Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2010

      Loved this bread! I put in breadmaker until it had mixed, took out & put in loaf pan, let rise & then baked at 350 for 30 minutes!. The only thing I would change would be to egg wash the top so it would brown a bit more. The flavor is just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This is delightfully simple. I had to scrape the sides several times while it was mixing. When done baking, I would estimate that this loaf is close to 1 1/2 lbs. The result was a delicious dense bread with a hint of sweetness. It reminded me of the Hawaiian sweet rolls you can buy at the grocery store. I toasted my slice and topped with a little butter. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      i made these by hand and made them into 12 rolls. i added an extra 2 tbsp of margarine. they turned out really soft with a great texture. i don't think it tastes exactly like portuguese sweet bread for me, just regular sweet dinner rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      This was truly an awesome bread recipe. It rose beautifully and tasted awesome. I did add a little more sugar, I like it sweet. I also added some orange extract and a few handfulls of shreded coconut. It was a very good bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      This was an excellent bread. BUT! I have to say that I have never eaten a portugese sweet bread so I do not know what it taste like. But as a bread...this is wonderful. Extremely fluffy inside, just how I like my bread. I substituted the butter for two tablespoon of applesauce, and it still turned out great. I was in the mood for some nuts, so I added 1/3 cup sunflower seeds, and 1/2 cup of walnuts. This is just wonderful! When cooled, it cuts really well. Try this bread, you won't regret it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      very good. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Nice and soft. I made the mistake of trusting another reviewer's baking tips...put the oven on 350 and didn't check the bread til 28 minutes later. Might work in other ovens, but for my rolls...they were too well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I would give you 10 STARS if I could. This is the best bread I have ever made, hands down! I did use Organic Vanilla Flavored (lightly sweetened) Almond Milk in place of the regular milk. Excellent results and so easy to make. I am going to serve it tonight with chicken salad. THANKS for a recipe I will use forever. Tagged for October Photo Challenge: Northern Mediterranean and Eastern Europe. UPDATE: I made this tonight as written and the 2 lb loaf does not fit in my ABM. 1.5 lb would be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      this is very similar to the buttery bread machine rolls i sometimes make, which are awesome. this has much less butter which is just what i was looking for tonight since we're running low. i used homemade real butter and a bit more flour to make the dough workable. i don't have a bread machine so i heated the milk in the microwave and added the sugar, yeast, egg, and butter to it. i also added a tsp of cinnamon to the flour and salt and then dumped in the wet mixture. rose in a slightly warm oven, shaped into a loaf, then rose again and baked at 350 for 30 min as per a previous reviewer's suggestion. this turned out lightly sweet and lovely, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Very tasty bread. Light, airy and a little flaky. Sweet dessert taste without being overwhelming. This bread would be wonderful with honey butter. I put the ingredients in as my bread machine instructs, dry ingredients, make a well, wet ingredients, yeast on top. I did have to add bits of flour as it mixed to keep it from sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      So Good! Ended up having to use 3 1/2 cups flour--dough was super sticky before the extra half-cup. Did everything else as indicated in the recipe. Tastes wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I made the bread exactly as described in the recipe but it rose above my ABM pan & pressed against the top, so there was an unbrowned spot on the top crust. Otherwise, it's a wonderful loaf, not too sweet & a nice texture. bxmye

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      So easy, so light...SO YUMMY! Thanks for posting this awesomely easy bread recipe. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Ohhh Yummmmm ! This was just delicious. We used our Zoruishi bread machine...(just to the dough cycle)..take it out and it made two loaves. Thank you for sharing !! what would I do without Zaar. :) rickie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This is a great bread. We love it. It is so good that I decided to make french toast with it and it held up so well. I am going to make french toast with it for Christmas morning. That is how good it is. Thanks scil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Wonderful bread! I made this with my KitchenAid as I don't have a bread maker. I made 5 huge rolls out of it for sandwiches and used in Grilled Sandwiches (Cuban Style). I did 1/2 c sugar as another reviewer for extra sweetness. Thanks, southern chef in louisiana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Very delicious bread. So far this is my favorite that I've made with the bread machine. I also found it easy to cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

    • on July 04, 2003

      Excellent...easy, delicious. I used it for bread and for hamburger buns, and was not dissapointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      Very good bread. I added 1 tsp each of lemon and orange extracts, and I also added 1 tbs. of vital wheat gluten (I add it to all my breads). Smelled wonderful while baking, and made great toast the next day (loved it with Strawberry Brummel & Brown spread). The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the crust didn't come out with quite the same chewy texture as the loaves I get from the Portuguese bakery (maybe they egg-wash it?). Will make it again, nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (778 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1390.4
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    17%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 146.7 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1475.9 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 245.8 g
    81%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 45.1 g
    180%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes