Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      I had leftover mashed potatoes after my Thanksgiving dinner and was looking for something different to do with them other than just fry them up; this was the perfect solution for the day-after-Thanksgiving dinner. These were wonderful! They were so easy to prepare, and I like that they are baked rather than fried. I used my potato masher to combine all the ingredients, as I wanted to make sure no lumps of cold mashed potatoes remained. Unfortunately, I had to omit the onions (or else my son wouldn't have eaten them), but I sauted two large cloves of garlic as a substitute. I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      What a surprise! Incredibly delicious! I decreased the ingredients by 1/3 and added some minced garlic to the last minute of onion cooking time. These were so good, I ate some for breakfast (I'm kind of weird) and they were even great cold. Terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! i added a little basil, garlic, and onion salt. BF says they're the best potato pancakes he's ever had *s*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      These are SO GOOD! This recipe is nothing short of spectacular. Its mind-blowing sometimes to see what creations leftovers can make! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      AWESOME - even better cold. Did not do the egg wash as batter seemed a bit runny - could not shape into rounds but rather just spooned right onto the pan. Next time will add more flour I guess to make more firm. Did not flip and bottoms nice brown but top surface did not brown probably from omitting the egg wash! Held together great when removed from pan. Great breakfast munchie so would be great lunch appetizer. Definitely Definitely a make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      This is a great way to use up left over mashed potatoes, I agree with everybody else. I am now switching from my mothers recipe to yours. Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      THIS is the recipe I have been wanting for potato pancakes!!! 3 onions seemed like a lot to me, but they came out great. I love that they are baked-less mess and less fat-and they really come out like pancakes when they are done. Marvelous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      I had about 2 cups left over mashed potatoes, so I adjusted all the quantities, and I only used 1 large onion. I browned the potato pancakes in butter on both sides before putting in the oven for about 10 - 15 minutes. They were delicious. They had a nice brown crust, and soft, savory center. The onion and seasoning was just right. We will make these again when we have left over mashed potatoes. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      What a great way to prepare leftover mashed potatos! I only used 2 onions cause that's all I had but next time I make them, I'll use 3. I loved the idea of baking them instead of frying! Thanks to you, Bev, the next time I make mashed potatos, I'll deliberately make too many!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      Another great recipe, Bev! I made these tonight for supper exactly as stated, except I halved the recipe since there is only two of us. These were wonderful! I love potato pancakes, but usually I have a terrible time frying them... half of them are stuck to the pan and get broken ! The oven method gave us delicious pancakes, all in one piece! I'll certainly be making these again. Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      These were okay. I'm not rating it because I fried them instead of baking them. I also used dried chives since I didn't have onions on hand and I left out the tabasco sauce. I'm sure they would have tasted a lot better if I followed the recipe exactly since the other reviewers loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      Can't believe how fantastic these are ~ they came out perfectly! I didn't alter a thing!! I'll be making these often - Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      i made these the night before i had to get up early for work...delicious even when reheating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      These were great! I used a potato and sweet potato mixture for the mashed potatoes. I only used about 1/2 of an onion, and served with sour cream and maple syrup. I did finish them under the broiler for some more color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      These tasted good, but mine didn't brown on the outside at all. I tried upping the heat to 400 first and then ended up turning on the broiler to get some color on them, even though I used the egg wash. I loved how easy it was to just put them on the cookie sheet and not have to clean up all that grease. Unfortunately, we were all disappointed that it didn't get that nice crispy crust that you get when frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      These were good. Different way of making them so it was easier. We did enjoy them. The only thing was they only browned on the bottom. It was hard to flip them as they still stuck some. I did flip them to brown them on the other side. I do like that they were somewhat healthier due to not frying them. I will make them again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      I really like these! I love that they are baked and they taste wonderful. I think the onions and tabasco sauce add to the flavor so much. I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Very good! I used leftover garlic parmesan potatoes so they were very flavorful. I added green onions. For some reason my batter was very loose so I added a bit more flour and seasoned breadcrumbs to my batter. They baked well and I chose to flip them and really brown the other side too. I like Julia Child's method the best but this is so much easier and better for you, ha! Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      My mom used to make something very similar, but I was having trouble getting the proportions figured out. Thank you for helping me! We leave out the onions and hot sauce, fry 'em up, and just eat them topped with ketchup. What a wonderful comfort food! (Perfect for day after Thanksgiving leftover breakfast!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This was my first time making potatoe pancakes, and they were YUMMI!! Thank you for posting such a great recipe. The only think I did different was to broil them the last two minutes to make the tops a little more crisp. Will be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.9
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    38%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 109.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 326.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites