Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Posole (Mexican soup with pork and hominy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Posole (Mexican soup with pork and hominy)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2011

      This is a winner! Made this tonight for dinner, but instead of pork chunks I shredded a pound of carnitas from a local mexican grocery and minced a couple fresh jalapenos. Garnished it with chopped tomatoes, diced avocado, and some sour cream (mexican crema would be great, too) Just delish-my husband inhaled it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Made this for cinco de mayo. It is wonderful! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of pork. Great flavor and very simple. Next time won't add the beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      I used about 2 cups of cubed pork, one can of hominy and one can of pintos, and one diced jalapeno that I sauteed with the onion.. I only used about a cup or so of broth, I didn't want it to be soup. With the reduced amount of broth I didn't cook for the hour called for, probably more like 25 minutes. I used all the herbs and spices called for. This was really delicious and I would definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I've made this twice now and have loved it both times, I added two cans of tomatillo's because I've just discovered that I love them this year, so any excuse to use them!It was fantastic and I will be making it again for a crowd of about 20 during a winter painting party, how fun it will be with some fresh tortillas and possibly some flan?? Hmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Delicious! Made in crock pot and it turned out mighty fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Great flavor and it freezes well for eating later. I made it with a jalapeno pepper with slits cut in it and added whole. Turned out great with a pleasing amount of heat for most tastes around here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2014

    • on May 19, 2014

      Good recipe and very authentic as is. I used pork shoulder blade steaks--cubed, salted and peppered, then browned to a crusty sear which left a good bit of residue that I deglazed with about a quarter cup beer. I've enhanced the overall by adding a teaspoon of tomato paste and allowing it to caramalize for the last two minutes of browning of onion. Also, a bit of brown sauce with broth adds depth. Warning: those enhancements, while adding depth, will alter the authentic Mexican flavor of this recipe. Albeit, for an alteration that retains authenticity I would recommend for any comino inclusive recipe the use of half ground and half whole seed cumin. Those little bursts of flavor provided by the seeds can be amazing--especially with a wonderful recipe like this one. Thank you Dustbunni. <br/>Oh... and I did add heat with cayenne and red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This was AMAZING! I used left over pork loin, fresh poblanos and added jalapenos. Not spicy at all. Topping it with cilantro, lime and avocado really brought all of the flavors together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Great use for the left over pernil I had. Loved the spiciness of it. Added 2-3 T. of salsa verde I had left in the frig. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      We all really liked this a lot! I didn't add the beans, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. My husband told me it's a keeper. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      I have never liked leftover pork especial the leaner cuts so most often lots went to waste. I used leftover loin roast studded with garlic. Instead of the canned green chilies, I only have roasted hatch chilies. I did add the optional beans, but these were charro beans straight from the can. Despite these alterations, the soup turned out very well. This is a very flexible and creative way to use leftover pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This was really good. I didn't have any jalapenos but would add them next time. I did add beans and less stock so it's less soupy. Used leftover pork roast from Mexican Pork Roast &/or Carnitas #423524) and really enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I had this soup in one of the local Mexican restaurants and decided to re-create it at home. It turned out a little too bland. Will not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Made this last winter on a night we both had colds. Made it extra spicey with lots of lime.....soooo good. So many yummy flavors, I especially love the hominy and beans in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Made this tonight and followed the recipe exactly. I used a 5 lb pork shoulder roast that I cooked for 3 hours in the oven. That made about 4 cups of meat. It was delicious and its my first time making posole. There was a storm today and the house smelled so good, warm and comforting. By the way, added 2 blackened jalapenos. There were no leftovers, not even a teaspoon full. My only concern is how much grease is in the dish. Tried to cut out the fat, but the roast had a lot of fat. There was just no way around the posole having a lot of fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

    • on January 02, 2010

      What a great dish to bring in he New Year!! Never tried making this soup because I thought it was way too challenging. This recipe is so easy to follow and my family can't wait until I make it again. I tried it with the 2 jalapeno peppers which added a good little spicy kick to it. When served I sliced some radishes, lemon(slices), and had some "Menudo Mix" which consist of oregano,and peppers combined and of couse chopped cilantro, and onions. Served with warm corn tortillas. So, Dusbunni Thank You for sharing your recipe and Happy New Year:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Great and very fullfilling, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Best Posole I have ever had.Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Posole (Mexican soup with pork and hominy)

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.1
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    30%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 454.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork

    pork stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes