Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato and Beet Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato and Beet Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2010

      I was apprehensive about making this salad, but now it's the only potato salad I'll ever make! Guests can't get over how delicious it is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      OK, I ate tooooo much of this delicious salad. I love pickled eggs in beet juice, so this was just a step further up the scale. Mine doesn't look as pretty as yours, Rita, but who cares????? It went so fast, I only had a small amount to save for lunch tomorrow! Thnx for posting this recipe, Rita. Made for French Country Kitchen Herb of the Month recipe tag game. Paprika!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I'm glad there is a picture there because I recognized having seen this before, a lonnggg time ago! and now,, haha! this will be the next thing I bring to our Polish church gathering! Won't they be surprised that I learned how to make it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Love beets, love poatosalad, the combination of the two, GREAT! Even Hubby (who does NOT like beets)enjoyed this and even asked for more. Made it just as stated and would perhaps add just a bit more horseradish next time. But that is just a personal preference. We had it once with baked chicken, once with grilled fish and I have enjoyed it several days at work for lunch. Now it's gone, have to make some more. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      It is not the season for potato salad but it intrigued me. The dressing is a bit too vinegary for us but it really is a very nice salad. Next time I will add a bit of sugar to the dressing to offset the vinegar a bit. I love the pink colour, it is so different from anything else. Thank you for this very different and tasty recipe. Update: Oh my gosh! It is only about 6 hours from posting my review and I have just been into the left over salad. There is no need to add sugar!! After sitting for a few hours the sweetness of the beets mixes with the vinegar and the taste is amazing. The only thing I would say to do differently would be to let it sit for a few hours rather than just one. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I liked this and even more because it was so different. I never thought of beets and eggs working together but they did. I am only give 4 rather than 5 because of some the the changes I made. I kept the skins on the potatoes, I try to do that whenever possible. I also used fat free mayo and left our the onion because I don't like raw onions. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Used Rita's own Pickled Beets (Cwikla) to make this delicious potato salad. Very refreshing - tart and sweet - and pink! (my daughter loved this)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      What an unusual, great potato salad! I LIKE pickled beets anyway, & this is a nice way to have them, & the salad was a hit! I did change the green pepper for a red one, but who's to know, with this salad! Very, very nice, & thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      this recipe caught my facy the first time i saw it. i talked about it t0 2 friends, like the world depended on what we thought. my friend served it first at a family gathering and everyone loved it. i did it next, putting the horseradish in a side dish for folks to add as they liked. the first person to serve me home made horseradish relish was a new sister-in-law. i kinda thought she didn't likeme and was trying to killme to save her baby brother. that was over 50 yrs ago and i don't even want to smell it today. chef 249610

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Just HAD to try this unusual-looking potato salad. Even though it's winter here, salads are always an appealing option for take-to-work lunches. I made this exactly to the recipe, except for using red pepper instead of green (a personal taste preference). This tasted as intriguingly different as it looked! A lovely blend of flavours. Thanks for sharing this one, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Excellent! The pickled beets and horseradish add a unique flavor. The red and green peppers and celery add crunchy flavor and a wonderful color offset. The pickled beets I had were more sour than sweet, so I added 1 tsp of sugar to the dressing. Chilling allows the flavors to blend so you can make this the day before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Very different potato salad with a pinkish color (because of the beets) and a slightly vinegary taste. Although this was very pretty I had a hard time adjusting to the pink color and will be staying with the more traditional form of potato salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato and Beet Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.7
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    29%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 289.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites