10 Reviews

While I did make some adjustments, this was great! I used a generous dash of hot chile oil in place of the chile peppers. I tried dried chile peppers, but didn't like the texture, so strained those out and put in the chile oil. I also added some chopped scallions to add a little color interest, but they didn't do much to the flavor. It would have been helpful to know what kind of hot chiles the recipe calls for. (I was afraid to use the 2 habanero chiles I had for fear of making it too hot - they are pretty big.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest February 28, 2013

Perfect with the pot stickers I made last night for supper. I loved the little bit of heat in this sauce. Thank you for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 22, 2010

What kind of hot peppers are used for this recipe? This recipe is similar to one I made except that I didn't use oil and I used red chili paste rather than the peppers. Yummmmm !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinnysmigh August 09, 2009

I was able to make this sauce quickly for our impromptu dinner of frozen pot stickers. It was perfect - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid December 18, 2008

I too used hot chile oil instead of the peppers, and added scallions. I used a special, way-too-strong soy sauce (my mistake) and will definitely crank that down next time/ Regardless of my overly strong soy, it was clear the balance was there. The ingredients here are fairly common for this sauce. The difficulty I've had is in achieving the right balance between them -- balance is why I'm giving it 5 stars. Looking forward to making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yayacocojumbo June 11, 2008

This is the perfect pot sticker dip! I think it is better than any bottle you can buy, and that's saying a lot considering the quality of the sauces we get from authentic Asian grocery stores. We used chili oil instead of peppers, but other than that we followed he recipe exactly. My only complaint is that I ran out of pot stickers before I ran out of sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice February 25, 2008

i didnt have sesame oil so i substituted olive oil and used pepper flakes instead of fresh peppers and let it sit 30 min before serving to let flavors mix this was a verry tasty sauce ill make this one again thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmaboo February 25, 2007

Great! I used toasted sesame oil and chilli flakes rather than fresh. The sesame flavour comes through very well and the chilli is warming rather than spicy hot (in my case anyway) I had this with shop bought spring rolls and have saved some to eat with the sushi I am making tomorrow. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom October 07, 2006

DH and I really enjoyed this with steamed pot stickers during our super bowl feast.... Keeper for sure TY

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koala03 February 06, 2005

Very good flavor! I enjoyed this with a little hot spicy oil added because I like things on the spicier side. Served with Chinese steamed buns. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau September 04, 2004
Pot Sticker Dipping Sauce