8 Reviews

This is a great bread if you make it for dinner time and finish it. Nice potato flavor, looks and texture but unfortunately the texture is fleeting to say the least. The next day I put a slice in the toaster and it came completely apart when I went to remove it leaving most of it in the toaster. I make bread a couple times a week and I've never had that one happen with toast.<br/>I'll try it again, but next time I'll add lecithin and use my dry WHOLE milk. Yes, you can buy dry whole milk and it's a common baking ingredient. I get mine on line and I assumed the dry milk listed here was the regular kind you get at the grocer.<br/>I always follow a recipe to the letter on the first try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya Gearhart September 10, 2014

I made this last night again. This time I added a tablespoon of honey; the husband said it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune November 23, 2011

I just sliced this and it is amazing! I made two loaves a bread a week, this will be my new white bread recipe. For the second rising in the loaf pans I only needed to rise mine for 15-20 min. I also only needed to bake mine for 25 min. Came out perfect. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z January 21, 2010

great tasting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fridaysgirl 11 November 29, 2008

I was pretty worried that this recipe was going to be a bust. After 30 minutes of baking, I checked the bread. The top was getting close to being burnt but the internal temp of the bread was only 120F. I decided to stick it out and leave it in for another 10 minutes and I am sure glad I did. The top did get a little darker than i would have liked but otherwise this loaf was GREAT! I veganized it by substituting powdered soy milk for the dry milk and, as one of the other reviewers mentioned, I didn't use nearly as much flour as you suggested. It was getting late after the first rise, so I put half in the fridge and half in the freezer. I am new to bread baking so I didn't know how this would effect the recipe but it seemed fine. Thanks so much for this recipe. Taste-wise, I think it might have been the best loaf I have made so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elsaturnino October 30, 2008

A keeper recipe and very delicious bread. I've made this twice now and haven't used near the amount of flour called for, but I just adjust as one must do when making bread! Thank you Aroostook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
motoe February 01, 2008

Absolutely delicious. Crusty outside and soft and velvety on the inside. Thank you so much for a delicious recipe. It deserves 10 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks November 24, 2005

It came out very well, soft and crumby. I used half bread flour and half plain flour. Got two big loaves (4x8 pans). Friends said it is very nice and soft. I used instant mash potatoes with butter and herbs and 11g of instant yeast. It's one of the most successful loaves I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption August 27, 2005
Potato Bread (using instant potato and dry milk)