Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Latkes

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2010

      WOW!!! Just like I remembered when i was a little girl! These were PERFECT! My family loved these. We paired them with prime rib and asparagus. AWESOME! These are so easy to make, and they ARE the real thing. The directions didn't mention squeezing out the liquid.......I put the onion and potato mixture in a tea towel and squeezed the daylights outta it to get out as much liquid as possible. I was always taught that was the secret to perfect latkes. Thank you for positing this recipe. No changes other than the liquid squeezing. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Potato Latkes are something I've loved since I was knee high and your recipe makes it a cinch to make. Thank you so much Dojemi. I make these often. I could eat these for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. My favorite way is with applesauce. Oh yum. And the crispier the better. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Turned out well and they were so easy. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      These are seriously the easiest and best potato cakes I have ever made!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      These were delicious! I made half the recipe for my daughter and I and served them with apple sauce. We made pigs of ourselves! I don't know what the baking powder added but I wouldn't leave it out or change anything else about them because they are great just the way they are.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I usually buy the ready made ones or mixes but made the latkes today from scratch. And boy, these are good and these make alot! Had this tonight for the start of Hanukkah. They're simple and yet so tasty! I can eat alot of these. Yum! Thanks, dojemi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      These were so good. I've been trying to find a recipe close to the fast food hash browns. These are better though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Husband was the chef on this one and they turned out perfect. Great taste, crunchy and had plenty of leftovers. Yummm-o.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Wonderful! They came out perfect. Have tried several recipe's and none came out perfect, even the first one! Thanks so much. I went thru your recipe's and made a meal from several of them! Thanks so much for a "perfect" Latke recipe! Served with Sour cream and Applesauce. Yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Excellent! And easy to make too! I'm going to freeze some to use at a later date. Hope it works...Thanks for posting...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      These were delicious! I used 5 large potatoes and one medium large onion, 2 eggs, 1 tsp baking powder and kosher salt and pepper and the proportions worked. I needed about 4 tbsp of flour to achieve the right consistency. I omitted the sugar and used canola oil for the frying. After the oil got hot, it was approximately 2 minutes per side for beautiful, golden brown latkes. My husband, two daughters and myself scarfed these down! This recipe is a keeper -- thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Absolutely Fabulous!!! - brought back childhood memories. My family enjoyed it too - thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I really liked these latkes! My only beef with this recipe (and many more) is listing potatoes and such by number, not by weight. In this day and age of HUMONGOUS produce and mutant fruits, I really appreciate those recipes that list things by weight. I used 2 potatoes and 1 small onion and cut the recipe in half. Big hit with the family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Crisco for Hanukkah latkes? Oi, vey. What's called for is oil! During Hanukkah, the festival of light, we celebrate that a small amount of oil which under normal circumstances would have lasted only one day, lasted eight days instead. Exactly the amount of time needed to press new oil, to bring light to the rededicated temple. I wouldn't have made this remark if I hadn't seen the hanukkiyah at the top of the recipe. After all, what we do here is share our favorite ingredients for favorite recipes. For my own favorite latkes I use only egg whites, and I omit the pepper, the sugar and even the flour. I heat the oil carefully, in order not to let it get to the smoking point. That ensures the latkes will be golden brown and crisp on the outside and done on the inside.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I've never referred to a recipe before when making latkes; I just did it the way I'd seen my mother make them for years. Last night my husband and sons wanted to make latkes and asked me for a recipe. I remembered this one and gave it to them to use. Ok, I admit, I forgot to mention the pinch of sugar and the flour, and I told them to use less baking powder than it calls for (oops), but the results were magnificent nonetheless, and would doubtlessly have been better had I remembered those details. I'd never put baking powder in latkes, and see how it adds a lot. Not only that, I'd never had latkes at my house that I didn't have to make or clean up! (Now THAT's a trick!) Thanks, Dojemi, for a great Chanukah (and year long) treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Very yummy stuff. This is the first hanukkah for my kids (they are adopted) and their first taste of potato latkes. They loved them. My mom usually grates and I think I will next time but everyone loved these. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Just plain good eats!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Wonderful recipe! I will definitely be making these for Hanukkah!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      great and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      The best latkes ever! Love the touch of sugar. subtle sweetness made them special. I fry in organic palm oil. so delicious! Thank you!! Tonight's Hanukkah celebration is extra special. Daddy even made a dreidel from wood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.3
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    48%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 107.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites