Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Cakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2009

      I sooo love this recipe. It does take a long time at first,but I'm getting faster everytime I make it. :) I add more cheese & dill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was amazing! Next time I'm going to try it with a little more cheese and Panko breadcrumbs instead of plain breadcrumbs. I think that will make the cakes a little more authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      My boyfriend and I have been ordering these at the restaurant every time we go to eat, he can't get enough of them. I found this recipe and was excited to try it. It wasn't hard to follow, just a bit time consuming and like someone else said, I would probably make the potato mix in advance. Next time I would also double the amount of cheese, I think that will help it bind better, and I love cheese. I used a hamburger press to make the patties and that helped keep them together. As for the dip, it's not quite how the restaurant serves it, but it's decent. I'm still trying to figure out what it's missing, maybe ketchup? If you figure it out, please help. Overall, I will make this again for my boyfriend who ate 4 right after I fried them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      These were fantastic. I love the claim jumper cakes, but these are just as good. I didn't have any cilantro so I skipped it and I have to say, I had to boil my potatoes a bit longer than 25 minutes. I would say to boil them until fork tender. I made these on short notice today, but I would make them advance next time knowing I can just refridgerate most of the ingredients until it's time to fry them up. OH- I used regular vegetable oil to fry them up. YUMMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      From a devout 'claim jumper cheese potato cake fan'.... I was so very happy to have found this recipe. I loved it and guess what?... I will never have to visit another Claim Jumper in my life again... since the only reason I went was for the cheese potato cakes! Thanks for the recipe!!!! YYUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMM !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      wow! Do not understand the negative review. These taste just like the original. A big hit with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I made this recipe after reading a thread concerning it. I followed the directions exactly concerning the mashing of potatoes. I did not have the troubles mentioned in the review by Anke R. There is a difference in potatoes and the amount of water they absorb during cooking. Perhaps her potatoes were a bit over done. I imagine that adding an egg to the potato mixture if you think it is too crumbly would make it perfect. All in all this is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Well, this was a disappointment. I followed all the instructions (though since they already didn't hold together well then, I put them in the fridge before putting them into breading), but once I put the cakes in the eggmixture, most of them broke into bits, so putting them in breadcrumbs and the egg and the breadcrumbs again is far too much handling. So I dropped one step of breadcrumbs. Inspite of leaving them again in the fridge during the frying process, most of them dissolved again and soaked up a lot of fat. I drained them on a paper cloth and served the pancakes with the salsa (not very convincing taste either, I'd definetely leave out the vinegar- it makes it far too sour). I hoped that the taste would at least make up for all the pains I went through, but honestly I really didn't think it was worth it. Too fatty. Considering the time spent and result obtained, I'm really sorry, but I had better results with spending less time in the kitchen ( a less messy kitchen too). When I read the ingredients list, I really thought this might be sth really nice, but as I made this it just wasn't near to what it suggested. It also smelled good during the frying, but unfortunately the taste wasn't anywhere near the smell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1868 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.8
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    27%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 44.9 mg
    14%
    Sodium 826.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites