the sweet side. Next time I think I would cut the sweet pickle relish in half. Personal preference. Thanks Syd for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      My Dh and Dd liked this, but I felt it needed something, maybe garlic? I tried steaming potatoes in my new bamboo steamer and they turned out great. The only thing I noticed was that it says "Serves 10". With my 3 potatoes, it was more like 4 or 5 servings. I do try to avoid using pickle relish bcz the 2nd ingredient is high fructose corn syrup, but used it for this. If I can find some without the hfcs in it, I would try it again. Thanks, Syd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I can see why you always go back to this recipe. Perfect potato salad! Now it will be the recipe I always go back to. I didn't have Del Monte pickle relish but I couldn't imagine the salad being any better if I did. Thank you for sharing your recipe Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Salad by Syd

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.6
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    44%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 41.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 320.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites