44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great, I'll be the first one to rate this. Hope my opinion helps get others to try this. If not, they don't know what they're missing. I have another recipe for potato rolls and I posted it but I thought I'd try yours today. Mine doesn't say to refrigerate before so I wanted to see how this would work in case I wanted to make ahead. They were udderly delicious! That's sheep talk for wonderful! Thanks Sharlene for this recipe that I'll be making over and over!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Sneed May 18, 2002

In the two weeks since I found this recipe, I have made these rolls at least 4 times and my family is crazy for them. I am a longtime baker and these are truly exceptional rolls. I use the water I cooked the potatoes in for extra starch. Terrific! Recipe doubles well also. Thanks!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
znglass December 06, 2002

My cooking skills with bread rolls has usually brought very ordinary results. These turned out a treat and I was very impressed with the recipe and myself. These are a great accompaniment to soup.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie May 28, 2002

These rolls were light and fluffy, but they lacked something -- maybe a little honey would be good? Overall, they were good rolls, but next time I make this recipe I might substitute a bit of honey for the sugar.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 January 25, 2003

Took advantage of a snow day to make these rolls. They were amazing! My family said they were the best rolls I've made. They came out tasty and tender. This is my new go-to recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackiedog January 19, 2012

Excellent recipe. For a little fun, add some dried chives. Or when you're having Italian food, add some Italian seasoning to make a herb dough OR fresh pressed garlic for garlic bread. Let your imagination go now that you have your basic recipe perfected!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npp3512007 February 10, 2011

OMG (I thought I would never use that), but these are the very best rolls I have ever baked!!!!! When I took dough out of frig. ( 24 hrs.),the dough was very firm and I thought I put in too much flour. It took about 2 hours to rise and I wondered if I did something wrong. Not so, they were beautiful, light, moist and delicious!!!! I made these today and will freeze and use on Easter. Thanks for the recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinKaren1 April 01, 2010

I made these with 2.5 cups whole wheat flour (Priarie Gold which is a soft whole wheat) and 1.5 cups all purpose flour - 4 cups was good for me today. Delightful! I also just put in 3T sugar as we were using them for bbq rolls and didn't want to have any sweetness. I used the potato water from boiling pots for the water. With a time crunch, I shaped the rolls (20 make great small sandwiches) and put them in the oven with a steaming saucepan of water in the bottom - no oven heat. They rose beautifully in 30 minutes. This is a keeper. My family is thrilled! Thanks so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thelamars4 January 20, 2010

I finally found a yeast roll recipe that is easy and foolproof. I've made these twice now with perfect results -- moist, fluffy rolls. I had to add only 4 c. of flour, too. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe. My search is over.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ks2holl December 19, 2008

These were very good! I followed the recipe, except I only used 4 cups of flour since it balled up on my kitchen aid mixer by then. They turned out beautifully, and worked perfect with my mini burgers (sliders). Thank you for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haversac July 15, 2008
Potato Rolls