24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this the other night and I will make again. I didn't add enough mushrooms though. I think the next time I will use a pork loin vs. a tenderloin. Tenderloins can be a little small and cook much faster. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr Jackson October 13, 2008

Wonderful Portuguese pork recipe. Have eaten many Portuguese inspired pork dishes and they really know how to treat it. Thanks for submitting it is in my company folder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 September 16, 2008

In a word - scrumptious! I followed the recipe not knowing exactly what to expect but something really good according to previous reviewers. They were right! I don’t even like mushrooms and I ate the heck out these. I found the wine/ onion/ lemon juice combo to be reminiscent of sauerkraut – one of my favorite dishes when cooked with pork! DH, the mushroom lover but sauerkraut hater, was not as enthusiastic as I was but he ate his fair share. ;-) Thanks for posting this *marvelous* recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie March 21, 2008

wow! I sure will be making this again, absolutely delicious/lushious!! Soo tender and the sauce, onions and mushrooms were outstanding! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 11, 2008

Yummy! Very flavorful and tender. I also pounded the pieces so it would cook faster. Just happened to have an empty box of cereal, and as a previous reviewer shared, it made a great bag for pounding the meat. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Duck February 02, 2008

Simply.....tasty! Oh, and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djunqx January 20, 2008

I too chose to pound 1 inch pieces of tenderloin into cutlets. Brown rice flour made an especially crispy coating. Garlicky green beans and rice pilaf completed the meal. Leftover cutlets cut into strips, with added BBQ sauce, made great BBQ pork sandwiches on Portugese rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jyber June 21, 2007

I sliced my pork tenderloin into 1 inch medallions, then pounded them to about 1/4". (I save cereal bags for this purpose. When cereal is gone, use bag to place meat or chicken for pounding. Pound meat to desired thickness, then simply remove and discard bag when finished :) ). I then followed the recipe as directed, but by using the 1/4" thick medallions, my cooking time was reduced to about 20 minutes. The flavors of this simple to make meal were delicious. DH loved it, too. Into my "Tried and True" make again file this goes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Pea March 15, 2007

I sliced a lean pork roast into medalian sized pieces (Costco sells these roasts in packs of 3). Added 2 cloves of garlic to the onions and used Charles Shaw Chardonnay (Two Buck Chuck from Trader Joe's) I even used canned mushrooms. Simmered over low heat for 1 hr. The pork was melt in your mouth tender and the flavor of the dish was superb! This is a very simple recipe that received rave reviews from the extended family when served at an impromptu dinner for 6. Thank you for sharing this recipe - my unexpected dinner guests think I'm a great cook thanks to this dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAMom49 December 14, 2006

My son had to do a report on Portugal and bring a traditional dish. I'm glad he had this project or I might had never ran across this wonderful recipe. It was so easy and so very tasty. He's sure to get an "A". Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheree a. October 18, 2005
Portuguese Pork Tenderloin