196 Reviews

Very good!! I took the advice of some others and only used about 1/2 cup of chicken broth and after the potatoes were almost cooked, I took the cover off and let the rest of the broth cook off before I added the cheese. Thanks Mizz

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alliecat461 May 13, 2013

Made this today and wow, it was great. I used italian turkey sausage and added some jalapeno pepper since we like "hot" food. I will be making this again soon. Many thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biodeb April 26, 2013

Definately a yummy recipe. I do wish there was a more specific measurement on the potatoes, as they can really vary in size. I used 3 large russets and that seemed like plenty to me. Also when it was finished there was still a lot of water in the bottom of the skillet which I drained off. Next time I will use less. I left the skins on the potatoes, subbed in a Mediterranean Herb Chedder that we had and served with fried eggs and toast for a breakfasty type supper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 March 26, 2013

This was great! I was surprised that there was broth remaining, but it was so delicious! Very easy to make and a wonderful one-dish meal for a cold winter night. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas February 28, 2013

My household loved this meal!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shall1701 January 23, 2013

I have three small (and picky!) children and this recipe won over the whole family :) It is so simple and easy to make. The only thing I substituted was American cheese for medium shredded cheddar. It turned out great. This is definitely being added to my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
inmindseye December 16, 2012

This is a recipe I come back to over and over. I had no idea what kielbasa was! It's a great new way to use potatoes! We love it. I've now started doing it in the crock pot. And add a handful of fresh green beans to the bottom. Fabulous

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thinkfirst October 28, 2012

Absolutely wonderful combination of flavors! I did alter recipe somewhat - omitted green peppers (they don't like our tummies)and cut back on the cheese (used all I had in fridge). My potatoes created enough water I didn't need to add any but this was just wonderful. I served with steamed carrots, corn bread and blackberry cobbler for dessert. Thanks for posting - we'll be making this again and again!!

1/5/08 I have made this several times since my original edit. This last time I did make with the green peppers - they add incredible flavor (even if we do suffer a little after)! I added 1 cup pale wheat beer and OMG! This has quickly become an often requested supper dish that I am more than glad to make upon request. Thank you again for an awesome recipe!!

1/17/2012 - Made this again for MizzNess Cook Bake-a-thon. This is now a standard in our house and DH almost has recipe memorized. love, Love, LOVE this awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ October 17, 2012

My kids and I loved this recipe. We took some other reviewers suggestions and we use 2 cups of chicken broth instead of the water and we use mild cheddar cheese. Thank you for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristyn6 August 02, 2012

I really hate giving bad reviews but this meal was not liked very much by myself or my family. I made it expecting what was in the picture and wound up with some kind of soupy mush of half-boiled/half-mashed potatoes, kielbasa and chopped vegetables. I followed the instructions up until I realized that the water was not going to evaporate. After that, I removed the lid and let it cook for the rest of the time (9 minutes), stirring occasionally to cook all of the potatoes. I wound up ladling out some of the soupy stuff so it would evaporate and I ended up with potatoes that turned (almost) to mush. We also found it pretty bland and we all doused it with ketchup to eat it. I really wish I would have taken a picture of the look that was exchanged between my son and husband when I sat the plates in front of them. The first thing out of my husband's mouth was, "That doesn't look like the picture on the recipe card." And he is completely right. Many people try a recipe based on the picture. I really wish the picture that is posted as the main photo would be taken to illustrate a recipe that isn't altered so much that it winds up looking nothing like the way it is supposed to turn out. Overall, the picture difference was bad but I would have had the same review of this recipe if the picture would have matched whatever I wound up with. I will definitely NOT be making this again. I will also post a picture of what mine looked like since I've seen quite a few reviews describing something similar to what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness June 26, 2012
Potato Kielbasa Skillet