Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Rolls

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      Great, I'll be the first one to rate this. Hope my opinion helps get others to try this. If not, they don't know what they're missing. I have another recipe for potato rolls and I posted it but I thought I'd try yours today. Mine doesn't say to refrigerate before so I wanted to see how this would work in case I wanted to make ahead. They were udderly delicious! That's sheep talk for wonderful! Thanks Sharlene for this recipe that I'll be making over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      In the two weeks since I found this recipe, I have made these rolls at least 4 times and my family is crazy for them. I am a longtime baker and these are truly exceptional rolls. I use the water I cooked the potatoes in for extra starch. Terrific! Recipe doubles well also. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      My cooking skills with bread rolls has usually brought very ordinary results. These turned out a treat and I was very impressed with the recipe and myself. These are a great accompaniment to soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      These rolls were light and fluffy, but they lacked something -- maybe a little honey would be good? Overall, they were good rolls, but next time I make this recipe I might substitute a bit of honey for the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Took advantage of a snow day to make these rolls. They were amazing! My family said they were the best rolls I've made. They came out tasty and tender. This is my new go-to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Excellent recipe. For a little fun, add some dried chives. Or when you're having Italian food, add some Italian seasoning to make a herb dough OR fresh pressed garlic for garlic bread. Let your imagination go now that you have your basic recipe perfected!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      OMG (I thought I would never use that), but these are the very best rolls I have ever baked!!!!! When I took dough out of frig. ( 24 hrs.),the dough was very firm and I thought I put in too much flour. It took about 2 hours to rise and I wondered if I did something wrong. Not so, they were beautiful, light, moist and delicious!!!! I made these today and will freeze and use on Easter. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I made these with 2.5 cups whole wheat flour (Priarie Gold which is a soft whole wheat) and 1.5 cups all purpose flour - 4 cups was good for me today. Delightful! I also just put in 3T sugar as we were using them for bbq rolls and didn't want to have any sweetness. I used the potato water from boiling pots for the water. With a time crunch, I shaped the rolls (20 make great small sandwiches) and put them in the oven with a steaming saucepan of water in the bottom - no oven heat. They rose beautifully in 30 minutes. This is a keeper. My family is thrilled! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I finally found a yeast roll recipe that is easy and foolproof. I've made these twice now with perfect results -- moist, fluffy rolls. I had to add only 4 c. of flour, too. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe. My search is over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      These were very good! I followed the recipe, except I only used 4 cups of flour since it balled up on my kitchen aid mixer by then. They turned out beautifully, and worked perfect with my mini burgers (sliders). Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This recipe is great! I think it would make excellent 'spudnuts' if rolled and cut with a donut cutter, fried and glazed. The rolls are fantastic, crusty on the outside and light inside. I did have to add a touch more salt plus I used water in which the potatoes were cooked. Easy to have mashed potatoes and rolls in the same meal. Great recipe to mix with a Kitchen Aid mixer (no kneading) super easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      these are great but i can never get even close to all the flour incorporated

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      These are outstanding rolls. They remind me of the potato rolls I used to make years ago & had to knead for 10 minutes. Taking a cue from others, I did increase the sugar & salt a bit to suit our taste. I was making them for a church dinner so couldn't overeat, thank goodness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I debated so much on whether these delightful rolls deserved 4 or 5 stars. I'll give them 5+ stars for flavor! Now, truly, refrigerating the dough helped a lot (as it was lumpy and sticky, not very pretty after the remaining flour was mixed). Then I initially gave them 4+ stars for their texture, hot out of the oven (but that's because most breads are often gummy, while piping hot). Yet once completely cooled, I ate another and another... and another. I had to rush what the family didn't eat into the deep freeze, so I wouldn't eat the rest single-handedly! So now I'll rate them with 5 solid stars. Thanks for sharing, this recipe's a real KEEPER! Next time I am going to try them with buttermilk and see if it's worth the trouble and expense or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Wonderful full-proof recipe! I halved the recipe but used an entire cup of mashed potatoes & 2t yeast from a jar; also I baked it as a bread loaf instead of rolls. Airy, moist, and really good toasted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I have never made better rolls! You can't get much easier in a yeast roll too. I will be making these at least once a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      These turned out super great! I really like to have hot rolls for my family, but our meal times are seldom on schedule. I can mix these, keep them in the fridge and have ready to serve on fairly short notice. I never seem to have real potatoes in my house these days so I used mashed potatoes from a mix. I brushed the tops with butter right after I took them out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I made these for the first time and they are excellent - the dough was a little sticky when first mixed but fine when I took them out of the ‘fridge this morning and needed no added flour. I left the first 12 to rise for 40 minutes in a warm room and the second batch for an hour - the second batch rose more and are lighter - something to remember when making again during winter. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Absolutely a keeper !!! I've made these three times already. The recipe makes a bunch... but I just freeze the leftovers, which taste just as good reheated ! For anyone who has problems with bread lacking flavor (I do with almost all bread recipes), just increase the butter, sugar and salt. For this recipe I increased the butter to 1/2 cup, the sugar to 1/3 cup and the salt to 2 tsp. Also great topped with sesame seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      These rolls are really good. They are easy to make and you can just stick them in the frige until you are ready to heat up!! This comes in handy for a party. They also taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.0
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    19%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.8 mg
    2%
    Sodium 133.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes