32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for Thanks Giving, and everyone loved it. Even the "I only eat meat" guy kept saying "mmmm" every bite. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisambaker December 01, 2008

All time favorite recipe. Just a few changes for my taste. I added diced ham (about 1 1/2 cups), topped the dish with Cheezits ( not corn flakes on hand ) and skipped the extra 1/4 cup of butter. Not adding that extra butter doesn't hurt the dish at all and makes it less oily.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shan19 November 30, 2008

We really enjoyed this dish! I used shredded raw potatoes instead of frozen hashbrown potatoes. It worked great! I also added some real bacon bits, which gave the dish a real good flavor. With the holidays approaching, I'm sure I'll be making this again. Thanks for the post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louginger November 05, 2008

Dang! Another GREAT recipe I forgot to review! This stuff is AWESOME! Really simple, made with pantry staples, I can throw this together in no time at all, and it's a really nice alternative to mashed potatoes. We love it with meatloaf. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 October 22, 2008

We make this at least once a week! Such an awesome recipe! The only thing I do differently is use cream of mushroom soup in place of the cream of chicken. We also half the recipe, as there is just the two of us. Thank you for such a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Italian Housewife January 20, 2008

I've been making these potatoes for years-the only thing I do different is use cream of celery soup as I don't like cream of chicken soup. The corn flakes make these potatoes. They are so yummy!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 December 26, 2007

This was awsome!! I have tried different versions of this type of casserole and found this one the BEST!! I used a mix of regular sour cream and top the tater sour cream. I used cubed hashbrowns with peppers & onions in it. I used slightly less butter & I'm glad I did because it looked a little greasy when cooking & but it still turned out great. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG October 18, 2007

Love this recipe. So easy!!! I don't like onions so i left those out, but used pepperjack cheese for some added flavor... it came out great. I was a little nervous the topping was going to burn, but at 45 minutes it was perfectly crispy. Used slightly more topping than suggested just because of personal preference. So tasty it was all gone quick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghallina September 19, 2007

This goes perfectly with a baked ham and baked beans. If we have leftover potato casserole I slice it to about 1/2" thick and fry the slices in butter to have with bacon and eggs for breakfast. You'll never want plain hashbrowns again!-HK

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen March 12, 2007

The taste was good... but not like super or anything special...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anya09 December 05, 2012
Potato Casserole With Corn Flakes