Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Leek Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Leek Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2012

      This was a big hit when I had guest for dinner! It was easy enough that I'll make it regularly. I do think it's worth the extra few minutes to saute the veggies and herbs before adding stock or water. I melted a few tablespoons of butter in the dutch oven and sauteed the potatoes, leeks, celery, carrots, and herbs until the veggies started to "sweat." Then I added vegetable broth. If you don't have an immersion blender, ask Santa to bring you one! It's so much better than transferring back and forth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I used 1 onion, 3 russet potatoes, 2 bunches of leek (discard green parts), 1 stalk celery, 2 carrots - chopped all these, 1/2 cup butter, 3 cups chicken broth plus 1 cup water. I also added some spinach in it. I wanted a lighter soup, so I omitted the milk. Did not use any spices. If this is your first time cooking with leek, remember to wash every single layer well because of hidden dirt. Based on Alton Brown (TV Food Network)'s recommendation, I melted 1/2 cup butter with medium heat, and put in onion and leek. Add a dash of salt, and slowly let the onion/leek sweat for 30 minutes. Do not let it brown or it will spoil the flavor. Then add in everything else, cook them till potatoes are tender. You can puree the soup when it cools down. I pureed half of it because I like some chunky vege in my soup. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I have never cooked leeks before, and wouldn't you know it, I love them! This soup was wonderful. Hearty and very flavorful. I used chicken broth instead of water, but that was the only thing I changed. I will make this often. So healthy too! I loved that it had no cream in it. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      This is an excellent leek and potato soup. Really thick, tasty and satisfying. I made double the amount to freeze for another time (it freezes well) and added the herbs while cooking. I added a table spoon of miso paste but no salt, I leave that for individual choice when serving. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Very easy, but as written pretty bland tasting. I added 2 T vegetarian soup base and 2 T apple cider vinegar. That made it very balanced and the kids ate it all up. Also, after pureeing the base, I added small-diced cooked potatoes and carrots to chunk it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Very yummy and guilt-free. I made it with following changes: added 2 bouillon cubes, paprika and fresh basil. Omitted the milk. Yummmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      What a lovely soup! This week's farm share box included leeks, potatoes and carrots, so I knew I needed to find a good soup recipe. This was wonderful. I doubled the recipe, and threw in a couple of bouillon cubes near the beginning. I pureed it with my immersion blender until it was smooth and then decided I didn't want to thin it down with milk. Instead, I threw in about 4 oz. of Neufchatel cheese. Delicious, creamy, smooth, full of flavor! And the kids all ate it. Thanks for the recipe, Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      Easy (very much so) and nice flavours (though it would have ended up simpler to say "1 large leek" rather than 3 cups, as I bought too many leeks!) Nice to find a recipe I can share with my 9-month old, and he gobbled this right up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Gosh, this just didn't do it for me. I thought since it was a Mollie Katzen recipe that it would naturally be 5 stars, but mine was too runny and very bland (I even subbed 1/2 of the milk for fat free half and half). I think more celery would have helped. I added quite a bit of Trader Joe's 21 Salute all purpose seasoner to give flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      I had some leftover leeks from a recipe I wasn't a fan of and didn't want them to go to waste. This soup was amazing. I roasted my potatoes the night before I made them so they were mostly cooked then heated them in water the next day. I added the water, broth and milk to make the soup and pureed everything in my immersion blender. It was absolutely delicious. Also a great way to get in some extra milk and vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Probably my new favorite potato-leek soup recipe. I actually have The Enchanted Broccoli Forrest cookbook, and can't believe I'd overlooked this recipe. My family loved it, which is an automatic 5 stars. Even my pickiest eater finished every last drop; I had to call it ninja stew for him ;o) I used 2 cups of low sodium chicken stock in place of some of the water. I also had to add a little water as I was running it through the blender. All in all, a quick, cheap, delicious family meal! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      My family loved this! I did double the recipe but ran out of leeks and used green onion to get the right amount. I subbed chicken stock for the water. It was really great! I also used the remaining tops from the green onion and some bacon pieces as a garnish. Yum! Thanks Amber :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This soup is creamy and yummy! I also used chicken stock and the spices mentioned in the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Making this recipe for the second time. It smells awesome. I follow it to the letter because I want less calories. Very enjoyable anytime of the year. Thanks for sharing Amber Roe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This was a nice soup but for us seemed to be missing some flavor. I used 3 red potatoes and since I bought celery hearts needed two stalks of celery because they were small. Added dried marjoram, basil, and fresh cracked pepper and salt after I pureed the soup. Garnished with shredded cheddar cheese and served. Made and reviewed for the Iron Chef.....Secret Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Awesome. As most did I used chicken broth instead of H2O and omitted the Milk altogether(it was so thick it didn't need it IMO). Also we added two yellow squash to the boil. All in all delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. I doubled the ingredients and used half chicken broth and half water. Even my 3 years old grand-daughter told me "it is really good your soup mamie". I will definitively make it over and over because it is easy and very healthy. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I used this recipe as a starting point but tripled the potatoes and all else, then added grass fed organically raised bacon and a shredded cup of smoked gouda cheese. WOW!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Great soup! Thanks for sharing it. I made the following changes: sauteed the vegetables in 1tbsp. olive oil before adding the water, omitted the milk, and added a bullion cube

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This is a really great soup. I had leeks in my fridge that I had to use up & am so happy that I tried this recipe. The only change I made was that I used plain soy milk instead of the dairy milk. Thanks for this great recipe! I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Leek Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.1
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    11%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 5.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 634.9 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites