Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato and Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato and Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2010

      This is good, quick to make. I only used 2 tbsp of the butter to eliminate some fat and added white pepper. This is a mild comforting and filling soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      It's okay for a base. It needs some help. Next time I'll saute the onions in butter first, maybe with some garlic. I added garlic salt to this batch and used heavy cream, as that's what I had on hand. I substituted some of the butter for bacon drippings because DH heard "potato soup" and immediately asked if it had bacon in it. He also topped his serving with sharp cheddar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      loved this soup very easy to make with stuff you usually have around.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Very filling, this is going in my keeper file for cheap and easy dinner. I sauteed the onion in bacon fat, added a bit of celery, and otherwise kept the recipe the same. Served it with homemade rolls. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This was a hit with the family. I cut out some of the salt and added some Ms. Dash for additional flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I enjoyed this soup as it was my first time making potatoe soup. After cooking, I found it to be a bit bland. I added in 1/2 tsp of cumin, more salt and pepper, and 1 T garlic. DH added in 1/4 tsp hot pepper flakes to his for zing. I willmake this again often! I also used ham chunks to giv it more substance for a dinner with salad and homemade bread. I did use the potatoe flakes to thicken it as it is brothy and we did want a thicker soup. Thank you for a new soup recipe to add to my weekly roatation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This was so yummy! Make sure you salt it to taste at the beginning as stated--my potatoes were a little bland, but I know it was because I didn't salt until near the end of cooking. I actually used a bunch of shaved ham I had in the fridge, cut up. We garnished with some cheddar cheese and sour cream along with our standard crackers. Thanks for the great new standard at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Easy and quick to make and excellent for a winter evening meal in front of the fire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      Another way to thicken potaoto soup is use instant patato flakes .It works great!! I use it when i make my potato soup .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Easy to make, a little bland but good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I made this soup tonight and my husband really enjoyed it. The flavor was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Very YUMMY. I did use a little cornstarch to thicken as I like a thicker soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Great Soup with great flavor. Easy and actually a bit more healthy than traditional potato soups make with roux!! I used turkey ham and it turned out GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato and Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.7
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    34%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 581.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites