9 Reviews

I made this twice this week, because it's so easy to make and it's quite delicious. I went with other reviewers and added minced garlic (personal preference--I'm sure the recipe would be excellent as written, too). My only comment would be that this simply was not substantial enough to be a main dish for my family. I don't know if we are big eaters or what, but for us it was a side dish. I served it with baked fish the first time and broiled chicken the second time, and it was a great side dish for both meals. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Noo. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal January 18, 2013

Delish! I really enjoyed the addition of the rosemary to a traditional au gratin potato dish. I used regular cheddar and low fat milk. I made a single serving and wanted to eat in less than an hour so I sliced and microwaved my potato for 3 minutes with a little butter then added the sauce and baked for 30 minutes at 400. It came out just right the potatoes were cooked through and the flaver permeated the entire dish. Made for PRMRT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet January 01, 2013

I made the full recipe but used full fat aged cheddar otherwise made as written but we had quite a bit left over (will freeze for DH to take to work when on night shift) so for us this would easily serve 6 and could be stretched to 8 especially if other vegies are being served. Thank you Noo for a different cheese bake that I am sure will be made again, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swal #71 December 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 12, 2012

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #64* This was really good ! I used shredded Bistro Mexican cheese and fresh rosemary, baked for 1 hour at 350* earlier (in danger of loosing power) - and left in warming drawer for almost 1 hour. They were really creamy and perfectly seasoned. Will definitely be a repeater ! Thanks for posting, Noo !
I learned a trick from an earlier sliced potato recipe -- left the slices in a bowl with 1 bottle of beer (any kind) - for 1/2 hour or more. Have no idea of the chemical reaction -- but any time I have done this, the potatoes are always creamy and tasty. My slices were very thin -- from large-slice side of box grater, so no question of them being done in 1 hour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney June 02, 2012

I really enjoyed this and will definitely be making this again, although I believe I did under-season it. I was nervous about adding salt because I wasn't sure how salty the cheese sauce would be. I forgot that potatoes really absorb salt. Anyway, I will also double the garlic as other reviewers suggested. The flavor of the rosemary really comes through, giving this a depth of flavor. I used a mild cheddar cheese and cooked this for exactly 1 hour. However, I was afraid that a 9-inch square baking pan would not be large enough, so I used a 11x7x2-inch glass dish. It was perfect. I sliced the potatoes really thin, using a mandolin slicer. I will definitely try this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! February 27, 2012

When making these, I did add a little more garlic, then seasoned it all with just a little salt & a little more than 1/4 teaspoon of lemon pepper, but otherwise followed your recipe & we were totally satisfied with this potato dish! Just the 2 of us, & we enjoyed them the second time around, too, with just enough more left over for me to snack on! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed during the current ADOPT A TAG event]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 15, 2012

Delicious. I used regular cheese and whole milk, and added my garlic to the sauce with the milk. Used thyme instead of rosemary. I made about half a recipe, and made two layers of it in a 1 qt baking dish. and baked it for 45 minutes. An excellent side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte January 09, 2014

This is a keeper. Delicious. The garlic and rosemary add subtle flavors, but nothing overpowers. I used sharp cheddar, but would be good with provolone also. Perfect side dish to a pork roast. And pretty easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here June 21, 2013

Delish! I added salt to the white sauce to taste as well as doubling the garlic. I used Provolone cheese and used 1 1/2 cup total, shredded. It was perfect after 1 hour. Servings are 4-6 in my estimation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 12, 2012
Potato Bake With Garlic and Rosemary