Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato-Mushroom Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato-Mushroom Chowder

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      MMMMMMM ......... MMMMMMMM ..... GOOOOOOD On Sundays I make 3-4 soups for lunches and try to make at least one new soup each week to keep things from being mun-dun (boring) BUT after everyone tasted this, one little taste became just a little bowl pul-lizzz:) just one little bowl....I ended up making another batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      I'm always looking for quick, easy, and tasty soups to make during the week, and this one did not disappoint. The garlic powder and thyme add a nice dimension to the vegetables. The cook time is perfect too, long enough to slightly soften the carrots, celery, and potatoes without leaving them soggy. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      Just made this for lunch today. Perfect for a cold, rainy day here in Texas! I added Oregano (for my daughter); used Half-n-Half for light cream, but think that Evaporated Milk would work just as well. Thanks for recipe - we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Made this chowder yesterday and it was delicious! I left out the carrots and substituted the onion and celery with a frozen bag of "seasoning blend" which includes onions, celery, red & green peppers, and parsley. My husband and I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      The days are getting shorter, the winds are a bit brisk as the temperatures are falling as fast as the leaves--time for soup! We love potato soup and we really enjoyed this one. The thyme and the mushrooms made it a little out of the ordinary. The only thing I would do differently is to chop the mushrooms up just a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Delicious!!! We loved this soup and will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      This was so good, I made 3 batches of it and took one to work to share. Now I'm copying the recipe for others. Will make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      This soup is perfect for a cold day. We loved the taste and it was easy to make. Really good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      Everyone is sooooo RIGHT, this soup is DELICIOUS. We loved it. Thank you soooo much for such a great recipe. I did use a cup of Evaporated Milk instead of the cream. I think that this recipe would make a good Clam Chowder by just adding clams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      This chowder is out of this world. I just made it tonight and cannot stay out of it. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I'm sure I will be making it often. Just follow the recipe to a "T" and I'm sure you will not be disappionted. Becky in NC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      This was okay, but I have had better potato soups. It was good to use up the mushrooms I had on hand. I liked all the veggies in it though. I didn't have any cream, so just used evaporated milk, which may have made a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is really good. The only changes I made was to add some white wine and a little smokey chipotle powder. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very good!! An excellent quick chowder with lots of flavor. I changed a few things for personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This is a great recipe though I like to use vegetable or chicken stock instead of water. I also add some white wine for an extra layer of flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Absolutely EXCELLENT! Subbed fresh corn for the mushrooms, fat free half and half for the cream and used a sprinkling of Monterey Jack for the Parmesan--fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      I am making this for the third time and I noticed that I never reviewed it. My family absolutely adores this soup and 3 out of 5 of the kids aren't big soup eaters but they sure love this!! I have even served this to my in-laws who are picky eaters and they have asked for the recipe!!! Thanks for sharing this keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      I have a problem following recipes exactly. I omitted the flour and added rosemary. I also liquidised the initial portion then added added extra mushrooms for decor ... perfect!! After a fish stew for lunch and a foccacia, feta cheese, kalamata olives and mint "pizza" for dinner the kids and H enjoyed this for supper with hot poppyseed bread. What a culinary day!! TQ Recipezaar for a fantastic website

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      This is so good! All the flavors blended perfectly. I did leave out the celery. Really loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I knew it would be yummy but it was even more delicious than I expected. Good stuff! My hubby went back for second bowl. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Perfect!! Followed recipe exactly, and was gone in minutes, Will definately make again! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato-Mushroom Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.0
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    64%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 847.5 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes