188 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is total comfort food! This was a major hit with my husband, the cheese melted on top made it very good! Thanks!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JerriLea August 30, 2002

I used real stuffed polish sausage that I got at my grocery store (not Kielbassa), and this recipe just didn't work for me. Perhaps if the sausage was removed from the casing it would have been better, but I felt like I was chewing elastic bands. Was it supposed to be a stew? Maybe it should be finished in the oven, uncovered, to let the broth reduce? I love cheese of all kinds, but this was an indignity to cheddar! It curdled when left to simmer. I used slightly less water, fresh basil, a bit of beef boullion and red pepper flakes, but nothing could help this loser. Now I have to send my husband to work with it, since I didn't have a back-up plan :( Sorry for the bad review.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynsav October 10, 2002

We LOVED this! Thank you so much for letting us in on this one! DH usually hates new recipes but he really enjoyed this and wants it alot more often. Needless to say-no left overs!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeniferbz April 03, 2003

This was wonderful. I used green and red pepper and co-jack cheese and I didn't use any water at all. It was easy to make and that is always a bonus. This is a keeper, as my husband says. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shermm April 01, 2003

This was very yumpy. It was a nice quick supper for a busy weeknight. I used a smoked sausage, a yellow pepper (the kids won't eat green ones!) and a sharp cheddar cheese for the top. It was very good. Thanks for sharing this one!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sandra February 19, 2003

Great taste. I did reduce the amount of water and I also topped it with Shredded sharp cheddar. Excellent taste. Another hit at my house.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacki W. January 04, 2003

I made this but maybe I did something wrong because I couldnt understand the water after you browned everything in a pan, it just drowned everything and was very watery, I followed the directions exactly. After I drained it it was good but I just didnt understand what the water was for. It was still good though. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellbell5872 September 20, 2002

This was good. I think the American Cheese wasn't needed, it threw the whole thing off, as someone else said. I will try it again, without the cheese. It was a little too soupy for us. Good recipe, just needs "tuned" for our taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB502 May 18, 2003

An amazing recipe!! It's hard to find new options for Kielbasa--we used the turkey variety. I used about 2 cups diced potatoes--the recipe calls for a lot more but that seemed like too much for my husband's tastes. I also skipped the green pepper (he doesn't like them) & added some garlic powder into the seasoning mix. I used a low fat Mexican cheese, and my potatoes were cooked in about 15 min--probably since I reduced the amount. I sure liked the one skillet convenience & my husband ate it right up. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS May 21, 2014

Love this meal!! I changed a few things, i used beef stock instead of chicken, 6 slices of bacon (i had alot of potato and kielbasa) and when it was just about done i added 2 tbs of bbq sauce stirred it in and then added the cheese. It was awesome!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizziek09 May 11, 2011
Potato Kielbasa Skillet