Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pot Roast in Foil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pot Roast in Foil

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2003

      This is a fabulous recipe. Much better than how I was making roast boiling on the stove. My hubby had it reheated because of working late and he still thought it was delicious, will become a family favorite I am sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      This receipe is EXCELLENT! I am a beginner cooker, and found that not only is this receipe easy to follow, the end product is great. You'll love the gravy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Have been making this recipe for over five years now and it is excellent. The only problem I have with it is that it is fairly high in sodium. Here is a hint for all you people that want to cut back on your salt intake. I use a low salt beef gravy or broth mix, Victorian Epicure has both, then add pepper, garlic powder and onion flakes and whatever other no salt spice you want, with the low sodium mushroom soup. It is still very tasty but not so salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My mom wanted a rump roast cooked like her mom used to and the only thing she could really tell me is that it was a mushroom/onion gravy. Well, say no more...haha! I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom rather than the celery, but other than that, I did everything exactly as written and this was a HUGE hit! I fixed them mashed potatoes and peas as side dishes and there was plenty of gravy to go around. Thanks so much for the great recipe. It was so easy and they ate it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I hate to get gushy over a recipe but this was the all time comfort food for me!! I'm not sure there are any leftovers even. I used a 7 bone roast in the oven and served it with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots. How easy and soooo good. Thank you Thank you!! Chachi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      I've been looking for a way to cook a pot roast like grandma used to make for years, I've finally found it! This is the best I've ever had and the gravy makes itself, so good, thanks for posting :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      This was delicious, however, I needed to improvise a bit as I didn't have the cans of soup. So I made a white sauce, thickened with flour. I added some herbs and a ball or two of flour that I had mixed with beef fat and frozen. This added a bit more flavor. I had the onion soup mix and mixed it with the white sauce and poured it over the roast. It came out very tender and the gravy was fab. Thanks! I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch (not that there was much leftover!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      I've been making this forever as well Iusually use only mushroom soup because the kids don't like celery it is a must try this is the only way I can make GREAT gravy if you have a gravy making problem like i do try this recipe you'll be impressed so will everyone else it tast like something super fancy and special who would know how little work it is!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      This is the BEST recipe for a roast. My aunt had this recipe for approx. 40 years, but sadly she never gave it to my mom. Mom made the worst, toughest pot roast ever. Yukka! THIS roast is tender and moist and is wonderful. I'm so glad I tried it since it is so good and easy to make. My aunt's recipe is actually much easier: Place foil in pan. Put onion soup mix on the bottom. Put roast on top of soup mix. Pour cream of mushroom soup on top. Seal foil. I'm pretty lazy when it comes to cooking main dishes, so I probably won't ever go to the trouble of browning the roast no matter how good it sounds! :) Unfortunately I've never mastered getting the foil completely sealed. It somehow always gets a leak somewhere (even when I wrap it twice!) so now I always try to position the foil so that the seal is always high on the top of the roast. Less gravy escapes that way. Also, I've found that some dried onion soup mixes are too salty. I can never remember which brands, (I thought one was Mrs. Grass) so I tend to use 1/2 a package every time I make this roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      This is DELICIOUS! The only changes I made was that I cooked the rump roast in a crockpot and added veggies (potatoes, celery, carrots, and mushrooms) 2-3 hours before we ate it. They came out wonderful. This is going to be our staple pot roast recipe from now on! The gravy is great over white rice too!!! Yum! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      Anyone who is a non-cooker can make this dish.My in-laws and my husband loved it.We even had left-overs for lunch the next day. I will diffently tell a friend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pot Roast in Foil

    Serving Size: 1 (644 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1305.9
     
    Calories from Fat 874
    66%
    Total Fat 97.1 g
    149%
    Saturated Fat 37.8 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 321.8 mg
    107%
    Sodium 2120.2 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 86.3 g
    172%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites