Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato-Leek-Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato-Leek-Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      YUM! I can't decide if this is a mushroom soup with potatoes, or a potatoe soup with mushrooms. My local grocery does not have cremini mushrooms, so I used baby portobellos (I clicked on "cremini" and it said portobellos are the mature form of creminis, so a baby port should do). Anyway, I used an 8oz. box of sliced baby ports, and I used half-and-half. I chopped the potatoes with my pampered chef chopper, so they were fairly fine. After I simmered it, I decided to ship the puree step, because it looked so pretty with the mushroom slices floating in it! I added 2 tsp. of salt, which was perfect for my taste. Good Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Fantastic! I was a bit short on the mushrooms, but tasted great anyway. I substituted store-bought croutons and finished with a splash of sherry directly in the bowl to counterpoint the softness. Near perfection. Thank-you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Excellent soup! My husband especially liked it. I had to use baby bellas because the store didn't have cremini mushrooms, used beef stock and fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for the milk. I pureed with my hand blender. The house smelled hevenly and we all love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Excellant soup! we found it delicious. I used ordinary white mushrooms, 4 cups beef stock with 1 cup of water. Had no shallots so subed with onions and used light olive oil instead of butter. I used quite a bit of black pepper which gave it a nice peppery kick and 2% milk. Mine made about 8 servings, I did have 2 huge potatoes to use up, I put 3 containers in the freezer after using it for a delicious lunch for the two of us. Turned out nice and thick and flavourful! I will make it again, DH loved it, thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it. Didn't have creminis, but substituted other mushrooms, and only had one largish leek. Mmmmm!! Combined two of my favourite soups (potato and mushroom).Great winter comfort soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Loved this! Just a few tweeks- I didn't have any shallot or leeks so I just chopped up a yellow onion and threw it in. Whizzed it all up in the blender adding half and half to taste. Served with your spicey croutons. Thumbs up all the way around. Next time I may leave a few mushroom pieces whole to add a different texture and for that good mushroomy goodness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      Super easy and quick to make. I added 1 cup of red lentils to add proteins and used 8 cups of broth instead of 5. A teaspoon of thyme gave a little more taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Although the flavor was very good, the cooking method.did not work entirely as I would have wished. I would have preferred for the ingredients list to follow the order in which they were used in the recipe, as the convention says. Then, the cooking of the potatoes & leeks withou additional liquid did not do much for them. I therefore added the broth and simmered the veggies except the mushrooms for 10 minutes more. Then I added the mushrooms and followed the rest of the directions. The only other change I made was to replace the shallots with finely chopped onion, celery & carrot, as we don't have shallots where I live. This may give the soup a slightly different flavor, but still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I made this last night for a cold winter dinner and it was GREAT!! Skipped the blending step and just boiled the potatoes a little longer until they were extra soft and then made sure to stir the soup really good so some of the potatoes mashed up a little bit. We liked it better chunky like this! I think we could do without the milk next time, but it was still delicious! Amazing with some Louisiana Hot Sauce!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

    • on January 20, 2010

      Made this last night for dinner. Wow!! It was delicious!!! I used 10 "gourmet stuffer" mushrooms and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I made this recipe exactly as is and it was absolutely fantastic! (And it's great reheated, too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      My neighbor gave me some leeks from his garden. I used them to make this soup. Veeery nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was really good, very hearty, and very easy and quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was 'good' but not great, not good enough to make again, but we didn't suffer through dinner, it was enjoyable enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      I found this soup to be a bit bland (even with vegie stock)so i added 2 teaspoons of sun-dried tomato tapenade to the finished product and this boosted the flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Mm Mm Mm! So easy and soo flavourful. I pureed 1/2 the soup so it was thick but with plenty of chunks of veggies to savour. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Lisa Pizza! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      I thought this was an average soup. If you like leeks and onions, you'll like this because this has a definite "Leeky" taste. I did like the texture of the soup from the potatoes. And I did like the little flecks of mushroom pieces after pureeing the mushroom. I would like to have this taste a bit less strong in the leek area though, but I think cutting the amount back might not make the same kind of soup. This recipe isn't for me because of the strong leek taste. The other parts were fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      Awesome recipe! The mushroom flavor is not too strong, just right! And it's great with olive bread on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato-Leek-Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.2
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    31%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 91.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites