20 Reviews

This is delightfully simple. I had to scrape the sides several times while it was mixing. When done baking, I would estimate that this loaf is close to 1 1/2 lbs. The result was a delicious dense bread with a hint of sweetness. It reminded me of the Hawaiian sweet rolls you can buy at the grocery store. I toasted my slice and topped with a little butter. Yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 21, 2009

Loved this bread! I put in breadmaker until it had mixed, took out & put in loaf pan, let rise & then baked at 350 for 30 minutes!. The only thing I would change would be to egg wash the top so it would brown a bit more. The flavor is just delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 September 23, 2010

i made these by hand and made them into 12 rolls. i added an extra 2 tbsp of margarine. they turned out really soft with a great texture. i don't think it tastes exactly like portuguese sweet bread for me, just regular sweet dinner rolls.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyk November 30, 2008

This was truly an awesome bread recipe. It rose beautifully and tasted awesome. I did add a little more sugar, I like it sweet. I also added some orange extract and a few handfulls of shreded coconut. It was a very good bread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodlover19 July 25, 2005

This was an excellent bread. BUT! I have to say that I have never eaten a portugese sweet bread so I do not know what it taste like. But as a bread...this is wonderful. Extremely fluffy inside, just how I like my bread. I substituted the butter for two tablespoon of applesauce, and it still turned out great. I was in the mood for some nuts, so I added 1/3 cup sunflower seeds, and 1/2 cup of walnuts. This is just wonderful! When cooled, it cuts really well. Try this bread, you won't regret it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac May 11, 2003

very good. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in Minnesota January 21, 2003

Nice and soft. I made the mistake of trusting another reviewer's baking tips...put the oven on 350 and didn't check the bread til 28 minutes later. Might work in other ovens, but for my rolls...they were too well done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em March 11, 2014

I would give you 10 STARS if I could. This is the best bread I have ever made, hands down! I did use Organic Vanilla Flavored (lightly sweetened) Almond Milk in place of the regular milk. Excellent results and so easy to make. I am going to serve it tonight with chicken salad. THANKS for a recipe I will use forever. Tagged for October Photo Challenge: Northern Mediterranean and Eastern Europe. UPDATE: I made this tonight as written and the 2 lb loaf does not fit in my ABM. 1.5 lb would be perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 06, 2012

this is very similar to the buttery bread machine rolls i sometimes make, which are awesome. this has much less butter which is just what i was looking for tonight since we're running low. i used homemade real butter and a bit more flour to make the dough workable. i don't have a bread machine so i heated the milk in the microwave and added the sugar, yeast, egg, and butter to it. i also added a tsp of cinnamon to the flour and salt and then dumped in the wet mixture. rose in a slightly warm oven, shaped into a loaf, then rose again and baked at 350 for 30 min as per a previous reviewer's suggestion. this turned out lightly sweet and lovely, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto May 28, 2011

Very tasty bread. Light, airy and a little flaky. Sweet dessert taste without being overwhelming. This bread would be wonderful with honey butter. I put the ingredients in as my bread machine instructs, dry ingredients, make a well, wet ingredients, yeast on top. I did have to add bits of flour as it mixed to keep it from sticking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom October 24, 2010
Portuguese Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine