13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Gave this recipe 4 stars ONLY because my whole family of 7 thought it was too 'sour' tasting. So NEXT time I make it (and I WILL make it again, because even though they all said this they still LOVED it!) I will use half the amount of sour cream. The other change I made was that I used a shredded Mexican Blend of cheese instead of cheddar. I baked according to the recipe. Used frozen potatoes and put it in the preheated oven for 1.5 hrs and it came out nice and bubbly and brown around the edges. This one (as I've modified it) is definitely a keeper. Served it with fried pork chops, great northern beans and apple sauce. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen February 29, 2008

I make this recipe every Holiday I can. I put it in a disposable pan. I always double the recipe also. I have a big family and there never seems to be enough Potato's to go around so I double it. I do not use Regular Chips, I use Sun Chips Harvest Chedder. They are out of this world! They are crunchy and and taste compliments the Potato Casserole. Kim H.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enchantressa34 October 19, 2006

This recipe is excellent! The first time I tried it I baked it for 1 1/2 hours. Some of the potatoes were not done but my oven is over 20 years old. The 2nd time I baked it 2 hours and it was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy Firmand May 27, 2005

This was wonderful! We all loved it and it makes a perfect side dish and so easy on top of it! I had a little trouble with the cooking time. I would say you need to cook at least and hour and 1/2. I dethawed for about an hour and 1/2 as well (didn't specify) and a few potatos were still a little harder. Definitely good! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` February 10, 2005

This was wonderful. Very rich. I will diffinetly be making this again. I didn't have regular hash browns so I use Potato's O'Brian. (Hash brown with onions and green pepper). Thank Linda for such a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane from Ohio December 27, 2004

Just like mom's but a bit better. This was my favorite growing up and I was too embarassed to ask her for the recipe. Hubby adored it. It is way too much for just the two of us but the leftovers are even better. Left off the potato chips completely as I didn't feel they were necessary, but to each his own, right? :) Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Wiehl December 26, 2003

We loved, loved, loved this recipe. I did a couple of things different and that was to use cr.of celery soup instead of the mushroom soup and then I used about a 1/4 of an onion because I didn't have green onions on hand. We will make this again and again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa rose December 28, 2008

I dont know if mine came out the way it was supposed to but it came sooooo good! I only had two cream of mushroom so I didnt use chicken. I adde garlic powder and seasoned salt to taste. Cooked it for an hour. my children didnt like it,(I dont know why)but my husband and thought it was great. Oh yeah, I topped mine with my favorite spicy salsa. Served as side with pork chops and corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frostmichael March 11, 2005
Potato Casserole