25 Reviews

A first for me making a roast like this, I usually use the crock pot. I used baby red potatoes and carrots. We have a wonderful leftover gravy and roast to make another dinner tonight. Made for PRMR.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 23, 2010

This was scrumpious! No packets, no soups, just plain old good pot roast. The roast was tender and the veggies were cooked perfectly. My chuck roast was still quite frozen when I started and I cooked it for a little less time than stated in the recipe, about 2 1/2 hours in my cast iron dutch oven. I added celery and minced garlic to the veggies and did not peel my potatoes. Adding the potatoes for the last hour of cooking was perfect to keep them from falling apart. I added a dash of Kitchen Bouquet to the gravy and it was the best I have ever had! Thanks, diner, for posting such a wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy January 10, 2010

Lovely meal in one pot. I used a sirloin tip as that is what I had in the freezer. I agree with Bleu that a marbled cut would provide a more moist roast but mime certainly didn't turn out at all. It was still somewhat frozen when I started it and I gave it the full time @300. It was very tender and while it could have a bit more moist the great gravy provided the moisture in spades. The veggies were all well cooked but not falling apart. I've been given "permission" to make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 08, 2009

I'm not giving this any stars because I think the meat needed to be fattier. The chuck roast we used did not have a lot of fat running through it. It came out very tender, but very dry. Also, normally when we braise meat, we use a lower temperature (about 250F.) but wanted to try this as directed as I have seen other braising recipes that use a higher temperature. We made this as directed but omitted the potatoes as we had an abundance at lunchtime. The gravy is delicious and worth mentioning. UPDATE: The next day I cubed the meat and heated everything together (as a stew) and served it open faced over white bread. It was still a bit dry, but better. Thanks for sharing the recipe and we definitely recommend giving it a try. Sixteen 5-star reviews prior to ours can't be wrong. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 17, 2009

I'm so glad I tagged this for the Potluck Tag game!! A huge hit with our family. I love it because it is so moist when finished and I don't have to rely on a crockpot now for a pot roast recipe. The flavors were just fabulous. The only slight change was to use a clove of fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt! Thanks diner for yet another winner!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom October 08, 2009

Pot Roast/Pot Belly...I'm thinking something's synonymous in there for me. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng October 04, 2009

I had bought a bunch of chuck roasts on sale at 1.99 a pound. I followed the recipe other then I used a pound of baby carrots and about three pounds of potatoes as we love lots of veggies. We all enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol September 30, 2009

I made this for our Sunday dinner today, and it was delicious. I added celery with the carrots and onions, because thats what my "Mom" always did! I also added some chopped garlic. Such a simple recipe, but it produces a fabulous taste. Thanks for posting. Made for Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 26, 2009

Update: June 1/09 - Just want to say that I have made this many times now and it is well loved by my family. I have also made this in the crockpot following the review/directions of AuntSana and it is wonderful this way as well. Thx again. October 21/08Loved this!!!! Today has been windy, cold and rainy and we needed something to warm us up. I normally do my roasts in the crock pot but wanted the oven on for some extra heat. I am so glad that I chose your recipe. This was incredibly delicious and tender. I will be making this many times throughout the l-o-n-g cold winter! Thx for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 01, 2009

I am a novice when it comes to pot roasts,but I thought that this was just wonderful! So easy,and packed full of flavour,plus you can carve the meat with a spoon as it's SO beautifully tender! I also thickened the gravy with cornflour rather than flour (just as I find it easier!),and the entire meal was completely inhaled by the entire family,including two under 5's!! Diner...once again I have to thank you for a fabulous recipe!! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 01, 2009
Pot Roast by Diner