Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Bread-Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Bread-Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2010

      I don't own a bread machine so followed Wax Lion's tips re rising times and baking temp. While flavor of finished bread is lovely, the dough didn't rise properly so the finished loaf and 4 hamburger buns were dense and cake-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Very tasty bread. I made ours into dough and made into rolls instead of a loaf. Will certainly make again. Made for 123 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Excellent easy bread. I just threw everything into the bread machine and 3 hours later I had a wonderful crusty on the outside, soft on the inside bread. Thanks for sharing. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I rarely use my Zoji bread machine for anything but mixing and rising, but gave this a shot using the medium crust setting. The bread has a great flavor but immediately collapsed and was dense. Since that's a sign of too much liquid, I'd reduce the water next time and bake in the oven so I have more control over the recipe. I did use leftover mashed potatoes, so that may have contributed to my issues. Not a bad recipe, and I'll definitely give it another shot. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      We enjoyed this bread. It's very moist and flavorful. I cooked and mashed a large russet potato just to make this bread. But I will remember this recipe in the future when I have leftover mashed potatoes. I forgot to brush the top with milk (got side-tracked), and I don't think that "slip" really effected the taste all that much--it was still great! But I'm sure the milk glaze can soften the top crust a bit, so I'll be sure to remember that next time. Thanks, Noo! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      We loved this bread. I had never made a potato bread and this was very moist and flavorful!!! I had to add some more flour, but I often times have to add more flour to recipes. I used "Simply Mashed Potatoes" from the refrigerated section, which already have butter in them, so cut back on the water some. My 17 yo DS even made a comment how good the bread was and had 3 slices for dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Yummy! I wanted to try making potato bread but didn't want a recipe that used those crappy flake kind. I used mashed red potatoes here, and put in one cup of whole wheat flour (plus a bit of gluten) because I love it so. Baked at 350 for about 50 minutes, my loaf was incredibly moist and delicate inside, and everyone went back for seconds. I did put a little foil hat on it at about the 30 minute mark to stop it getting too done on top. A real winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I don't own a breadmaker, so I had to tweak this a bit, but it worked great! I doubled the recipe to use up some leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving - so I reduced the amount of salt & oil , and since the potatoes already had herbs in, I added about 2.5 T dried onion and some dried chives (and a little additional water). I divided this into 2 loaf pans after about an hour's raising, let rise again (about 30 minutes) and baked at 350 for around 40 minutes (and it is quite moist so could have baked longer). I am looking forward to making grilled cheese with this tomorrow night! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Very good tasting bread, although I had a little trouble judging the amount of flour. I did not have sufficient fresh potatoes (a scandal!), so I used 1 cup potato flakes, which was the amount indicated for 1 1/2 cups mashed. I used 100 ml milk and 200 ml water total. The dough looked great when I checked it, but the dough was really soft after the first rise. I baked it in a greased dish - alas, not greased well enough, so that the bottom crust stuck and tore off - the crumbs were delicious. My loaf is a little closer to foccacia and quite good. I'll probably add a bit more flour next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This is a delicious bread; we thought it was very close to commercial white sandwich bread in taste & texture. My crust came out a little hard, but I am not taking off stars for that because I should have used the "light crust" setting which I usually do for sandwich bread. Also, I didn't have any extras in my mashed potatoes and thought the dough looked very dry after kneading, so I added 1 TB of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Very good tasting bread. I removed my dough from the machine and shaped it into a loaf and inserted into a loaf pan then baked in the oven. The only think I did differently was that I used 1 Tablespoon of instant dry yeast because I didn't know what kind of yeast the chef used. I have found it a good habit to increase large loaves to 1 Tablespoon yeast. Because this tends to be a dense bread it was a good choice to increase the yeast. It was a very slow riser due to the denseness. However it ended up making a lovely raised bread that I will make again. Made for PAC Spring 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Bread-Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (793 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2124.8
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    14%
    Total Fat 33.4 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 7.8 mg
    2%
    Sodium 3328.3 mg
    138%
    Total Carbohydrate 396.9 g
    132%
    Dietary Fiber 17.3 g
    69%
    Sugars 34.9 g
    139%
    Protein 53.1 g
    106%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potato water

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites