25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe for crab chowder. I followed the recipe with only a few changes. I added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper along with the black pepper. I also added about 1/4 cup of sherry at the end of cooking time. We loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
downeastcook December 03, 2012

Very good base with many options. First time I added lump crab. Today went straight vegetarian and sauteed tiny diced zucchini, carrots, sweet red pepper along with the listed veggies (onion, garlic, potato); very colorful and nutritious. Both times I also added additional sweet frozen corn for a little crunch and sweetness. Loved the nutmeg. Both times I made this chowder I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and also added 1-2 TBSP of sherry at the very end. Very nice combination of flavors and textures. As stated a above, a good base with limitless combinations of broths/stocks, dairy/soy, seafoods, shredded chicken, etc.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lispalz_2562718 January 15, 2011

10/18/10 Update. I have to rave again about this recipe. I took the extra time to fry up some bacon and carmelize the onions in the renderings and still added the Old Bay and used the Cajun Seasoning in liu of the cayenne pepper. There were 5 people at the table but I expanded the recipe to feed 9. I'm glad I did since nearly everyone had seconds. Even my super picky kid likes this!! ****************** 12/22/08: Absolutely fabulous! This is so easy to make and oh so satisfying. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay and used Cajun seasoning blend in place of the cayenne. My nine year old son loved it. Next time I will try adding some bacon like some of the other reviewers have done. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks ever so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle October 20, 2010

I made this last nite and it was pretty good. I will make it again, but am thinking it needs something else. For one thing, there was no salt in the recepie and I did add that...I think next time Im going to add some shrimp and maybe more spices as I thought it was somewhat bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olivers' Twist February 12, 2009

Tasty, low fat, fast & easy! I added 1tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning and 1 tsp. of Cajun Seasoning with a 14 oz. can of crab. We all like the extra spice. This recipe would satisfy DH & DS without any side dishes, but I offered saltines & a salad on the side just in case. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nannykins April 07, 2007

Awesome chowder! I used both canned and imitation crab. The second added a lot of flavor. I added Old Bay Seasoning as well. Truly yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy W. November 16, 2014

I like the nutmeg better than I expected. I did make a few changes. Added cayenne and used fresh crab meat (that I caught the day before). I also couldn't see making this without celery, so I added celery. One tip, cook this chowder a day in advance and let it set in the fridge overnight. Like most soups, stews and chowders, it's much better on day two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charles S. March 30, 2014

FABULOUS!

I could not afford any of the ingredients, so I just used what I had in my kitchen and that is the creamed corn. I warmed it up on medium heat for a few minutes and pretended that I was eating the Potato-Crab Chowder. UNBELIEVABLE! Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willy-Mai April 04, 2011

I enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made was using frozen corn instead of creamed and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. I also added about 1/4 cup chopped shrimp since I had some in the fridge and a splash of half and half at the end. A bit of salt as well. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leasa2 January 02, 2011

This was pretty good. I could tell that my husband loved it. Mine was spicy. I think I added more cayenne and ground pepper than was necessary. Also, I used pepper from a grinder instead of already ground. I also used frozen corn instead of creamed, added more flour/cornstarch, and didn't have the nutmeg, so I didn't use it. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv_cats December 16, 2010
Potato-Crab Chowder