Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato & Leek Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato & Leek Soup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2010

      I needed a recipe to use up my leeks in the fridge and thought because it was cold that I should make a nice soup. Came across this recipe and tried it. OMG I have to rate this one a five. It had a nice taste and was wonderful. Thanks for posting. I will be making this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Fantastic Rich and Heart Warming Soup. Great for those cold winter days. I've made this several times and it always turns out great. Only substitute is I didn't use real bacon but turkey bacon (less fat), but it was still terrific. Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Sorry to be the spoiler on this recipe. I had high hopes. I cooked as directed with one change. I chopped and fried about 1'/2 a pound of bacon first, then removed the bacon and sauteed the leeks in the bacon fat. I used about 5 Tbsp cornstarch & water and found it didn't thicken nearly enough. After pureeing, it was far too thin for my liking. I also needed to add about 2 tsp of salt and a lot of pepper to give it some taste. My kids and husband thought it was okay, but it isn't a make again recipe for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made this over the weekend. I followed the recipe except I left out the chives (forgot to buy any) and I didn't puree the soup. It was fantastic. It made tons of soup, though, and if I make it again I'll halve the recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Really good! My roommate and I couldn't stop eating this! I only wish I had chives and bacon to serve with it :[ But it was amazing without as well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      It awesome! leave it chunky!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Very nice soup. Followed recipe exacly except used freeze dried chives instead of fresh chives. Still excellent soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Wonderful! Very easy to make. I did change a few things. I had to use turkey and chicken stock AND tomato-chicken cube (cleaning out the pantry). I did blend it as well and it was so smooth. I used skim milk and only 1/2 C light cream. Thanks for a great and EASY soup!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      I think that this recipe is great for a basic potatoe leek soup. I always naturally opt for thickening with a simple "roux" of just butter and flour and milk. I think that This is a great recipe to build additional flavors on. Next time I would add one more leek, a small one. But it definetly did the trick. I also fed it to my 8 month old for lunch and he loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      This recipe was so good! And I tweaked it a little, instead of butter I cooked 3 pieces of bacon and removed them (for later) and then cooked the leeks. just like a chowder recipe usually calls for. it gives it a smoky taste. Thanks for the recipe, it is now a winter staple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Very good soup! I had some leeks and potatoes in my CSA basket this week and this looked great for a cold windy night. I followed the recipe ingredients, but used my crock pot since we would be out all afternoon. I cooked the bacon in a skillet until crisp, then removed it and cooked the leeks in some of the bacon drippings. Put that and the remaining ingredients except half and half in the crock pot, and let it go on high for 4 hours. Blended with my hand blender, added cornstarch and cooked another 30 min on high, then turned down to low and added half and half. Topped with bacon and shredded cheddar. Yummy! Plenty of leftovers for lunches later. Will save this one, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Decided to try this when I bought some great looking leeks from the market. I washed the leeks well and cooked them for approx 30min in the butter on med/low heat before adding all the other ingredients. I held off on using the cornstarch and water to thicken until after I had pureed the soup and found it was not needed as the soup was thick enough without it. Served it with bacon bits and a sprinkle of fresh Parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Super tasty soup. I didn't add the cream but did add seasoning salt and shredded cheese on top. I didn't have bacon and chives so I left those out. We shared this with our neighbors who loved it. I served this with a salad and beer bread - I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      My husband went absolutely crazy for this! I usually don't puree soups but after reading all the reviews I did puree this one and am very happy I went through with the extra effort. Bacon and cheddar cheese are delicious toppings for this soup! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      We loved it...very filling, satisfying and yummy...you'd never know there was no cream in it! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Loved it!!!!!!!! I made it last weekend and am making it again this weekend for my daughter who is home from college. I had one small bowl left that she tried as soon as she got home and asked for more. I made exactly as you said and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      This is a 'souper' recipe. Hubby is not a soup lover but said this was the best. In our part of the country, leeks grow wild in the bushes so now when he brings home leeks I know what to do with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Nice potato soup recipe! I did need to add 6 tablespoons of corn starch instead of 4 and pureed the soup. My DH is not a big soup fan but he enjoyed this also. I did add the bacon and chive garnish, a pretty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      An excellent recipe! Made exactly as stated but I didn't thicken it as my husband prefers lighter soups .. thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      This is a great recipe, which I used exactly as written, except sometimes we add chopped pieces of smoked sausage at the end to make a meal. It's also wonderful garnished with some freshly grated cheddar cheese. I've now made this numerous times, and is my new standard potato soup recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato & Leek Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.0
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    47%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 56.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 405.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites