Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pot Roast by Diner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pot Roast by Diner

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2010

      A first for me making a roast like this, I usually use the crock pot. I used baby red potatoes and carrots. We have a wonderful leftover gravy and roast to make another dinner tonight. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was scrumpious! No packets, no soups, just plain old good pot roast. The roast was tender and the veggies were cooked perfectly. My chuck roast was still quite frozen when I started and I cooked it for a little less time than stated in the recipe, about 2 1/2 hours in my cast iron dutch oven. I added celery and minced garlic to the veggies and did not peel my potatoes. Adding the potatoes for the last hour of cooking was perfect to keep them from falling apart. I added a dash of Kitchen Bouquet to the gravy and it was the best I have ever had! Thanks, diner, for posting such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Lovely meal in one pot. I used a sirloin tip as that is what I had in the freezer. I agree with Bleu that a marbled cut would provide a more moist roast but mime certainly didn't turn out at all. It was still somewhat frozen when I started it and I gave it the full time @300. It was very tender and while it could have a bit more moist the great gravy provided the moisture in spades. The veggies were all well cooked but not falling apart. I've been given "permission" to make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I'm not giving this any stars because I think the meat needed to be fattier. The chuck roast we used did not have a lot of fat running through it. It came out very tender, but very dry. Also, normally when we braise meat, we use a lower temperature (about 250F.) but wanted to try this as directed as I have seen other braising recipes that use a higher temperature. We made this as directed but omitted the potatoes as we had an abundance at lunchtime. The gravy is delicious and worth mentioning. UPDATE: The next day I cubed the meat and heated everything together (as a stew) and served it open faced over white bread. It was still a bit dry, but better. Thanks for sharing the recipe and we definitely recommend giving it a try. Sixteen 5-star reviews prior to ours can't be wrong. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I'm so glad I tagged this for the Potluck Tag game!! A huge hit with our family. I love it because it is so moist when finished and I don't have to rely on a crockpot now for a pot roast recipe. The flavors were just fabulous. The only slight change was to use a clove of fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt! Thanks diner for yet another winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Pot Roast/Pot Belly...I'm thinking something's synonymous in there for me. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I had bought a bunch of chuck roasts on sale at 1.99 a pound. I followed the recipe other then I used a pound of baby carrots and about three pounds of potatoes as we love lots of veggies. We all enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I made this for our Sunday dinner today, and it was delicious. I added celery with the carrots and onions, because thats what my "Mom" always did! I also added some chopped garlic. Such a simple recipe, but it produces a fabulous taste. Thanks for posting. Made for Holiday tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Update: June 1/09 - Just want to say that I have made this many times now and it is well loved by my family. I have also made this in the crockpot following the review/directions of AuntSana and it is wonderful this way as well. Thx again. October 21/08Loved this!!!! Today has been windy, cold and rainy and we needed something to warm us up. I normally do my roasts in the crock pot but wanted the oven on for some extra heat. I am so glad that I chose your recipe. This was incredibly delicious and tender. I will be making this many times throughout the l-o-n-g cold winter! Thx for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I am a novice when it comes to pot roasts,but I thought that this was just wonderful! So easy,and packed full of flavour,plus you can carve the meat with a spoon as it's SO beautifully tender! I also thickened the gravy with cornflour rather than flour (just as I find it easier!),and the entire meal was completely inhaled by the entire family,including two under 5's!! Diner...once again I have to thank you for a fabulous recipe!! Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Wow! I just pulled this out of the oven, and it is so terrific! I didn't make the gravy for it because we like the broth. I had to add water after the potatoes cooked for 40 minutes. I also added a head of cabbage that was cut into pieces. I left the lid on the rest of the baking time. This is really delicious; thank you for sharing it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Oh so GOOD! We just loved this roast and it was so nice to quickly put together a one-pot meal on a busy day. Actually, I didn't use one pot because I don't have any pots that can go from stove to oven. I browned my roast in a dutch oven, brought the beef broth to a boil with the onion and carrots and then put it all into a large casserole dish. I cooked the roast for 1 1/2 hours, added the potatoes and cooked everything for about 45 more minutes. I poured the jus back into the dutch oven and made the gravy. What a great gravy! Instead of a chuck or blade roast, I used a rib roast which was great except that a good portion of it was above the liquid - my bad! It didn't hurt a thing because we all thoroughly enjoyed it - from the incredible smell in the house to the wonderful meal. Made for PRMR. Thanks diner524! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      I'm not a big fan using seasoning packets or cans of soup to make meals. Ok, I do for a couple of things, but it adds a sameness of taste across multiple dishes that I'm not fond of. My wife found a BH & G recipe that used V8 juice for the pot roast but I've gotten really tired of the flavor. When I found your recipe I knew I'd have to try it. I used a 3 lb chuck-eye roast and it tasted great! I pretty much followed your recipe but added some parsnips which my better-half introduced me to, some fresh mushrooms and fresh green beans that I already had in the crisper. My 4 qt cast-iron pot was filled to the top with tasty goodness. Thanks for reminding me what a good old-fashioned pot roast should taste like. The leftovers were even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This was great for warming up a cold windy day. I bought a beautiful bottom round roast at a good price. This was so tender when done and excellent tasting. Unfortunately my onions had gone bad but I added a pack of onion soup mix to the broth and the gravy was very tasty. Tomorrow I will be using leftover beef, potatoes, carrots, and gravy to make a big fat meat pie like my mom always made. Thanks for sharing this keeper diner. Made for Pick A Chef Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is excellent pot roast! I haven't made a pot roast in the oven in forever. I don't think I will be making a Crockpot roast for awhile. I used cornstarch to thicken the gravy instead of flour. I also added a container of whole button mushrooms. I am adding this to our Sunday dinner rotation! Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Well no wonder you have so many great ratings on this pot roast. How good is this? So good, the crickets sing, and the sparrow talks. What a great economical dish to make and with the coming of fall, just perfect to cook happily away for the day. I also used the crockpot, and the roast was so tender you might of suspected you were cutting through a cloud. I used a Eye-of-Round roast, and this really made good use of this particular cut of meat. I added a bit of beef broth at the end, and made a wonderful gravy from the drippings and juices created. Thank you so much diner! Made for *Potluck* tag game, Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      My mother hated cooking, but she used to make something very similar for Sunday dinner and we always looked forward to it, because it was easy and it was one of the few things she actually liked to make. I believe it's due to its simplicity. The aroma brought back fond memories of my childhood. Delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      This was EXCELLENT! I also added 2 additional cups of beef broth, so I'd end up with more gravy. This made a very good meal and it was enjoyed by everyone!! Made for ZWT4 for the CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Excellent! Made as posted, I did add 2 cups beef broth at end to make gravy. Thanks for sharing another keeper. Made for ZWT4 the Flying Dutchess'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Simple and delicious. I made this in my Crockpot, pretty similar to the way a previous reviewer had done. I put extra carrots in there and used chopped fresh garlic and salt instead of garlic salt. I went about my busy day and a tasty dinner was waiting for me to serve when we all got home. Thanx for a great roast recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pot Roast by Diner

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.0
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    38%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 237.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 52.1 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites