48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hello from Portugal! Well you definitely deserve 5 stars, I'd give you more but I cant. I maked this quite often in my home. I some- times add in fresh clams it gives it a very good flavoor. thanks for posting,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 November 23, 2008

this was freakin awsome. this was the first time i ever made paella and my family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wmayte November 18, 2008

Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! I added two packets of Sazon for coloring and taste, as well as a little red crushed pepper to the onions when sauteeing. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shehnai September 22, 2008

This recipe is amazing... My guests loved it. Super easy to make and very tasty! I will be making this again. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cat.duffin July 23, 2008

I've made this delicious and very easy dish 3 times. It's so pretty, it makes a perfect entree for company. The taste is better than what I've had in restaurants. The first 2 times I used bulk chorizo sausage, rolling it into smallish balls and browning them in olive oil (my store didn't have links). That worked well and tasted good the first time but the second time they wouldn't hold their shape. For the 3rd time making this dish, I ordered Portuguese chourico on-line. It came in links and was already cooked, so I added it in with the browned chicken thighs (which I cut into pieces). The flavor of the chourico blended wonderfully with the other ingredients. This recipe makes a fairly hearty amount for 6 people, but there won't be enough for seconds or leftovers. Thank you for posting my new favorite recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorrieK January 22, 2008

I had to make paella for 70 people, and this was the recipe I used. What an amazing recipe! I had to print it out for at least 20 people since the wedding I cooked it for. The only changes I made were to add 1 tsp. fresh thyme to the chicken/rosemary mixture, double up on the onions, and substitute smoked paprika for sweet paprika. I also omitted the baking part, and just finished it on the stove on low heat to cook the shrimp. Thanks for posting this fantastic dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sneetchcook December 18, 2007

Very good. Next time I will add 1/8 - 1/4 tsp crushed peppers while sauteing the tomatoes, paprika and saffron; to bring some kick to the taste. Or perhaps a mildly hot sausage, to counter the mild flavors of the chicken and shrimp. I skipped the baking part. Once it starts boiling, reduce the heat to simmer and cook for 25 minutes. Stir in the shrimp and peas (I omitted the asparagus) and cook for an additional 10 minutes. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unsubscribe Me Now August 07, 2007

An excellent recipe. It has it all in one pan. Easy to make and full of taste and colours. I used a greek sausage that is very similar to chourizo but I didn't change anything else. My family, all of them, gave a 5 star review. Its a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 24, 2007

Also my first time to make or eat a paella but glad I took the chance to try it out. I had to substitute chorizo, but will certainly keep an eye out for chourico for a future meal. Lots of great things go into this, so it's no suprise it's so tasty. And when you can do everything in one pan, it's that much better for me. = ) Skipped the bell peppers,even though they make it look prettier, I don't particularly care for them. Thanks for helping to make dinner unordinary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana June 28, 2007

great Paella! I liked the rosemary on the chicken. The peas added a little sweetness. This is the first time I had cooked with chourico. Everyone thought it was pretty tasty. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 26, 2007
Portuguese Paella