Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Leek Soup in Bread Bowls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Leek Soup in Bread Bowls

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2001

      This soup is easy and quick to make. Including peeling and chopping all the veggies, and letting it simmer for 20 mins. it only took about 45 mins. from start to finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2001

      I skipped the bread bowls and used fresh italian parsley, a little rosemary and thyme, and it was great. Left it chunky too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Fantastic! Delicious and wonderful. Beautiful blend of tastes. Bravo Nancy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Delicious and Super Easy! I used veggie stock instead of chicken stock, added a bit more salt and nutmeg, and used the imersion blender to smooth out the soup. The entire family loves this soup! We will definately make it over and over again! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Won't make again. I only blended half the soup, and made the mistake of adding fresh parsley. It tasted too strong, but salt helped reduce the parsley's negative effects. Had very little flavor apart from parsley; definitely wouldn't recommend to anybody looking for a flavorful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Delicious and easy to make! It goes great with sourdough garlic bread. The only thing I changed was that I only blended half of the veggies and left the rest chunky in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      potato and leeks are a huge secret. the nicest winter soup ever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Very tasty. I followed the recipe then pureed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      fantastic soup! we left it a little chunky and it tasted great. i also used low sodium broth, fat-free half and half, and used only a 1/4 teaspoon of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      This soup was very good and hearty. I used about six medium sized potatoes, and soy creamer for the heavy cream, and better than boullion veggie broth instead of chicken broth. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This soup is great! It has all the elegance and taste of soup you would get in a 5 star restaurant. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream -- It worked fine. I also used more potatos and leeks, which works fine you just don't want the soup to be too thin. In any case the soup didn't require a lot of baby sitting and the prep work wasn't too bad. The extra prep for the bread bowls is worth it too if you intend to eat the bowl; it tastes like garlic bread with your soup... Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      This soup is delicous both with and without the bread bowls. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      I skipped the bread bowls, so this review is only on the soup. Fantastic tasting as it is easy! With a side of rustic crusty bread, I felt like I was in a bistro in France while savouring this soup. Leftovers reheat well too! I "gilded the lily" by adding a sprinkle of real bacon bits to each bowl before serving. Magnifique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      This Soup Was Quick And Easy. After I Blended The Leeks & Potatos I Added Some Additional Potatos & Leeks Chopped Up To Make This Soup More Hardy My Family Loved It NO LEFTOVERS!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      This was good .. I didnt use bread bowls either, and made it in the crockpot, on low for 8 hours ..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Leek Soup in Bread Bowls

    Serving Size: 1 (904 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1446.8
     
    Calories from Fat 305
    21%
    Total Fat 33.9 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 3109.3 mg
    129%
    Total Carbohydrate 243.1 g
    81%
    Dietary Fiber 14.6 g
    58%
    Sugars 21.1 g
    84%
    Protein 40.4 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites