11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! So very tasty and easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gconda July 19, 2007

I LOVE this recipe! I did use canned whole tomatoes and cut them up. I really like this as a side with any mexican dish; tacos, enchiladas, etc. I hate using boxed rice mixes. This is so much better and doesn't take much more time to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel B. October 25, 2006

This is a very tasty rice dish not to mention easy to make. I would compare this dish to be similar to a paella. In fact I added 31/40 shrimp at the tomato simmer stage therfore needing a bit more chicken broth to accomodate the extra ingredient. Next time I will add some chopped green pepper along with the shrimp. A definate keeper in my recipe box. Thanks southern bell2627 for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowbaby July 10, 2006

DH was smitten with this dish. We both enjoyed it very much with a pork roast that we slow-cooked all day. Turned out to be a wonderful dinner and am looking forward to another dish in which to cook and enjoy this again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud December 10, 2011

my DH said WOW this is beautiful and made me rate it 5 stars. i served it with BBQ portuguese chicken & corn which suited perfectly. I did add a little paprika, but just a hint. perfect yummy and will be making many times in the future

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Australian Wife - Learning April 11, 2010

I make this simple recipe all the time, it beats the boxed rice hands down. I have used both Basmati and Jasmine rice with this recipe and it works wonders, I also have added a spoon full of sofrito as well for a little extra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helopoh December 23, 2009

Very nice and easy side dish for us tomato-onion-garlic lovers! I used canned diced tomatoes for quality. This was a delicious side to Orange-Pepper Beef Steaks #212671. Rice was very moist. Made for I REDommend Tag, as recommended by Lynne the Pirate Queen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 07, 2009

Made using Basmati rice, chicken broth and canned diced tomatoes, drained, reserving liquid for leftover rice. A very simple accompaniment to leftover meatloaf. Made for "I Recommend" a tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive February 17, 2009

Really lovely, simple dish! We served this with steaks, so we used low-sodium beef broth and the flavor was perfect. I also used canned, drained tomatoes, and added half of a red pepper, diced, just before the tomato simmer stage. Flavorful and a very nice presentation too, thanks to the bright red color. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen February 14, 2009

This is one of my favourites! My mom used to make this often because she knew I was a rice fanatic. It's sooooo yummy. I didn't change a thing in this recipe as it's authentic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mina in Toronto, ON November 06, 2008
Portuguese Tomato Rice