Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato-Crab Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato-Crab Chowder

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2012

      This is an excellent recipe for crab chowder. I followed the recipe with only a few changes. I added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper along with the black pepper. I also added about 1/4 cup of sherry at the end of cooking time. We loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Very good base with many options. First time I added lump crab. Today went straight vegetarian and sauteed tiny diced zucchini, carrots, sweet red pepper along with the listed veggies (onion, garlic, potato); very colorful and nutritious. Both times I also added additional sweet frozen corn for a little crunch and sweetness. Loved the nutmeg. Both times I made this chowder I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and also added 1-2 TBSP of sherry at the very end. Very nice combination of flavors and textures. As stated a above, a good base with limitless combinations of broths/stocks, dairy/soy, seafoods, shredded chicken, etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      10/18/10 Update. I have to rave again about this recipe. I took the extra time to fry up some bacon and carmelize the onions in the renderings and still added the Old Bay and used the Cajun Seasoning in liu of the cayenne pepper. There were 5 people at the table but I expanded the recipe to feed 9. I'm glad I did since nearly everyone had seconds. Even my super picky kid likes this!! ****************** 12/22/08: Absolutely fabulous! This is so easy to make and oh so satisfying. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay and used Cajun seasoning blend in place of the cayenne. My nine year old son loved it. Next time I will try adding some bacon like some of the other reviewers have done. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks ever so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I made this last nite and it was pretty good. I will make it again, but am thinking it needs something else. For one thing, there was no salt in the recepie and I did add that...I think next time Im going to add some shrimp and maybe more spices as I thought it was somewhat bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Tasty, low fat, fast & easy! I added 1tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning and 1 tsp. of Cajun Seasoning with a 14 oz. can of crab. We all like the extra spice. This recipe would satisfy DH & DS without any side dishes, but I offered saltines & a salad on the side just in case. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      Awesome chowder! I used both canned and imitation crab. The second added a lot of flavor. I added Old Bay Seasoning as well. Truly yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      I like the nutmeg better than I expected. I did make a few changes. Added cayenne and used fresh crab meat (that I caught the day before). I also couldn't see making this without celery, so I added celery. One tip, cook this chowder a day in advance and let it set in the fridge overnight. Like most soups, stews and chowders, it's much better on day two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      FABULOUS!

      I could not afford any of the ingredients, so I just used what I had in my kitchen and that is the creamed corn. I warmed it up on medium heat for a few minutes and pretended that I was eating the Potato-Crab Chowder. UNBELIEVABLE! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made was using frozen corn instead of creamed and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. I also added about 1/4 cup chopped shrimp since I had some in the fridge and a splash of half and half at the end. A bit of salt as well. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This was pretty good. I could tell that my husband loved it. Mine was spicy. I think I added more cayenne and ground pepper than was necessary. Also, I used pepper from a grinder instead of already ground. I also used frozen corn instead of creamed, added more flour/cornstarch, and didn't have the nutmeg, so I didn't use it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      We made this last night and really enjoyed it. I just used canned crab meat and honestly, it didn't really seem to add much flavor to the soup. But really, this can easily just be a chunky potato soup and would be nice and tasty. I added about 1/2 a cup of thinly sliced carrots and 1/2 a cup of peas which added some nice color, texture and flavor to things. In addition to the listed seasonings, I used 5 Pepper Seasoning and a few dashes of Italian Seasoning to add some flavor. Also used 12 oz. of crab and 4 c. of potatoes and added about 1/2 of a cup both broth and milk to compensate for the added volume. Came out with a nice thickness and is a stick-to-your-ribs kinda meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I used half cream and half 1% milk, added another 1/2c cream at the end. Was without nutmeg. Added nearly a whole pkg of bacon and two 6 oz cans of crab. I will come back to rate this after I make it again using all the posted ingredients. Really yummy, I need to add the nutmeg and see what that does to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Really great recipe!! Although I did not have creamed corn..i added extra broth. It thickened up really nice!! Thank-You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      My favorite chowder ever. I may try it with other sea food in future. I wasn't sure about the amounts of garlic and nutmeg, but they blend in really well. I added a couple of dashes of cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I might be slightly biased because I love crab in any and everything, but this was fantastic. I use cream instead of regular milk for a creamier chowder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      really good,I did make adjustments to my needs I used soymilk,and left out cayenne,I added 1 box container of chicken broth which I think was 32 oz? I also chopped the potatoes and onions to a mush in a food chopper so it was easier on my digestion and I served over jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Fantastic! I used a little bit of cream since I like a thicker chowder. This was perfect though! A seafood party favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Delish! Part of my New Years resolution.... rate recipes I've tried. Substituted Old Bay for cayenne. Will make again. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Along with the onions we added in a square of salt pork, and fried them up till they were crisp. We loved this soup, and we will definately have it again when we get the craving for something to warm the tummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      DH and I enjoyed this. However I used it only as a base for a potato/seafood chowder. I made as is, except that I added about 1/4lb bacon, which I diced and fryed, tossed with 8oz crab the recipe called for and added about 1 cup pre cooked shirmp. Fryed them all together for a moment and put that all into the chowder. I also used a small can of creamed corn, as I'm not a huge fan of it. I think it needs salt for sure, I also increase the nutmeg and cayenne and added a bit of a chilli/garlic sauce. Good soup, I'll use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato-Crab Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.2
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    26%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 50.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 446.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes