23 Reviews

These Potato Pancakes are great. My Husband would eat them everyday. I have been making them like this for years, 55 years as that is how long we have been married. Sometimes I don't add the onions, they are great without them. We like them with just butter on them or with applesauce.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz September 05, 2002

This recipe is quick and simple. Works equally well if you shred potatoes 'Rosti' style, instead of finely grating. Gives a more interesting texture. Great when served Swiss style, with rabbit or game.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ian Snell September 09, 2002

Great Potato Pancake Recipe. Similar to te one I use. If you add a pinch of nutmeg and corriander it really "Kicks it up a notch" Chef Gerard

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gerard November 08, 2002

I made these only once, but you can bet I'll be making them again! This is just how my Mother made them when she was living. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgieanna September 27, 2002

Love potato pancakes and this sounds just like the way Mom used to make them. I too prefer them with applesauce, but that might be because I've never tried them with squirrel. Sure wish I knew how to catch those little suckers since shooting them is frowned on in my sub-division. As for the 4-star rating, sorry, but I save the 5-star for "out of this world" recipes only.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andreas September 26, 2002

Unfortunately all I could find were some old squirrels in my back yard, but the POTATO PANCAKES WERE FANTASTIC mmmmmm. I added a bit of pepper, parsley and paprika for colour and flavour and they were so good. Also, when I put them on the skillet, I flattened them with my spatula.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesley Breen August 21, 2008

Delicious and easy. Because I was only cooking for myself, I made it even easier by using frozen shredded hash browns that I thawed in the microwave. Also, since I didn't want to cut into a whole onion for only a couple tablespoons, I used onion powder. Next time I make them I think I'll cut down on the flour slightly and up the amount of onion powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wvgrrl March 12, 2011

yummy! I used dry shallots instead of the onion. For ZWT6 Family picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 28, 2010

WONDERFUL !! One word describes these ~ easy to make and so delicious! I used gluten-free flour and more onion than the recipe called for. Another keeper recipe! Made for ZWT 6 ~ GERMANY/BENELUX for the Queens of Quisine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative June 01, 2010

These were really delicious for DD (toddler) and I. I made them gluten free by using a rice flour mix (white rice flour and half the amount of tapioca starch) I used some pretty poor yellow potatoes, brown eggs, sea salt, white onion and a bit of ground coriander like a reviewer suggested. I also took the "good with butter" in one review and cooked them in it. We ate these with Balkan (thick) yogurt and DD liked hers with corn free ketchup. I know they are also good with apple sauce but I didn't have any made or on hand. I would like to make these again maybe for DH sometime. Made for ZWT6 Germany/Benelux region, for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 30, 2010
Potato Pancakes