Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Cups in Muffin Tins( Irish ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Cups in Muffin Tins( Irish )

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      The flavors of the potato and cucumber recipes were very good separately, but I didn't get the combination even after tasting it. I do like the versatility of the potato recipe... lots of options. Make sure you REALLY grease the pans though... mine still stuck and ruined the overall effect. I'll make this recipe again, but separately. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      i thought these were going to be awesome! But alas, they were not a hit in my house. I admit even i didnt like them. The taste was... well, bland. I gave three stars because i think that they can be improved upon... maybe add some Ranch dressing to the mix, omit the nutmeg and parmesan cheese, and use some shredded cheddar or monterey jack instead... Naxt time i make them ill deff be making these changes... ANOTHER thing i noted was the similarity to a jewish or passover recipe called Kugel... kugel involves eggs, and WAY MORE onions... maybe another hint...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Yummy recipe, I was at work when Hubby (DH) gave it to Little Miss (DD) for dinner and apparently she ate two, including her other dinner (meat and veggies, which is a lot for a three year old). Hubby served them with a Lamb Crockpot and vegetables but I took the potato cups to work as listed on the recipe (with the cucumbers). The only thing I changes was I used red onion and grounded nutmeg not freshly grated. Very versatile recipe that could be eaten as a snack, entree or a side vegetable for a meat dish. You could even take it on a picnic and eat them cold. Thank you kiwidutch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I gave five stars based on the muffin tin idea. I didn't make the cucumber part and I used jalapenos, onion, red bell, garlic granules, salt and pepper instead of nutmeg, ect. They came out very crispy and tasty. Thanks Kiwidutch for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      Personally I didn't think "bland" was the trouble with mine. I did add green peppers to my portion.I also replaced the parmesan in MY half with nutritional yeast (to make them vegan) Left Fiance's portion to recipe. I think you could spice these any way you'd like to. My problem was that they were rather soft and gooey in the center. I was expecting a crispy potato cake. Which it was on the outside. I would suggest squeezing as much moisture out of your potatoes as you can! They may have been the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Huge hit in this home. I omitted the nutmeg and added sprinkle of garlic powder, about 1/3 Cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese, also used Good Reggiano Parmesan cheese. Packed with flavor. Don't think I'll ever use a fry pan again for hash browns. Thanks for sharing. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Making these in a muffin tin is such a clever serving idea. Perfectly portioned and look absolutely beautiful. Sort of an elegant hashbrown. I used ground nutmeg since that is what I had on hand and it really gave a nice flavor to the potatoes. Never would have thought to put cucumbers and potatoes together, but the flavors made a nice contrast. Thanks for sharing, kiwi! Made for World Tour, '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      We enjoyed this recipe, however they didn't cook right through in my oven. I will try them again with a higher heat or a longer cook time. Mine did not stick to the pan like other reviewers, but that may be because they didn't cook through. I left off the cucumber element because I did not have any on hand. This was an easy recipe that may look impressive when done correctly. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      I did not make the cucumbers. But I used a half bag of frozen hasbrowns. added the seasonings and cheese. pressed into the muffin tins and baked.
      but it seems i didnt add enough seasoning because as others state it is bland.I think that maybe adding more seasoning and after pressing in the tin add a pat of butter on top to cook down into the potato. also after I popped out the cups I placed some fresh mozzarella (buffalo mozzarella) on top (which is now the bottom of the cup) and broiled it until the cheese got soft. this was a nice add on, I did it because I needed to use it up.
      I like the idea of cooking hashbrowns this way, you could add ham, cheddar, season salt etc for breakfasts and would be way easier to cook for a crowd that way each person could get what they wanted in their hashbrowns

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This review is only for the potato cups. I made these for breakfast this morning as a side with eggs and turkey sausage. They were delicious. The flavors blended together nicely, and DH raved about them and wants them again soon. I used frozen potatoes and let them sit/thaw for the amount of time it took to dice the onion and shred the Parmesan. I used fresh Parmesan but didn't have fresh nutmeg - I just used the Tone's Spice. I also didn't use butter but sprayed the muffin tins with butter flavored Pam. Last - I sprayed the muffin tops with the Pam and seasoned with a little more salt/pepper. Crunchy and Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I have made the potato portion of this recipe twice now (still haven't made the cucumber part). The first time I made an effort to stick to the original recipe but wasn't able to because I realized I was out of nutmeg and my parmesan was expired :( I used sharp cheddar instead and they were delicious!!! Tonight I made them again, but used a Three Cheese mix as well as parmesan and they were not quite as good. I definitely prefer the sharp cheddar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      I loved these! They were crispy (I did heavily butter my tins), you can use any kind of cheese - I used crumbled bleu the second time I made them. I used white pepper, but you could add any seasoning you like. I will definitely make these on a regular basis, easy and wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Not a very good recipe. Not awful, we ate it... but not great either. I made it this morning and found it to be extremely bland. I also heeded previous review's advice and made sure to slather on the butter in the cups before putting the potato mixture in, and it STILL stuck to it!! Not very impressive :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      I'm with the other reviewer that found them bland ... my kids ate them but didn't rave. They were easy enough to make and turned out cute, but I'd definitely spice them up if I made them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Simple and Delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Cups in Muffin Tins( Irish )

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.6
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    16%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 54.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites