15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking for an easy, good recipe for my beef and this one fit the bill very nicely, thank you! The only thing I did different was cook this in the crockpot! The sauce turned out lovely. Thanks so much!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 20, 2003

We really enjoyed this recipe. I wasn't too crazy about the sauce, however; and my fiancee doesn't like sour cream, but we LOVED the meat. I used a full can of beef broth, russett potatoes and 1 clove garlic. The carrots had a really good, almost sweet flavor to them. I have a tendancy to dry out meat, but this turned out really tender and wonderful. I think next time I make it I'll add a little seasoned salt to the meat. We will definately make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stef Scu August 08, 2005

Mmmmm! This is a great recipe! Perfect comfort food for a brisk winter evening. The only thing I changed is adding whole button mushrooms and crushed garlic to the vegetable array. Everything came out tender and juicy and the sauce is exquisite. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna January 12, 2005

I made this over the weekend. Browned it and cooked as directed only on my gas grill. I just made gravy with the drippings without the sour cream, but it was delicious! Simple, but quite tasty! I'm using the leftover meat and veggies in a quick stew as we speak! Still smells great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Brad October 12, 2004

Even in the summer, a pot roast can hit the spot! My family complimented me on the meal even before we took a bite! I followed the recipe with one major change...Since I didn't have beef bouillon on hand, I just used water and added some Worcestershire sauce and sprinkled the meat with seasoned salt. Also, since I only had 4 small red potatoes, I added chunks of a brown potato too...The meat had a wonderful flavor and the veggies were done to perfection! I thought the sauce was a great addition to the meat! I'd like to try this recipe in the crockpot too! Thanks for a winner! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilentCricket June 26, 2003

We really liked this recipe. The gravy was a nice finishing touch. We've already made it three times! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa_24 March 22, 2005

This was very good! I put the roast in a crockpot and added a little bit more broth and it turned out great!! Will definately make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieMarie October 07, 2004

I really enjoyed this recipe. I did cut down on the salt as the others suggested. I was very pleased. I will make this again, and again. So easy yet so tasty. Thanks for posting this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Dawn September 26, 2004

your recipe was an inspiration to me. i followed your directions except i studed the roast with garlic, and added some fresh thyme and put an extra cup of broth in it.i also lowered the temp to 250 degrees and slowly braised it for 6 hours.it was delecious. thankyou for this simple and wonderful recipe..sincerly Chef Smoky_Cook

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smokey_cook May 02, 2004

With all the great reviews, I just had to try this since we have roast quite often. Absolutely delicious!!! The only thing I added was some garlic. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas April 14, 2004
Pot Roast