16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. We enjoyed with dinner tonight. I made a few modification. Since tomatoes are not in season I used 3/4 of a 10 ounce can of Rotel diced tomatoes w. chilies, in place of the tomato and chilies. I sliced the potato instead of using wedges. I placed the potatoes in a baggie to mix ingredients instead of using a bowl. Thanks for posting. Made for The Best of 2009 Cookbook Swap.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana February 10, 2010

We had these as a side and my family LOVED them.I sliced them thin instead of wedgesand used some salsa instead of chopped tomatoes. Made for everyday is a holiday

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 February 09, 2009

Pretty good. The kids had to be pressured into eating them, but once they tried them they loved them. Most of my family doesn't like tomatoes, so I'll leave those out next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbow.rubatino February 13, 2009

These were really good! Will make again, and maybe kick it up another notch because I had not added the green chilies (forgot until I was already eating them!). Served with sour cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe February 05, 2009

This was just wonderful, can't get black beans over here so used refried as per previous reviewer. Perfect, we just loved it thank you for posting. Made for Holidays Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseylcw February 02, 2009

YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY! That's all I can say! But seriously, these are great. I had to improvise a little bit because I only had limited ingredients. I have no idea what a "russet" potato is, so I just used plain ol' potatoes. I use refried (is that how you spell it) beans instead of black beans and fresh canned banana peppers instead of the chilies. My hubby was raving and going on and on about how much he loved them. This is a great recipe and a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York January 30, 2009

Used a bag of frozen thick cut seasoned fries. Add pickled Jalapenos. I loved them! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest February 07, 2011

I knew we were going to love this. I cut the recipe in half and served it as a side dish for dinner. Gave me 2 nice servings. The only change I made was to use diced fresh jalapeno's instead of the green chilies. Thanks for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 12, 2009

MUCH better for you than nachos and pretty easy to make for a weeknight supper. My BF and I were really pleased with this, so I'd make it again in a snap. I served it with a salad. I doubled the beans, tomatoes, green onion and cheese blend but kept the rest of the spices about the same. I used a small diced jalapeno pepper for the green chilies. Topped it with salsa and low fat yogurt instead of sour cream. My only problem with this recipe was that I had no cooking spray, so I didn't spray my teflon cookie sheet, and the potatoes stuck to it. May have been my fault for not being vigilant enough about stirring them though. Thanks for this great vegetarian recipe:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend September 18, 2009

WOW - this is my kind of dinner!! This is very similar to my favorite dish at Hobee's (De Anza browns with black bean chili), but better and much healthier. I used pico de gallo instead of the chilies and tomatoes, plus the optional toppings in step 8. We also ended up using most of the can of black beans, since we had it open already. This is super super SUPER! ETA - I made this again the super quick way by microwaving the potatoes. It was almost as good that way as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 24, 2009
Potato Nachos