44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great! I think it would make excellent 'spudnuts' if rolled and cut with a donut cutter, fried and glazed. The rolls are fantastic, crusty on the outside and light inside. I did have to add a touch more salt plus I used water in which the potatoes were cooked. Easy to have mashed potatoes and rolls in the same meal. Great recipe to mix with a Kitchen Aid mixer (no kneading) super easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliarea June 02, 2008

these are great but i can never get even close to all the flour incorporated

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyblack January 01, 2008

These are outstanding rolls. They remind me of the potato rolls I used to make years ago & had to knead for 10 minutes. Taking a cue from others, I did increase the sugar & salt a bit to suit our taste. I was making them for a church dinner so couldn't overeat, thank goodness!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rileyelinor December 15, 2007

I debated so much on whether these delightful rolls deserved 4 or 5 stars. I'll give them 5+ stars for flavor! Now, truly, refrigerating the dough helped a lot (as it was lumpy and sticky, not very pretty after the remaining flour was mixed). Then I initially gave them 4+ stars for their texture, hot out of the oven (but that's because most breads are often gummy, while piping hot). Yet once completely cooled, I ate another and another... and another. I had to rush what the family didn't eat into the deep freeze, so I wouldn't eat the rest single-handedly! So now I'll rate them with 5 solid stars. Thanks for sharing, this recipe's a real KEEPER! Next time I am going to try them with buttermilk and see if it's worth the trouble and expense or not.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon Anne March 15, 2007

Wonderful full-proof recipe! I halved the recipe but used an entire cup of mashed potatoes & 2t yeast from a jar; also I baked it as a bread loaf instead of rolls. Airy, moist, and really good toasted. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 12, 2006

I have never made better rolls! You can't get much easier in a yeast roll too. I will be making these at least once a week!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rljacdcjecl September 08, 2006

These turned out super great! I really like to have hot rolls for my family, but our meal times are seldom on schedule. I can mix these, keep them in the fridge and have ready to serve on fairly short notice. I never seem to have real potatoes in my house these days so I used mashed potatoes from a mix. I brushed the tops with butter right after I took them out of the oven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avoda September 03, 2006

I made these for the first time and they are excellent - the dough was a little sticky when first mixed but fine when I took them out of the ‘fridge this morning and needed no added flour. I left the first 12 to rise for 40 minutes in a warm room and the second batch for an hour - the second batch rose more and are lighter - something to remember when making again during winter. Thank you for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allie234234 August 04, 2005

Absolutely a keeper !!! I've made these three times already. The recipe makes a bunch... but I just freeze the leftovers, which taste just as good reheated ! For anyone who has problems with bread lacking flavor (I do with almost all bread recipes), just increase the butter, sugar and salt. For this recipe I increased the butter to 1/2 cup, the sugar to 1/3 cup and the salt to 2 tsp. Also great topped with sesame seeds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki G. January 26, 2004

These rolls are really good. They are easy to make and you can just stick them in the frige until you are ready to heat up!! This comes in handy for a party. They also taste great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superswimgirl00 June 13, 2003
Potato Rolls