10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good! Left out the parsley. I did add a little chicken bullion and red pepper. I will try it with sausage next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel January 24, 2013

This is a keeper! Very easy to do and fairly quick. I used 3 slices bacon and a handful of tiny diced ham, added 2 big cloves of garlic to the onions, and had to use a bit more water than called for to cook the potatoes. I also used a LOT of pepper! I think I may try broccoli next time in place of the green beans. This didn't make enough to serve 6 in my opinion. We got 2 bowls, and leftovers for ~ 1 and a half bowls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug January 06, 2010

WOW! This soup is amazing! It's creamy but also flavorful, which is something a lot of creamy potato soups lack. Also, if you use fat free sour cream, skim milk and turkey bacon, it's also a very filling but reduced-calorie dinner! (this is what we did...it turned out great!) Sprinkle with a little low-fat mozzarella cheese, and you have a soup that makes for a great-tasting meal all by itself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheddurmonkee October 27, 2009

OMG! If I could make those letters any bigger I would! This soup is WONDERFUL. I substituted the green beans with frozen corn and had to use parsley flakes for the fresh. But it still came out great. On this first night of super cold temps this hit the spot. Six thumbs up here Ms_Bold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Petisa November 20, 2008

Really great soup! I used sausage in place of bacon (had some in the fridge to use up). Next time I will use canned green beans instead of frozen, we just like them alot better. Will definately make again, thank-you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama January 31, 2008

SCRUMPTIOUS!!!! I wanted to cook a big batch of soup for the next couple of days and came across this one. Looked easy and tasty, so I gave it a go. I didn't have a cream of chicken so I used a cream of broccoli with cheese soup and followed the rest of the directions as written. WOW!!! This soup came out creamy, delicious, and soooo comforting. I also mashed the potatoes after they were cooked, but left them a little bit chunky. I ended up eating a bowl of it and that was after I already had my dinner...LOL... Thank you Ms_Bold for a fantastic recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Asha* January 04, 2006

This was absolutely delicious. I cheated and bought some pre-cooked diced potatoes (like they sell refrigerated with hashbrowns...don't remember the name of them. I think it's "Simply Potatoes."I put it in the crockpot and added a can of clams, some baby shrimp and some crab for a seafood chowder. My-Oh-My..it is delicious! Ivars..eat your heart out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie December 10, 2004

This was so good. I made a double batch of it because I have so many potatoes that need to be used up. I used some frozen broccoli floweretts and some frozen white corn. DH usually moans when I make soup for dinner, but he really enjoyed this....it had such a great flavor. I brought some down to my neighbors, so they'll be happy too!! Thanks Ms_Bold

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat November 30, 2004

We all thought this was terrific, very tasty! I used sweetcorn in place of the green beans. (I hope you don't mind, ms_bold!) After the potatoes were cooked, I mashed them slightly, to thicken up the soup. It was a huge hit, and I'll definitely be making this delicious soup again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit November 27, 2004

This is FABULOUS. I even made a boo boo when I made it , with too much liquid , but it was FINE. Just a bit thinner was all. I'll know for next time!! :) The flavors blend so well together ... QUICK to put together ... easy ... definitely stays in my recipes , especially looking forward to it this winter!! (or when it gets a tad cooler) ;) Thanks for a GREAT recipe sbsbea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. July 17, 2004
Potato, Green Bean and Bacon Chowder