18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Way too much pepper. I did like the carrots and celery in it. I think I mashed mine a little too much, but it came out tasty . . . except for the pepper. Thanks Loveit! Made for Help a Naked Recipe game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 September 16, 2012

Yum! I must have had really big potatoes, because I needed to use 3 cups of broth to cover them and cook. To compensate, I reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. I didn't have celery so I diced two carrots, and I also had to add more salt. Oh, I used pepper jack cheese because we like a kick...that was great. I think next time, I will use more onion, and maybe throw in some peas. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook January 20, 2011

Made this potato soup today and it turned out great! The only thing I changed was that I used a chedder cheese instead of swiss and used chicken broth instead of the vegtable broth. This recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
back2charris January 25, 2010

This was a delicious and easy soup. We added some broccoli also. 4 stars only because the 1 tsp of pepper was too much...I didn't notice that other reviewers had mentioned this until too late. Next time I'd cut in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply December 18, 2009

This is some of the best potato soup I have ever had! Sooo good. I only made a couple of minor modifications. Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth, and I cut the pepper amount in half. I also added a little extra cheese to make it extra cheesy. This is such an easy recipe to make and it turned out perfectly. This will definately be a regular in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethsMom December 08, 2009

I made this for my office, and it was a big hit! I doubled the recipe, and used red pepper instead of black just because I prefer the flavor. I also added the pepper and parsley to the boiling potatoes to get the flavor in the potatoes. I also added a can of rinsed canned corn. I made it all the way to the thickening part, and after it was thickened, put it in a crockpot and refrigerated it until the next day. When I got the pot to work, I added the swiss cheese, put it on low to heat up, and it was delicious! (Got a little thick, more like chowder, but I like it that way. Served it with a cabbage salad for a vegetarian feast! Crusty bread would have been good with it, too.......next time......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily March 27, 2009

I changed the recipe based on the stuff in our kitchen. I didn't have any celery.(although i think it needs it) I used kitchen stock instead of vegetable. And I didn't use the dried parsley. It was wonderful! I added about a 1 1/2 cups of diced ham because it was left over from Christmas dinner. I would deffinately make it again. Great lunch on a cold day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Alex<3 December 28, 2008

Yum!! Yum!! This was so perfect on a rainy cold night like tonight! I also used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and used mild cheddar cheese insteda of the swiss cheese. This was great!! Thank you so much!! I will be making this often this winter!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle-Mommy of 3 December 17, 2008

This was so easy, and a great recipe. I'm not usually a leftover person, but a great soup like this actually tastes better the second day than the first night. I did use only 1/2 t. pepper, and used cheddar cheese, and it was so yummy. Also, I used chicken broth (like almost everyone else).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
990834 October 15, 2008

My family and I really loved this soup. I used chicken stock in place of the vegetable broth. So easy to make, great for a quick supper with a nice salad...thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoJoStar September 04, 2008
Potato Cheese Soup