Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Pierogies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Pierogies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      I invited our new neighbour over for lunch and they absolutely adored these little devils! I made them with my daughter, and she really enjoyed sealing the pieroggies. I served it with some sour cream blended with paprika and cilantro. What a delight! I think next time I will try to put some riccota in the filling, what do you think? :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      Cindy, I'm sorry I don't have the recipe for the casserole. I will look around and see if I can find it for you. Meanwhile, it would be a good idea to go to Community Disscussion Area and post the question in Request A Recipe. Then you would have all the chefs looking for you!! I'm glad you liked the pierogis!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Good things to add to the potatoe mixture are: green onions bacon bits cheddar cheese My kids love these...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2002

      These were absolutely delicious.I also took some to work and ate them cold and believe it or not, they were even tastier. I found them a little fiddly to make, very easy to cook, but well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      After cooking these in water, my family always sauted ours in the butter AND diced onion. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      We added 1/2 teaspoon garlic and a pinch of basil to the filling. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      We really loved these. Added garlic and onions to the butter. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      This is called in Poland: "Russian pierogi". However, the genuine recipe requires for the use of cottage cheese mixed 1:1 with potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      I am wondering if you have the recipe for the casserole using Lasagna noodles. Do you think I could use this filling? This is great thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      Wow! These are wonderful. I remember a neighbor of years ago bringing pierogis to our house sometimes for cookouts. These are as good as I remember!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      These were great and I was surprised at how easy they were too. They were a bit time consuming to make, but worth the effort. When frying them I added onions to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Delicious! I didn't even know what these would be like until I made them -- kind of my Easter surprise! What a wonderful surprise. Served with a sour cream dipping sauce. Not only delicious, but I thought they were fun to make. Thanks for making my Easter even more special!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      A nice and simple recipe. The other recipe I tried had me use a food processor for the dough which I'm happy to find is completely unnecessary. Easy to tailor the filling to your own liking. I happened to have some turkey on hand which I added to the mashed potato filling and it made for a good meal :) If you're having trouble working with the dough, give it a little time to set and let the outside of your "dough ball" dry a little. Flour your hands, the outside of your ball of dough, your rolling pin and rolling surface frequently, and then flour it some more. You can then take all the left over scraps after you cut out your squares, and press it together and ball it up just like it were play-dough, then roll it out again-no wasted dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      The dough was really hard to work with. First it was too sticky, then when i added more flour it was too tough to roll thin enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      These were really good. I found the dough was hard to work with. I felt like they were too thick. I made mashed potatoes and added some finely diced onion and sharp white cheddar cheese. I sauteed in butter and onion. This is the second time I have made pierogies and after the first time, I swore I wouldn't make them again. I used a different recipe the first time and will probably use this recipe again when I feel like going to the trouble of making them. They were good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I followed the recipe to the T and they came out extremely doughy tasting and very bland. I would maybe add some flavor to it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Unfortunately I didn't find this dough very easy to work with. I used 3/4 cup of milk and had such a sticky wet dough that I was forced to add flour as I was rolling it out. It was like elastic as I was trying to roll it thin enough, and kept bouncing back up. I was only able to get it down to about 1/4 of an inch thick, and unfortunately this resulted in a very chewy, doughy pierogie. The filling was fine, but really the dough was just not what I had in mind. I made these pierogies along with a different pierogie dough recipe from Food Network and did a family taste test. These did not win! They blew up very large when boiled. I am not giving any number of stars though because I did not follow the "shape" directions. I made the traditional half-moon pierogie shape, which worked wonderful on the FN dough but not this one. Sorry it didn't work for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

    • on May 06, 2009

      I can only comment on the dough as I changed up my filling, but this dough is by far the easiest I have ever worked with and all in all it has made a very good Pierogies. At the moment I am munching down on some that could rival Mrs.T's!!! and for pennies compared to the store price!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Excellent dough. I added some cheddar cheese and minced onion to the mashed potato filling and froze what I didn't use right away. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Pierogies

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.1
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    29%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 142.1 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1093.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites