12 Reviews

As another review said, the vinegar scared me a little...but the result was fabulous! We doubled the recipe so we could have lots of left overs. I served it with hot bisuits, garlic smashed red potatoes and honey carrots - the entire family loved it! The only change I made was to use fresh rosemary. With the left overs, I made french dip sandwiches - my DH said they were the best french dip sandwiches he'd ever tasted - better than any restaurant! I stuffed toasted ciabatta (how do you spell that - pronounced like chi-botta) hoagie rolls with warmed up left over roast and melted swiss cheese - served with au jus - delish! Thanks for an absolutely wonderful couple of meals Mia! It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzette Marie October 23, 2008

The vinegar scared me at first, but it was quite surprising how well the flavours worked together, it turned out so wonderfully. Super fork tender melt in your mouth, it was just lovely, thank you for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinaygourmet #345142 May 20, 2007

This just couldn't be easier and it is delicious! I agree with the previous comments that the aroma while cooking is very enticing and the flavor is just as good. I strained the broth after I took the meat out and reduced it just a bit on the stove then added just a little cornstarch dissolved in water to thicken the sauce. It makes lots of sauce for your potatoes or noodles or whatever. Very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith in Missouri September 28, 2005

When I first mixed up the sauce I tasted it, and it tasted REALLY vinagary, and I was a little scared, but after 6 hours in the crock pot it mellowed out, and It was delicious! I added pepper, and instead of soy sauce I used Worshtishire (or however you spell it!) Came out so tender and perfect. I mixed green beans and potatoes with the sauce after it was done cooking. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juju Bee May 18, 2005

I liked this but hubby didn't. I followed the recipe exactly as written and the meat was so tender. Hubby just did not like the flavor but I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 02, 2011

Best pot roast recipe I have ever found. My family loved this. It is so tender and juicy. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added carrots and potatoes to the crock pot and they turned out really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynzRodriguez March 01, 2011

My family loved this! We put it on toasted Deli made hoagie rolls with horseradish cheddar cheese! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kricket February 09, 2011

My family flipped for this pot roast. It is much easier than my standard method of browning in hot oil, adding onions and broth to the pot and simmering on the stove for hours. This came together in practically no time. What's easier than tossing it into the crock pot? The flavor was different and delicious with nice zip from the vinegar. Thanks for a very winning recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr December 02, 2010

YUM! I doubled the sauce. This is so tender! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovey blonde November 13, 2010

WOW!! I was looking for a recipe for pot roast that I could use for sandwiches, so the gravy and veggies weren't important to me. Well, as opposed to other reviewers, the thing that concerned me here was the ketchup (not a tomato eater). The only cause I actually have to be concerned about is that I will nibble away at it all before I get to make a sandwich! This is yummy, fall-apart heaven!!! Thank you for the recipe, Mia Bella!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katindallas October 10, 2010
Pot Roast