Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Pancakes - German Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Pancakes - German Style

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2013

      Excellent recipe! I love that you've provided the instructions for using a food processor. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on, and they still turned out great (no real difference)! I served them the way that my great-grandmother did--with a small sprinkle of sugar, scallions and with apple sauce and sour cream on the side. YUM!! Terrific with fresh kielbasa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      We tried these with burgers one night and they were a great compliment! It took about an hour for 2 of us to peel and shred the potatoes on the mandoline, mix the ingredients and fry up. No biggie since we had to get the charcoal grill ready anyways. We used a pan on one notch above medium and they were great on 3 minutes for each side...4 patties per pan. I put them on paper towels right from the pan so the oil could soak into the paper towel. I also added some garlic salt into the egg mixture. You could also add cheese but we didn't. I made 2/3 of a batch and got 14 cakes. The next time I will do less with only 2 of us, or I will make sure the teenagers are home and they will all be gone! I will most definitely keep this recipe in my binder and make them again soon!!! They would be great with breakfast too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      These are fantastic. I have never had these before. I ended up having to grate the potatoes and onion with a cheese grater and I almost did not make them because of that but I am glad that I did.

      I mixed everything up and put it to the side while I prepared other foods. I noticed some liquid collecting in the bottom of the bowl and I was a little unsure, but I just pushed the potatoes up on the sides and everything was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Really delicious. My fiance made them for us this morning, and we both really enjoyed them. We can't wait to add some sausage to the mixture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      LOVED them! I also love that the recipe makes a ton! simple and delicious. We topped them with sour cream and chives. Will definitely have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I have made these 3 times now, and they are hands down the best Potato Pancakes I have ever had -- including restaurant versions. I have ordered them at 2 local restaurants and these were better. I use 3 T of fresh parsley and save a bit to sprinkle fresh over the entire finished batch. Also, I use the 1/2 cup measuring cup to scoop the mixture into the pan (since I use it for the flour why not?) Just makes a bigger pancake with a slightly longer cooking time. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Just like the ones that I had at a German restaurant in Connecticut! Great Recipe... and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      These came out great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      These tasted just like my mom used to make. Really quick and easy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Pancakes - German Style

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    41%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 498.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes