Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Kielbasa Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Kielbasa Skillet

    Average Rating:

    188 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 188

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2003

      I made it according to the directions..yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      This was go easy and good. I used smoked sausage, italian seasoning and velvetta cheese because that's what I had on hand. After reading the other comments I used 1/3 cup of water. The only reason I think is the sauce it makes. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      A nice and easy weekday supper. Very Tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      It was okay. The kielbasa was extremely salty and did not need that extra added salt. I think the american cheese threw it off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      This was delicious!! I couldn't find shredded American, so used six individual slices on top. MizzNezz, thank you for another fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      I'm only giving 3 stars for this because although it was tasty, it wasn't an overwhelming hit, AND the recipe directions are not very good. For one thing, the time to make - 28 minutes is a complete fallacy. The recipe says to add all the ingredients and brown the potatoes - it doesn't give any clue of how long it will take, but I can tell you that I sautéed the potatoes for over 10 minutes, and they still were not brown. At this point, I was up to 15-20 minutes of prep (all the chopping) and cook time. I added the other ingredients (I used chicken stock as some other reviewers suggested, unfortunately, I did not read the review that said the recipe had too much liquid, and I added a hole can - 14oz - of stock). It then took another 5 minutes to bring to a boil. I set the timer for 5 minutes so I could uncover and stir. When I checked after 5 minutes, now down to low, it didn't seem like the potatoes would cook. After 10 minutes, turned the heat back up. When the 20 minutes were done, the potatoes had finally softened (I used red bliss), but, there was a lot of liquid left so I left the lid off and let it simmer another 10 minutes. If you are keeping track, we are up to 55 minutes. I finally added the cheese, and that seemed to make the liquid into more of a sauce, and the result was pretty good - very tasty, it reminded me of sausage and peppers that I make, and I ended up sopping up some of the gravy with bread - so very carb heavy meal. I wish I could figure out a good vegetable to have with it (besides a salad).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      This is a quick, easy, and delicious meal all in one skillet! It smells divine while it is cooking. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I used chicken stock, about ½ cup, in place of the water. Also, I think next time I will brown the potatoes all by themselves before adding the rest of the other ingredients. Thanks for posting this recipe. It was delish. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Personally, I don't think this had much flavor. It wasn't quite as tasty as I thought it would be. After reading some of the reviews, I sautéed the peppers and onions in a little olive oil before adding the potatoes and kielbasa. I only added three potatoes. I added a cup of water and only boiled it for about 10 minutes and then the potatoes seemed super soft, so I pulled it off the burner. I used shredded Swiss cheese instead of American. It was a filling dish, but I was a little disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I cook sausage just with potatoes and peas but?.this is wonderful! I would listen to others and use AS MUCH liquid. I would use 1/2 cup of chicken broth, less of the italian herbs, and frozen hash browns next time I try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This was soooo good!! I had two cups of left over chicken broth in the fridge, so used this instead of water. Took the lid off the pot for the last 5-6 minutes to thicken up the sauce. Thanks for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Whole family loved it including MIL. Next time I will double the meat just a personal preference. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      This was a perfectly nice, easy, tasty meal that came together in the amount of time promised. Looking for gourmet? Keep looking, but if you want a stick to your ribs tasty, fast meal this checks all of the boxes. I read the reviews and reduced the liquid - I used used chicken stock. As a cheese lover I didn't really understand the comments about leaving out the cheese but frankly it would taste just fine without. Definitely a keeper recipe for rushed evenings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Really, really enjoyed this. Can't truly rate it because I decided to make it in the oven. Potatoes in first, then everything else after 20mins. I loved the texture and flavor of roasting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      What a flavorful and tasty traditional recipe. Loved cooking a recipe from my polish heritage. It was a big hit with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Made this dinner tonight for my family of 5! Followed the recipe with a few minor adjustments due to taste and it was a big hit! Great recipe, easy to follow and easy to make which just makes the whole meal even better! Thanks, MizzNezz, for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      Great recipe and easy to do. My partner loved it as well. I think I will do what some of the other reviews suggested and experiment with different cheeses next time. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      Very good!! I took the advice of some others and only used about 1/2 cup of chicken broth and after the potatoes were almost cooked, I took the cover off and let the rest of the broth cook off before I added the cheese. Thanks Mizz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      Made this today and wow, it was great. I used italian turkey sausage and added some jalapeno pepper since we like "hot" food. I will be making this again soon. Many thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Definately a yummy recipe. I do wish there was a more specific measurement on the potatoes, as they can really vary in size. I used 3 large russets and that seemed like plenty to me. Also when it was finished there was still a lot of water in the bottom of the skillet which I drained off. Next time I will use less. I left the skins on the potatoes, subbed in a Mediterranean Herb Chedder that we had and served with fried eggs and toast for a breakfasty type supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This was great! I was surprised that there was broth remaining, but it was so delicious! Very easy to make and a wonderful one-dish meal for a cold winter night. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Kielbasa Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (748 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 789.3
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    43%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 74.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1347.5 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 11.5 g
    46%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 23.9 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes