Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2011

      This turned out excellent. I used just the dough cycle and let it rise and baked at 350 in reg pans . It makes 2 nice loaves. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      What a wonderful loaf, Kree! I used canola oil, 2% milk and also omitted the white pepper (since I didn't have any)! This was definitely a winner. The loaf was very light and tasted absolutely wonderful! I'll definitely be making this on a regular basis. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      I followed recipe exactly (except white pepper) and it did not turn out at all!! It didn't form the dough or anything

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Unfortunately I have made better bread than this. While it had nice texture, it was lacking in flavor for some reason. I will try a different recipe for potato bread next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      I'm a big fan of potato bread, and looking for an alternative to the store bought mixes my wife has been making, I stumbled upon this recipe, and tried our rosewill bread machine for the first time (all by myself).<br/><br/>My wife warned me about putting the ingredients into the machine in the correct order, which happens to be exactly the order listed in this recipe. So I buttered up the little stirrer in the bottom of the pan (I was told its easier to get out of the bread that way), threw those ingredients in (minus the white pepper), and set our bread machine to basic, crust color to light, and voilà! About 3 hours later I had a soft loaf of bread that tasted great sliced, with butter and a little honey.<br/><br/>Even a few hours later, the bread was moist and chewy enough for me to slice off a piece and eat as-is -- which isn't always the case for those store-bought mixes. I was simply amazed how simple this was, and out of the bread machine, this was everything I hoped for in a potato bread. I plan on using this recipe weekly now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Epic fail with all new ingredients. Didn't rise either in bread machine or in bowl. Will find another similar recipe elsewhere that works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      used olive oil rather than canola (too much omega 6) and agave syrup in place of the sugar, and it's beautiful and delicious. I will try it as a whole wheat/white blend next time. Thanks for a new regular in my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      I also omitted the white pepper and this recipe was fantastic! The only downfall is that we'll probably end up eating the whole loaf in one day! I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I omitted the white pepper and used sweet potato flakes. It made big soft fluffy rolls and the sweet potato gave them a beautiful golden color. We had them warm from the oven last night and used the leftovers for breakfast this morning. The ones this morning were just as soft as the ones fresh from the oven. This recipe's a keeper, thanks for posting it. I plan to use it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This came out beautifully and made the yummiest toast. I used King Arthur Flour's dried milk and put it on the delay cycle on my bread machine so we could wake up to fresh baked bread. I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Very nice bread soft and chewy just the way we like it to be. The crust was a little to dark but I think next time I will take it out about 5 mins before its done where as with my machine you can not pick the crust tone that you want Thank You for posting this great recipe it's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Foolproof and wonderful! I can't say I actually tasted this, as I am doing the no-carb thing, but from the smell of it and the groans of delight from the family members eating it, I can say this will be a regular in my bread machine. Thanks, Kree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Fantastic! I went ahead and added the white pepper. You can just barely feel the heat on your tongue. Very good, and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I have a bread machine potato bread recipe of yours I copied some time ago that differs from this one; it calls for 1 cup milk, 2/3 cup water, 2tbsp plus 2 tsp canola oil, 2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp sugar, 2/3 cup instant potato flakes, 4 cups bread flour and I pkg active dry yeast... I use s a f perfect rise active dry yeast , it's far superior to any other brand of yeast.... best potato bread you will ever have the pleasure of eating i've made it for several friends and family members, they simply rave over it. This is the only bread dh wants me to make. I couldn't find it andso i'm reviewing it on this recipe...wish I could give it thousands of stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Excellent bread, nice and fluffy with a not too firm crust. I also didn't add the pepper, and instead of sugar I used raw honey from one of the ladies who makes her own around these parts. It made the house smell so good it actually got my husband to leave the computer room and come into the kitchen :) Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Nice chewy loaf with a light, crisp crust. Made this in my Panasonic bread machine (1 lb loaf, so adjusted recipe to .66) on the light setting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      A good tasting white bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      Definitely foolproof as this was the 2nd time in 6 years that I've used my bread machine and the 1st time I used it was not fool proof haha! I actually gave this loaf to my parents to be the guinea pigs and they said it was gone the next day they liked it so much. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      This was an excellent bread machine bread. I didn't use the pepper, but otherwise did everything as the recipe stated. It turned out perfectly and tasted great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (764 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1905.3
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    18%
    Total Fat 38.3 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 3624.3 mg
    151%
    Total Carbohydrate 335.3 g
    111%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 50.5 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites