8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, these are great! Loved the addition of cayenne pepper, garlic, and parsley. I grated the potatoes and onions by hand. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews December 12, 2012

I have not tried this recipe but needed to add a note to just give a tip. Saw the recipe and read the donor's note about grating vs processor....My mother made the worlds finest potato pancakes (sorry guys and gals but it's true) I was the one elected (forced) to grate the potatos and onions. The grater was a tennis racket looking rectangular thing, very old. Not the box graters you see nowadays. I have no idea where you would find one, but if you did you would be rich indeed. The result needs to be a thickish mush...Not hunks and shreds of potatoes and onion...blend with just enough egg/flour to hold it together, salted liberally prior to frying. Seriously folks...get that stuff grated really well and this is a dish of the Gods

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YankeeKat March 28, 2010

Excellent just like my Grandmom made. I'm happy someone put this online. Thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jm.lee September 30, 2008

I grated by hand, and used cracked black pepper instead of cayenne. Loved these! Made little ones as hors d'oeuvres with dollops of sour cream and some fresh dill as a garnish. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 16, 2008

These fell apart and ended up as weird hashbrowns. pretty good taste, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzzyAndrews January 30, 2008

These were very good, a little dry for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa July 10, 2006

This is a wonderful potato pancake recipe. Thanks for sharing. I usually have mine quite plain, definitely not with onion and garlic, but it adds a lovely flavour, so does the cayenne. The only thing I left out was the parsley, because I'm not so keen on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- November 09, 2005

Easy to follow instructions, and delicious: Pancakes? Latkes? I grated the potatoes, and used black pepper instead of cayenne pepper. Separating the egg must be one of the secrets of this recipe: the pancakes/latkes kept their shape perfectly, and served with some low fat sour cream, just scrumptious. It is hard to believe that the fat content is so low, 0.8g, before sour cream is added, but I’m certainly not complaining! I’ll be making these again, and often. Everyone loved them. Thanks, Rita, for yet another fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 22, 2005
Potato Pancakes Polish