Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Rolls

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2009

      I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and all my co-workers and families were very impressed. I love to cook and absolutely loved the wonderful taste of these rolls. Have given the recipe to several friends. Also am making them again for Christmas. Thanks again Sharlene for posting this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      These were very good! I followed the recipe, except I only used 4 cups of flour since it balled up on my kitchen aid mixer by then. They turned out beautifully, and worked perfect with my mini burgers (sliders). Thank you for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      these are great but i can never get even close to all the flour incorporated

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      These are outstanding rolls. They remind me of the potato rolls I used to make years ago & had to knead for 10 minutes. Taking a cue from others, I did increase the sugar & salt a bit to suit our taste. I was making them for a church dinner so couldn't overeat, thank goodness!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Made this as a test run for Thanksgiving. I think the flavor could be kicked up a tiny bit, but I'll just increase the salt/butter next time. I also used half whole wheat and they were good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I really love this recipe; it's such a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! My rolls didn't rise much but I'll just have to try it again sometime. They still tast great and freeze wonderfully! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Wonderful! I had problems with the rising part but I blame the winter poking its way through my kitchen vent. Wonderful taste and everyone thought they were store-bought! I'll take that as a compliment. I stored it overnight in the fridge, took them out in the morning to rise and cooked it alongside the Easter ham. Num-o!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I debated so much on whether these delightful rolls deserved 4 or 5 stars. I'll give them 5+ stars for flavor! Now, truly, refrigerating the dough helped a lot (as it was lumpy and sticky, not very pretty after the remaining flour was mixed). Then I initially gave them 4+ stars for their texture, hot out of the oven (but that's because most breads are often gummy, while piping hot). Yet once completely cooled, I ate another and another... and another. I had to rush what the family didn't eat into the deep freeze, so I wouldn't eat the rest single-handedly! So now I'll rate them with 5 solid stars. Thanks for sharing, this recipe's a real KEEPER! Next time I am going to try them with buttermilk and see if it's worth the trouble and expense or not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Made these with a basil/garlic/onion/salt/pepper and olive oil spread..baked it right on. They were very delicious. I'll be making these again. :) I reduced the recipe to 15 rolls and it worked just fine. I might add a bit more of the mashed potatoes next time and see what happens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      For some reason my review poofed, but my stars are still there..... weird! These really light and fluffy, and I'm going to make them again soon. Thank you for your wonderful recipe. Mark loves potato rolls! I hope this doesn't evaporate.... lol!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      I trusted all the 5 star reviews and dove in and made a double batch for our Thanksgiving dinner this week. And I am NOT sorry. Boy, are these rolls good! So light and tender. Hubby and I ate one almost immediately after they came out of the oven as they smelled so good baking we couldn't wait! I used instant mashed potatoes and they worked fine. I just made them according to the package directions and then followed the recipe exactly. I did brush a little melted butter on them before baking and they are heavenly. Thanks Sharlene for a very nice recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I made these for the first time and they are excellent - the dough was a little sticky when first mixed but fine when I took them out of the ‘fridge this morning and needed no added flour. I left the first 12 to rise for 40 minutes in a warm room and the second batch for an hour - the second batch rose more and are lighter - something to remember when making again during winter. Thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      These were good, but a little dense. I had some problems with the dough. It came out really sticky, so I added some flour. I think maybe that is why they were so heavy. Good flavor though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      A great way to use leftover mashed potatoes! Very easy. I let it rise the first time for about 1 hour on my counter (not the fridge) and the second time for about 40 minutes in a slightly warmed oven. They turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I made these for Christmas dinner and everyone raved over the fresh homemade rolls! They smelt wonderful while baking and they came out with a tender, fluffy texture. My Dad, the bread lover in the family, really enjoyed them! I think next time, I might brush the tops with a little melted butter before baking. Other than that, I wouldn't change the recipe at all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      I took these to a Thanksgiving gathering and all raved and asked for the recipe. They were easy to transport and finish there since no kneading is required. I put them in muffin pans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      I made these rolls according to the recipe a couple of times and they were excellent. I like the feature of having the dough in the fridge and I can make up a batch at a time. However I live in the tropics and very seldom get good potatoes or prepare them but substituting leftover rice mashed with a potato masher in the same quantity as the potato the rolls come out great. A little different in texture and taste but still great. A really good recipe that is a favorite here. Thanks from Tom

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Fabulous, easy and in my favorites now! I'm not sure why I bothered to make dinner. All my hubby and I wanted were these rolls and butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I especially like the 'make the dough a day before' instructions. I made up instant mashed potatoes to use in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      I made the dough last night and left it refrigerated overnight, as the recipe suggests. The flavor and the beauty of these rolls did not disappoint. I'd caution someone who isn't very experienced with yeast breads to watch the dough instead of the timer. Once removed from the refrigerator it's quite possible that they will need longer than 10 minutes to rest and 40 to rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.0
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    19%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.8 mg
    2%
    Sodium 133.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites