191 Reviews

I made it according to the directions..yum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frosty1 June 07, 2003

This was go easy and good. I used smoked sausage, italian seasoning and velvetta cheese because that's what I had on hand. After reading the other comments I used 1/3 cup of water. The only reason I think is the sauce it makes. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 June 01, 2003

A nice and easy weekday supper. Very Tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice In Wa May 16, 2003

It was okay. The kielbasa was extremely salty and did not need that extra added salt. I think the american cheese threw it off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Christine May 08, 2003

I needed a quick recipe after work and this was perfect! I added a few extra spices and thickened up the liquid( I used a chicken bullion) and served it with bread to soak up the sauce. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystalcave_13077958 August 19, 2015

My family wasn't crazy about all the water left in the pot. I tried draining some of it off. Next time I may cook the potatoes in the water first until almost done. Drain the water off. Then brown everything up in the oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom July 06, 2015

Delicious! Added a bit of garlic, because we LOVE garlic lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 28, 2015

This was delicious!! I couldn't find shredded American, so used six individual slices on top. MizzNezz, thank you for another fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose June 18, 2014

I'm only giving 3 stars for this because although it was tasty, it wasn't an overwhelming hit, AND the recipe directions are not very good. For one thing, the time to make - 28 minutes is a complete fallacy. The recipe says to add all the ingredients and brown the potatoes - it doesn't give any clue of how long it will take, but I can tell you that I sautéed the potatoes for over 10 minutes, and they still were not brown. At this point, I was up to 15-20 minutes of prep (all the chopping) and cook time. I added the other ingredients (I used chicken stock as some other reviewers suggested, unfortunately, I did not read the review that said the recipe had too much liquid, and I added a hole can - 14oz - of stock). It then took another 5 minutes to bring to a boil. I set the timer for 5 minutes so I could uncover and stir. When I checked after 5 minutes, now down to low, it didn't seem like the potatoes would cook. After 10 minutes, turned the heat back up. When the 20 minutes were done, the potatoes had finally softened (I used red bliss), but, there was a lot of liquid left so I left the lid off and let it simmer another 10 minutes. If you are keeping track, we are up to 55 minutes. I finally added the cheese, and that seemed to make the liquid into more of a sauce, and the result was pretty good - very tasty, it reminded me of sausage and peppers that I make, and I ended up sopping up some of the gravy with bread - so very carb heavy meal. I wish I could figure out a good vegetable to have with it (besides a salad).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three May 30, 2014

This is a quick, easy, and delicious meal all in one skillet! It smells divine while it is cooking. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I used chicken stock, about ½ cup, in place of the water. Also, I think next time I will brown the potatoes all by themselves before adding the rest of the other ingredients. Thanks for posting this recipe. It was delish. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* March 21, 2014
Potato Kielbasa Skillet