Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Tomato Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Tomato Rice

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2007

      Excellent recipe! So very tasty and easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I LOVE this recipe! I did use canned whole tomatoes and cut them up. I really like this as a side with any mexican dish; tacos, enchiladas, etc. I hate using boxed rice mixes. This is so much better and doesn't take much more time to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      This is a very tasty rice dish not to mention easy to make. I would compare this dish to be similar to a paella. In fact I added 31/40 shrimp at the tomato simmer stage therfore needing a bit more chicken broth to accomodate the extra ingredient. Next time I will add some chopped green pepper along with the shrimp. A definate keeper in my recipe box. Thanks southern bell2627 for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      DH was smitten with this dish. We both enjoyed it very much with a pork roast that we slow-cooked all day. Turned out to be a wonderful dinner and am looking forward to another dish in which to cook and enjoy this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      my DH said WOW this is beautiful and made me rate it 5 stars. i served it with BBQ portuguese chicken & corn which suited perfectly. I did add a little paprika, but just a hint. perfect yummy and will be making many times in the future

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I make this simple recipe all the time, it beats the boxed rice hands down. I have used both Basmati and Jasmine rice with this recipe and it works wonders, I also have added a spoon full of sofrito as well for a little extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Very nice and easy side dish for us tomato-onion-garlic lovers! I used canned diced tomatoes for quality. This was a delicious side to Orange-Pepper Beef Steaks #212671. Rice was very moist. Made for I REDommend Tag, as recommended by Lynne the Pirate Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Made using Basmati rice, chicken broth and canned diced tomatoes, drained, reserving liquid for leftover rice. A very simple accompaniment to leftover meatloaf. Made for "I Recommend" a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Really lovely, simple dish! We served this with steaks, so we used low-sodium beef broth and the flavor was perfect. I also used canned, drained tomatoes, and added half of a red pepper, diced, just before the tomato simmer stage. Flavorful and a very nice presentation too, thanks to the bright red color. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This is one of my favourites! My mom used to make this often because she knew I was a rice fanatic. It's sooooo yummy. I didn't change a thing in this recipe as it's authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      My Portuguese husband loved it, so I will be keeping this one in my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Tomato Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    33%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 269.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites