Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Sweet Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Sweet Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2012

      This recipe was tasty and easy to make. The bread is a bit denser than a traditional sweetbread but still very good. I have a few tips for the novice bread maker. After you kneed the ingredients in the bowl kneed and stretch the dough on a floured counter for several minutes. I also allowed my dough to rise for a total of 5.5 hours ( 4 hours in the bowl and an additional 1.5 hours after forming loaves)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      On Apr. 2, 2006, I wrote, "This made beautiful bread for me - light, delicate, and above all, fluffy. The recipe is more geared to people who have experience baking bread than to those who don't, but, I feel everything necessary to say is included. I kneaded the dough very thoroughly, until I could stretch out a piece and see through it. I waited until the bread had risen to double the volume before baking. I followed the recipe exactly except for brushing the loaves with an egg wash, rather than butter. It's just beautiful. The yield was three pieces about 790 grams each. I made the loaf in my picture with one, and made buns with the rest. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      The bread I made turned out well. However, being Portuguese I can say, this bread was nothing like traditional sweet bread I have had at countless Festas. It was the same texture due to the fact that I added extra yeast, let it rise over night and glazed it with butter as well as egg wash, but it was still not sweet enough. Rather, this bread tasted like the yeast bread that I have had at Logan's Roadhouse (which by the way is awesome but not like Portuguese sweet bread at all).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I don't make very much bread, and I found this recipe frustrating. I didn't know how to "combine all ingredients" or how long to let it rise. I put it in the over, and then read on another blog that it took 3 hours for it to rise; I only gave it about a half and hour. its in the oven right now, and cracked. I'm sure if i was a more experienced baker I would have know what to do, but I think i messed up this time. UPDATE: so it came out extremely dense, no surprise there, but the flavor was very good. If you are new to baking and want to make this recipe, combine wet ingredients first and then add in the flour slowly. The rising process might take three or more hours, and you should really let it rise twice; before you split it into loaves, and after. Other than that, this would be utterly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Everyone loved it during Easter dinner. It was good but mine turned out a little dry and crusty. I'm not sure if I did something wrong. Also, it wasn't quite as sweet as I would have liked it. I made it using the dough hook on my kitchenaid. Overall though, I was pretty happy with it. I make it every Easter and I have not yet been able to make one that doesn't turn out crusty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Just like Grandvovo used to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this bread....or must have because it was gone so fast & they want me to make it again!! I was concerned about the texture so I made sure to knead the dough well and rise properly--and it was tender and not crumbly. Great for morning toast with tea. It wasn't complicated and it made a yummy sweet bread which is a nice break from the ordinary :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      My Great Grandmother is full blooded Portuguese, and I grew up on Portuguese sweet bread. I am sorry, but this bread was not at all like the bread I remember. The sweet bread we had was really soft, and fluffy, this bread was was much more crusty and firm. The taste wasn't bad or anything. Just nothing like my beloved sweet bread...sigh...oh well, thanks for the experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Sweet Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.5
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    20%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 38.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 167.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes