Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2002

      These Potato Pancakes are great. My Husband would eat them everyday. I have been making them like this for years, 55 years as that is how long we have been married. Sometimes I don't add the onions, they are great without them. We like them with just butter on them or with applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This recipe is quick and simple. Works equally well if you shred potatoes 'Rosti' style, instead of finely grating. Gives a more interesting texture. Great when served Swiss style, with rabbit or game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      Great Potato Pancake Recipe. Similar to te one I use. If you add a pinch of nutmeg and corriander it really "Kicks it up a notch" Chef Gerard

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      I made these only once, but you can bet I'll be making them again! This is just how my Mother made them when she was living. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      Love potato pancakes and this sounds just like the way Mom used to make them. I too prefer them with applesauce, but that might be because I've never tried them with squirrel. Sure wish I knew how to catch those little suckers since shooting them is frowned on in my sub-division. As for the 4-star rating, sorry, but I save the 5-star for "out of this world" recipes only.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Unfortunately all I could find were some old squirrels in my back yard, but the POTATO PANCAKES WERE FANTASTIC mmmmmm. I added a bit of pepper, parsley and paprika for colour and flavour and they were so good. Also, when I put them on the skillet, I flattened them with my spatula.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Delicious and easy. Because I was only cooking for myself, I made it even easier by using frozen shredded hash browns that I thawed in the microwave. Also, since I didn't want to cut into a whole onion for only a couple tablespoons, I used onion powder. Next time I make them I think I'll cut down on the flour slightly and up the amount of onion powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      yummy! I used dry shallots instead of the onion. For ZWT6 Family picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      WONDERFUL !! One word describes these ~ easy to make and so delicious! I used gluten-free flour and more onion than the recipe called for. Another keeper recipe! Made for ZWT 6 ~ GERMANY/BENELUX for the Queens of Quisine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      These were really delicious for DD (toddler) and I. I made them gluten free by using a rice flour mix (white rice flour and half the amount of tapioca starch) I used some pretty poor yellow potatoes, brown eggs, sea salt, white onion and a bit of ground coriander like a reviewer suggested. I also took the "good with butter" in one review and cooked them in it. We ate these with Balkan (thick) yogurt and DD liked hers with corn free ketchup. I know they are also good with apple sauce but I didn't have any made or on hand. I would like to make these again maybe for DH sometime. Made for ZWT6 Germany/Benelux region, for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Great pancakes! I used egg beaters for the eggs and used the large side of my cheese greater for the potatoes and onions both worked out fine. The flavor and texture were both really nice and the recipe is pretty easy to make as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      i love potato pancakes, as does my Mother. I added more onion to this recipe. These were enjoyed by my family. Thanks for the recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I always enjoy potato pancakes and making them with this recipe was no exception. I added some finely minced garlic and also minced the onion and added some cumin and freshly ground black pepper. Delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Charlotte! Made for I recommend...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      These had a wonderful flavor, and even my pickiest guest -- who swore that she never likes potato pancakes -- ate them up. Perhaps I grated my potatoes too finely, because they produced a LOT of liquid. Although the directions didn't say to do it, I drained the grated potatoes and am glad I did -- as it was, the mixture was still very thin and moist, almost runny. BUT, they were wonderful! I doubled the recipe and served this to my fiance and our game-night friends alongside German Apple Pancake Zells and pork sausages. Barely a speck of potato was left! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      These are great. We loved them so much i barely had time to put them on our plates. I used green onions as those were the ones i had available atm,tasted great and it made them look good too.. Definately will make them again, so easy and yummy! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I left out the eggs and made them more like a crisp hashbrown patty. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I added 4 tb of flour and omitted the salt because I don't like salt. I also strained the water out of the potatoes and onions before adding the other items. DH said they tasted like his mother's! Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      This is just how I make my potato pancakes.....but I do not use the onion, prefer it without. I do, however, drain the potato water from the potatoes after grating, with a large tea strainer. I do not add salt to the potato mixture, I salt the potatoes after frying them....like you would for french fries. Hmmmm! No one should be disappointed with this recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Easy to make. I had no idea! I debated with myself on the whole tsp of salt. Decided to use that amount because potatoes are often bland. However, I wish I had used about half that amount. I found that these were too salty for my taste. I also only used one egg, which seemed to supply plenty of binder. I will make these again...with less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      These are wonderful; I used to make them often when my boys were home so it had been along time; they turned out super!!!Thanks fo rhte recipe Charlotte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 434.8
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    20%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 2486.1 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 20.3 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites